We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sight to be seen!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Pisgah

Mount Pisgah
Off Ottawa Beach Road, Holland, MI 49423
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 36 things to do in Holland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sight to be seen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Explore Lake Macatawa, Lake Michigan, and Holland State Park with bikes. On a recent early November weekend visit, we headed to Holland Michigan. We ventured to the downtown area and loved the mix of stores and restaurants including the public outdoor fireplaces - a very nice touch in the brisk fall air. What we liked most about our visit to Holland was our trek along the lakeshore which was majestic with the leaves turning colors and the vast lake view. I give the public officials and urban planners of Holland Michigan an A+ for scenic and well paved routes and maps. We explored the lakeshore by renting bikes, helmets, and locks from the friendly and knowledgeable folks at Cross Country Cycle - you cant beat the price for two bike rentals. We took our bikes from the their store and drove all the way to Mt. Pisgah while exploring the residential area along the lake. Lock up your bikes and hike to the highest point of Mt. Pisgah where you see the Big Red lighthouse and the vast American beauty of Lake Macatawa and Lake Michigan. After your hike, stop by Ottawa Beach Inn for a decent burger and beer or just warm up with a coffee and sandwich by their fireplace and leisurely watch the boats go by. If you drive, you can park at the lot near Black Lake Ave and Ottawa Beach Road. A Midwestern must go to attraction!



Visited November 2013

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    21
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and scenic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I loved the beautiful, breathtaking scenery. unbelievable! I could see all of Lake Macatawa, and Holland Harbor from the top. Great exercise, too. There are 244 steps up the giant sand dune.No dogs allowed here, so leave them home.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

About 250 steps up and you have a gorgeous view of both lake Macatawa and Lake Michigan. No dogs allowed up the steps. Once to the top there are some hiking trails that lead through the woods into the overflow camping area of holland state park.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Isobel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

fantastic - did all 239 steps - awsome view at the top - could see Lake Michigan and surounding territories

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth the climb.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

When my wife described this attraction to me, my thought was "200 steps of leg-burning agony". However, upon making it to step 239 ( ! ), I was immediately greeted by priceless views of Lake Michigan, Lake Macatawa, and Big Red. With a decent camera at hand, we were able to take beautiful panoramic photos of the entire area.

Be warned that it is quite a haul to the top. Thankfully, there are "rest areas" every 10-15 steps with benches.

Also, look out for the runners that exercise by climbing the steps quickly!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Pisgah also viewed

 
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Mount Pisgah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Pisgah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.