We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Pisgah

Mount Pisgah
Off Ottawa Beach Road, Holland, MI 49423
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Attractions in Holland
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Attraction details
Carmel, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Nice View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Fun little hike up a lot of stairs. Great views of both lakes. Just be prepared for the stairs. Small parking lot just down the street and a short walk along a fairly busy street to get to the trail head but worth the walk.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well Kept & Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a lovely little way to spend some extra time and get some exercise, too.... Many, many steps weave around and lead you to the top where you can see an amazing view of Big Red, Lake Michigan, and Lake Macatawa. Many platforms for a quick rest along the way and many benches as well for those who don't want to make it all the way to the top. Just a short distance from a sweet little ice cream shop, so grab a cone and head on up!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Get your exercise!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Mount Pisgah is ok/worthwhile I guess. Nothing too exciting. There's probably 15-20 flights of stairs before you reach the top. Once you get there, you can see Lake Macatawa on one side and Lake Michigan on the other. It was our 1st time visiting the area so we checked it out but probably isn't something we'd make a point to do again when visiting.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lots of stairs, where is the mountain?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We climbed the stairs while staying at the state park. My 3 yr old climbed to the top by himself, so it is not too difficult. Nice views from the top, but not worthy to be called "mt." anything.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Are we there yet????”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

That is the question running through your mind while you labor up to the top of this stairway of breathlessness. But once you do get there - to the top that is- you get your reward with a beautiful view of the beach below. Whatever time of year you can do this climb it reminds you just how much you need exercise or not.

The parking for Mt Pisgah is a bit out of the way. It is down the street toward the beach and on the left after the general store. That gives you a short warm up walk before you get to the hundreds of steps. There are benches on some landings that may serve you well also. And then the ice cream or hot dogs at Dune Dog near the entrance. You may figure you burned off some calories so it's a fair exchange.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Pisgah also viewed

 
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Mount Pisgah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Pisgah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.