We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately the right choice!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottonwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottonwood Inn
Save
You added Cottonwood Inn to your Saves list
4690 Cottonwood Drive, Holland, MI 49423   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Holland B&B and Inns
Spring Lake, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Definately the right choice!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This B&B is ideally located in Holland....away from the "downtown" but close enough to drive a few miles or bike on the amazing paved bike paths. Lake Mac is very close along with an amazing restaurant, "The Piper", overlooking the lake (the outside of the Piper isn't impressive but the food is amazing - upper class for sure!).
This Inn allows for peaceful activities as well as being as "busy" in the Holland area as you would like to be - for example: seeing the area as a tourist and all it has to offer!
I visited this Inn as a "retreat" away from the hustle and bustle of life and it provided the serene, peaceful atmosphere I was looking for. Liz (the innkeeper) makes a very quiet, relaxed, and peaceful home with many areas to read, rest, and be "alone" or with others, as desired. She is friendly and the kind of person you feel instantly comfortable with! She makes amazing breakfasts also, which is important to a "foodie" like myself! She knows the area and can give information on restaurants, attractions, history, etc. There is plenty to see and do at Lake Mac as well as Lake Michigan from this location - whether you take a hike out to the lighthouse or sit on a quiet dock near either lake to read as the sun sets.
The private beach on Lake Michigan, less than 5 miles from her home, is a must see! The views from the dune overlooking the lake are as good as any further north point in Michigan. I used the beach for reading and solitude and was blessed to have the whole lakeshore basically to myself!
My husband and I have travelled all over the world and always stay in B&Bs. We enjoy good food as well. I would have to say staying here is in the top 5 of any we have stayed at - including a clean, beautiful Inn, great food, location, and comfort! This is a winner and perfect choice. You will NOT be disappointed!

Room Tip: Even the 2 rooms with a shared hallway bathroom are great and the bathroom is spotless! I had never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
63
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We are just back from an overnight stay at the Cottonwood Inn. We usually stay at chain hotels but were unable to find a room in the area and boy am I glad we were'nt!! The Cottonwood Inn was a quiet, out of the way retreat from the busy world (not too far away from downtown, though). Our hostess, Liz, was so gracious and kind. Her breakfast in the morning was delicious! The rooms were so charming. We stayed in the John Edwards room which was upstairs and had a private bath. It looked out over the wooded backyard. The bath was small but lovely. There was the usual shampoo, conditioner, lotion and even a hair dryer. The shower head was awesome! Would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. Hope to get back there again!!,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a lovely B&B in every way , it is set in nice quiet neighbourhood, it has cycle paths 200mts from the house and has a lovely restaurant and marina a short distance away, you are not in the centre of Holland here and all the better for it, we were on a trip from the uk and found this place and the host Liz very friendly and helpful, I would suggest to you that this is a place for people who like the quiet life and want to read and relax when indoors. We found on our trip that most Americans go to bed really early and you have to respect that if coming back late. There is an extensive library within the house although most of it is Christian based as is Liz, don't let this put you off ,we never felt pressured in any way by our host who basically is just a lovely person. You will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was probably the best stay my husband and I have experienced out of any hotel, cabin, or B&B on any trip we have taken. If you are looking for a place to stay in Holland, MI, look no further!!!

The Inn is full of warmth, the rooms are gorgeous--and more spacious than they look in the photos available online. Our stay was quiet, relaxing, and incredibly peaceful. Liz, the innkeeper, is friendly and kind -- and an amazing cook!! Breakfast was delicious every morning!

My husband and I were concerned about privacy in a B&B; however, we found plenty of seating areas where we could sit and read or relax together without interruptions, and we stayed in a room with a private bath.

Liz goes out of her way to accommodate the needs of her guests. Bikes are available for guests to borrow, as well as a kayak and a canoe. It is a quick car ride to downtown, as well as to a public beach not far from the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Cottonwood is a sweet, out of the way place, beautifully appointed, quiet, cozy with a warm and gracious host. My wife and I stayed there as part of our anniversary trip up the west coast of Michigan and really enjoyed the relaxing charm of the place. Plenty of private areas as well as public areas. Bikes to ride (lots of hills...) Food was superb as well. Close enough to enjoy Downtown Holland or the Lake Michigan shore. If you're a a B&B tripper, this place is definitely well worth a visit!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms had their own special charm. We enjoyed the first floor room with private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We work hard in NYC and just like everyone here, we do have rather hectic lives. We also love traveling and exploring new places, including the endless offerings of the United States.
We had 8 days off around the Labor Day and have never been at Lake Michigan - so, we found the Cottonwood Inn on TripAdvisor as the best place in the area and we booked it for 4 nights.

What a treat the Inn is, what a pleasure it has been from the first moment turning right into the driveway. We literally found ourselves in the middle of a friendly forest with only a few houses around. Liz, the owner of the Cottonwood Inn, is the most pleasant person you can possibly meet, she is caring, helpful, knowledgeable, full of splendid advises and very kind. Did I mention that Liz is a wonderful cook too? Liz's breakfasts were healthy, balanced and carefully prepared, warm and fresh every day - something we looked every single 8:30 am to wake up to. The room we stayed in, John Calvin, was so specious with its own bathroom, walk-in closet and a large patio, that we felt home away from home indeed. The room was daily cleaned when we were away, we also had beach towels, plenty of water and bath products when we needed them. The house is specious yet it has only 4 rooms - we saw our "neighbors" only over the breakfast and sometimes even in the adjunct towns. We never heard them otherwise. The views from the patio and windows were such a revelation, that we did not want to leave 5 days later. And one will never forget the most fascinating sounds of the nature we discovered there.

Liz advised us to go to the wild beach at the Laketown, only 7 mins drive from the Inn. The attached pictures do only a partial justice, but the beach itself is a hidden gem, pristine and wild, not to miss. We kept coming back to that same beach couple times - and it could be somewhat a physical exercise too - with the dunes and stairs to climb - but it is absolutely worth it ! That beach is one of a kind!

Another beach we loved -the Saugatuk Dunes Park - untouched and secluded with a mile walk through the forest before one sees the most admirable white beach. The walk was such a pleasure, that we did it several more times and could not get tired of it. This Park was about 15 mins drive from Liz's Inn. Highly recommended.

We will be back to see other rooms at Liz house and explore the area even more. We keep coming back in our memories to the bike ride we took (Liz kindly provided the bikes), the lake views and biking paths, the lovely restaurants around, the charming and cute towns in the vicinity (Holland, Saugatuk and others) with their marinas, street festivals and exceptional tiny stores, and the most relaxing and meditative week we have spent there. Thank you, Liz and than you, Lake Michigan.

Room Tip: John Calvin room is very large, has its own bathroom (big), walk-in closet (huge), patio (very speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I wanted a relaxing, quiet vacation together and the Cottonwood Inn fulfilled every hope. It has beautiful woodwork throughout and is decorated tastefully with Liz's hand-hooked rugs. Entering the inn was like coming home, without the need to clean or do chores, of course. Liz was friendly, good at conversation, and helpful when we we wanted to find things to do in the area. Her breakfasts were amazingly tasty and nutritious all at the same time. We stayed in her John Calvin room which was spacious with an electric fire place we hope to enjoy in cooler weather, a walk-in closet, and a claw-foot tub with shower enclosure. There was no television (which suited us fine), but there was wifi and air conditioning which were important concerns for us. One special delight was the screened-in porch accessed directly from our room. The location is close to everything we hoped to see: Saugatuk, downtown Holland, and Lake Michigan. We had never been to a bed and breakfast before and now we know we will never choose anything else if possible.

Room Tip: If you like to spread out a bit, choose the John Calvin room. This room is very spacious and also op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottonwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Inn

Address: 4690 Cottonwood Drive, Holland, MI 49423
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic Christian Bed and Breakfast just minutes from downtown Holland, Saugatuck, beaches, lighthouse, parks and many other attractions. Sit back and relax with a cup of premium fresh ground coffee or tea in one of the many common areas. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottonwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.