We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great All Around Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Holland

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Holland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Holland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12381 Felch Street, Holland, MI 49424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in Holland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great All Around Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Overall stay was for 2 nights during July 2011 (2 adults, 2 children). We were pleased with all aspects of our experience. First, the hotel appears to be newer and/or newly remodeled. As such, our room was very clean and nicely maintained. We got a room with two queen beds.

The staff were very friendly and professional and we really enjoyed the free continental breakfast which provided a nice variety of items for both adults and children.

The weather was poor one day of trip, so there were quite a few folks in the pool, but because the pool area is very nice with large pool and large sitting area, we never felt crowded.

There were quite a few families at the hotel and the only negative point was that we could hear some of the families with louder children through walls and running in hallways, etc. for brief period of time.

The hotel is not too far of a drive from the Holland State Park and/or the downtown area. In addition there are quite a few restaurants/shopping/movie theater/etc. that are close to hotel which was nice on the rainy day.

Overall hotel exceeded our expectations and we would definitely recommend it for those visiting Holland area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    49
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
84
44
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The room was nice and clean. A decent size for myself and 3 kids. We met friends there and had rooms across the hall from each other.
The hotel is centrally located. Tons of restaurants nearby. Breakfast was free and had tons of options to choose from.
The kids loved the pool and game room.
Biggest problem: The noise. There was a softball tournament in town and the kids were up and down the hall until 10 at night (kind of hard to get the kids to sleep when other kids are running amuck!). And then they were up early in the morning. Could definitely use more sound proofing.
The rate was pretty pricey for what you get. $200/night for 2 queens on a Friday and Saturday night. My friend and I both agreed that for the $800 we spent, we could have rented a house for a week!!
Had problems with the air conditioning cooling the room properly. Called front desk and they promptly sent a repair man. Unfortunately, the next night it stopped cooling again, but didn't want to call in the middle of the night, so I just let it go.
Next time, we'll either stay somewhere else or rent a house!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Chose this hotel based on other TA reviews, and it did not disappoint. Check-in was easy, no problems. Room was very clean, beds and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast included scrambled eggs, cinnamon rolls, pancakes (made fresh with the press of a button), bananas, yogurt, cereals, biscuits and gravy, toast etc... Very nice for a complimentary breakfast. Pool was nice, as well as the indoor/outdoor hot tub that was very spacious. Hotel is located about 10 minutes from Holland State Park and Lake MIchigan. Location is in the nicer area of Holland, although very commercialized with every big box store imaginable. Enjoyed our stay and would come back!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a small creek, trees, and a view of the basketball court. Better than a parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011 via mobile

We were surprised that the Holiday Inn Express was rated above City Flats and the Hampton, so we thought we'd try it while in town to deal with family business. We were a little stunned at the prices - $170 for a king on a Saturday night (price dropped to $140 on Sunday). We were told we were on the Executive Floor. Our room was dark, the small window overlooking a brick wall which turned out to be the top of the roof over the pool. We couldn't see anything except the wall, which blocked natural light. The old analog television was a shock. Most hotels charging this much have flat screens and more up to date decor. The air conditioner is loud and never adequately cooled the room. We never tried the pool as it was over run with screaming kids. We attempted to sit on the patio to read but people hanging out at the entrance smoking chased us away. We won't come back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bflavin, Communications Director at Holiday Inn Express Holland, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
The staff here at the Holiday Inn Express try and provide you with the best experience possible while you stay with us. Our hotel has won many of the top quality awards that the franchise has to offer. The prices in Holland tend to be higher every where you go on the weekends as a result of high tourist traffic which in result makes parts of our hotel more crowded such as the pool area. We apologize that the view from your room was not satisfactory during your stay. If you would have called the front desk staff and been asked to move they would have done everything in their power to accommodate you. Our hotel is going under a $2 Million dollar renovation starting in Mid-September of 2011 including a fresh new look throughout the entire hotel including flat screen televisions in the rooms. If you have any other questions or comments please e-mail bflavin@suburbaninns.com. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

This hotel had several nice things about it. The first is the night staff were very nice. They were helpful in trying to help us find different attractions. The location is great to get around everything. The beaches are a little way away, but you have the pool to go to if it rains that day at the beach. The have a good breakfest in the mornig that has pancakes and sausage. It it a good way to start your day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bflavin, Communications Director at Holiday Inn Express Holland, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. Our front desk staff loves helping people to find attractions and things to do while they are in Holland and we are happy that you enjoyed the pancakes and sausage at breakfast during your stay. We enjoyed having you during your previous visit to Holland and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Very nice lobby area. We were here for several days and spent some time in the public area, where we saw a man cleaning up after the breakfast. He would pull a tray out, bang it against his pants to get the crumbs off, and put it back in for the next day's use (just saying, in case you get lint on your English muffin).

We also used the pool. While the pool itself is fine, there are video games on the balcony above and the "enticing noises" they make - sirens etc. - do get old pretty fast.

Issues we had with the room included a necessary call to tech support to get the wireless internet to function properly and the thin walls of a modern hotel. A normal cough next door almost sounds like it is in your room. Two of the days, the water pressure was lower in the morning, which also made the toilet flush very poorly.

Finally, the prices all over Holland seem very high for what you get - room-wise and city-wise. I am not sure why. This is a decent budget hotel, but nowhere near what you might expect for the summertime rates.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bflavin, Communications Director at Holiday Inn Express Holland, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
We would like to thank you for the review that you wrote us. It is because of guests like you that give us feed back that we are continually able to improve our facility. The review you wrote provided us with great feedback that will help us to make our guest experience the best it can be. If you have any further comments or questions you can e-mail them to bflavin@suburbaninns.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011 via mobile

when in Holland, we love to stay at CityFlats. I was disappointed that they were booked up and we had to find a backup. It ended up being a great overnight stay. We got a jacuzzi suite for a good price. the pool area and game room are pretty great. we enjoyed the "adult swim" hours. the hot tub has an indoor/outdoor thing which was great. the only down for us was when another jacuzzi suite either above our below us filled up (it was midnight), it was REALLY loud in our room. it sounded like our faucet was on full blast. besides that, great stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Holland

Address: 12381 Felch Street, Holland, MI 49424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Holland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Holland
#4 Business Hotel in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Holland 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Quality Excellence Award winning Holiday Inn Express of Holland, MI. The Holiday Inn Express in Holland offers a place to work, relax or play just minutes from downtown Holland, Windmill Island and Tulip Time Festival activities. Located minutes from Lake Michigan beaches, Holland State Park, the Big Red Lighthouse, Dutch Village, Veldheer Tulip Farm, and Hope College our hotel and outstanding staff are committed to quality and exceptional service. Our spacious rooms offer either a king or two queen beds with luxurious white bedding, executive level and king whirlpool rooms available. All rooms feature a refrigerator, microwave, free wired/wireless Internet, 2 line cordless phone, Simply Smart shower experience, and much more! All rooms include free hot breakfast.Take a swim in our Michigan shaped indoor heated pool, enjoy a relaxing evening in our sauna or in our indoor/outdoor spa, a game of pool in our game room or basketball on the outdoor sports court. Enjoy time outside on our outdoor patio reading a book, soaking in the sun or grilling on our complimentary gas grill. Holland, Michigan is home to many fortune 5 companies such as Herman Miller, Johnson Controls, Gentex, Haworth, Consumers Power, Siemens, and S2/Tiara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Holland Hotel Holland
Holiday Inn Holland
Holland Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Holland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.