We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We took previous advice and had a great dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub

Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub
11539 E Lakewood Blvd, Suite 50, Holland, MI 49424-7730
616-355-5501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 176 Restaurants in Holland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casual upscale Grill and Pub located between Holland and Zeeland. Locally owned S&P has a an adventurous American pub style menu from Chef Micky Johnson. Fresh certified Angus steaks and steakburgers to Seared Ahi Tuna to Idaho Nachos (waffle fries loaded with cheese and bacon). S&P is a comfortable place that always has lots of laughter. Our Hoppy hour is great featuring 18 taps of craft and import beers, wines, and cocktails from 2 to 5:30 pm daily and noon to 3pm on Saturdays. We want you to enjoy yourself at S&P. We take reservations for lunch and dinner daily. Please call 355-5501. We hope to see you soon. Mike and Stephanie
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We took previous advice and had a great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

It is not always easy for a restaurant to handle a big family group. We picked a Thursday evening (7/10), made a reservation (7 adults and 5 children), and arrived early (5 pm). We picked the day and time in order to beat any crowd, and to make sure the small children did not have a long wait. Salt and Pepper handled the group very well.
Our server did a great job the whole time, anticipating our needs, and making sure everything was good. The menu is varied and modern and we all found something we liked. Everything was delicious especially the appetizers. My son-in-law had the prime rib, I had the whitefish and we both thought these were exceptional. The children's menu items were not the usual and quite good. We also had ribs, and a vegetarian entree.
I could hardly find anything negative. We had a wine glass that was chipped, but the server replaced it with a full glass of wine.

We would definitely return. The prices are somewhere between $$ and $$$, and service much better than average.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Owner at Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks for visiting us and for the nice words. We try very hard to accommodate groups of all sizes and I think we have gotten pretty good at it. We hear comments on our Kids menu often and are in the process of making it even better as kids like a better quality kids meal then in the past. Glad you liked the food and Hospitality as well. When you are in the area again, please visit us. Call us for a reservation so you don't have to wait. Mike and Stephanie Karas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    52
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“From a local, excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I'm a local to the area, and this is a favorite of me and my wife's. The atmosphere is great, the food is always excellent! (ahi tuna salad is one of our favorites) They have a decent bar as well. It's a bit out of the way if your staying at a hotel or Camp ground, but worth the trip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Owner at Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Your words are appreciated very much. We try hard to be consistent in food, service, and hospitality. Glad it is one of your favorites. Come see us again soon! Mike and Stephanie Karas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Went to Salt & Pepper's with a large group of about twenty. Because of this I called the day before to see if this would be an issue. To my pleasant surprise they had a room for just this purpose. The food was great, as well as, the selection. The people who waited on us were excellent (I apologize if I slaughter her name - Kari and for not remembering the other's name). They really went above and beyond making our visit enjoyable, and we're helpful with our food and beer choices. S & P has a relaxed atmosphere, and dining inside or out. It is not a large place and was almost full, but did not see a line of people waiting. We went on a weekday, so I would caution you to either call ahead or add some wait time for a weekend visit. It is located along a strip of store fronts, so you could drive by and miss it. I'm sure we will be back when we visit Holland, MI again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Owner at Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
I am glad we had our private room available to accommodate your family. Kari and Lindsey I believe were your servers. They are wonderful servers. I am glad you called for a reservation so we could be ready for you when you arrived. Happy to hear you enjoyed everything and that you will visit again. Have a great Holiday weekend. Mike and Stephanie Karas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our food is usually good, but hard to find something on the menu that I like without having to change it. Service is usually ok as well. I don't know why, but I am never excited to return when I leave. Not sure what it is. They need more bathrooms. More than once I have been there and there is no restroom open. Kinda awkward. In the winter we love the cheddar ale soup and their rolls.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Owner at Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thanks for your comments about S&P. When its busy here, the bathrooms are very busy. We do have 4 bathrooms, two men's and two women's but each are single person bathrooms. I can understand this being frustrating and awkward. I wish we had more space for another but we don't. I am happy to hear the staff is accommodating to your menu requests to make the food as you like it. I wish we could make you more excited about returning and I would like to discuss what we could do to make you skip back in and what items you look for in a restaurant menu. If you can email me at mike@saltandpepperpub.com or call me at the restaurant. 616-355-5501 Thanks again and I hope to hear from you. Our best to you. Mike and Stephanie Karas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Birthday Celebration To Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My birthday was officially in May but personal friends of our ministry wanted to bless me by taking my wife and I out for a dinner at one of our favorite eating destinations in Holland. The wonderful thing about Salt and Pepper is that they cater big time to those with food sensitivities since the owners daughter deals with this on a daily basis as well as my wife Karen. Can I say that our meals were awesome and had the honor and privilege of directing our comments in person to the executive Chef Micky Johnson. Very few restaurants that Karen and I have eaten at over our ministry travels cater to those with food sensitivity issues. Whey you ask the wait person if the restaurant has a gluten free menu they look at you like deer in a headlight. We also applaud Salt and Pepper with using fresh, locally grown and organic ingredients in their menu preparation. Yes it might be a little pricier but it is well worth the investment. Continued success Mike and Micky!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Owner at Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
The hospitality business is about making our guests happy. I am glad that you enjoy or place and we are appreciative of your kind words of appreciation and support. Knowing first hand how hard it is to eat away from home with food restrictions may make us a little more sensitive then some places but I think you will see more and more places continue to meet the needs of guests with food allergies and restrictions. We really do appreciate your business. Mike and Stephanie Karas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub also viewed

 
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.