We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Michigan Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laketown Beach

Laketown Beach
6710 142nd Ave., Holland, MI 49423
616.335.3050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 17 Attractions in Holland
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Holland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lake Michigan Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

There is not much parking at this Township Park. And there is a hefty fine if you park where you are not supposed to. However, if you get a spot and take the hike up and over the dune on the wood stairs, you will be rewarded with a great view and a lovely day at the beach.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Peaceful and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

the most beautiful pristine and peadeful beach we have ever been to. one has to keep in mind that there are stairs or dunes to climb before one gets to the beach - but it is very much worth it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
1 review
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Let's start out with some positive aspects:

-Nice, clean sand (no trash, glass, cigarette butts or anything)
-Seems family friendly
-Pretty views
-The stairs really aren't so bad...don't get me wrong, there are a lot of them, but I brought my tennis shoes ready for the hike of a lifetime and they're simply not that bad. Stairs are very shallow and the angle isn't very steep. Lots of benches to stop along the way too for those who need a break.

My biggest issue with this beach is it's small size and the amount of people there. It appears to be large, but when you get down to the bottom of the stairs it becomes apparent that the area available to the public is smaller than a football field. It is not at all "remote". This beach is "remote" if you like "rustic" camping with electricity and wifi. If you have a family and don't mind a bit of a crowd, this probably would be a fine beach choice for you. However, I had been informed that the biggest appeal of this beach is the privacy and solitude of it and came for the quiet and it was pretty crowded with screaming children all about (on a Wednesday morning).

Really not a bad beach if you live in the area and don't mind a bit of a crowd. Definitely not worth traveling much for. To sum up my experience in one word: unimpressed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Get some exercise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Loved the out-of-the way beach on Lake Michigan, but you need to be in good shape to get there! Nearly 350 steps to go up and down!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“This is a private beach for residents of Laketown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a great beach it is a long hike on the stairs, great views. Parking is limited, private beach for residents of Laketown

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laketown Beach also viewed

Holland, Ottawa County
Holland, Ottawa County
 
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Laketown Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laketown Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.