We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holland State Park Beach

Holland State Park Beach
2215 Ottawa Beach Rd, Holland, MI 49424
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Holland
Attraction details
Livonia, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Beautiful sand, a lighthouse, a boardwalk to get down to the water, and great sandy bottoms to walk on in the water. Worth going to with the kids! They absolutely loved it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    120
    27
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the best (and most underrated) beaches in the U.S.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

White, "singing" sand, crystal clear water. There is a great snack and ice cream shop at the beach along with clean changing rooms and restrooms. Get a $10 Recreation Passport and you're good to go... for a whole year!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austintown, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lighthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I caMe here to see Big Red, the lighthouse and there is a great view from this beach, but on the other side of the harbor you can walk to the lighthouse and pier.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“September Beach Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This state park was very pleasant to visit. We ended up there in early September when the "busy" season was over. We almost had the beach to ourselves. It was very relaxing and quiet. My boys enjoyed watching the local fisherman catch salmon off the pier. Great view of Big Red lighthouse. The peir was decent for walking too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The nicest beach park we've ever been to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Loved our way too short visit to this park & beach! . Beautiful sand & water that was well maintained. Although the sand must be part super glue, as once my backside made contact with it, I had a very difficult time getting up! Lol! Very easy to access with plenty of convenient parking. Nice, clean, spacious bath houses & small ice cream /snack shop. All the other beach visitors were very friendly too, maybe because we were all savoring the last bits of summer on a Sept day. We found the sea gulls to be entertaining & very respectful of the people there, never getting aggressive in their search for tasty morsels. ;-) Will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holland State Park Beach also viewed

Holland, Ottawa County
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Holland State Park Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holland State Park Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.