We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CityVu Bistro (CityFlatsHotel)

CityVu Bistro (CityFlatsHotel)
61 E 7th Street, Holland, MI
(616) 796-2114
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 192 restaurants in Holland
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
austin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This restaurant has (as the name implies) a nice view of the town and the food is quite good. Highly recommend this place for dinner. Breakfast is tasty, but the entire dining room is overlit with harsh morning sun--nothing a few shades couldn't fix.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    38
    32
    19
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westmont, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotel restaurants are not know for high quality often. Hotel restaurants in towns with 30,000 residents and seasonal tourists aren't either. Surprise! City Vu Bistro is quite the package. We ate there twice (dinner and breakfast) and other than the weak coffee (personal choice here) the food was creative, tasty, larger than expected portions, and beautifully presented. The bistro is well appointed, modern in design and very comfortable. As expected, the menu is tight but there are plenty of choices for everyone. The staff were gracious and always attentive. A great choice for anyone living in or visiting Holland.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love the View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have been to this place several times both with friends and as a couple. Every time we go the food is great and the views even better. The signature dish is a flatbread pizza with great toppings in combinations I would not have thought of. For those who like a drink with dinner there is a full bar which we love because it carries local craft beers. Make sure you save room for a piece of the carrot cake which is by far one of the best desserts I have ever eaten.

The furnishings are sleek and chic with a hip atmosphere and an outdoor patio for the warmer months. Although they don't take reservations for small parties, we have never had to wait..
I think our favorite part of City Vu Bistro is that we live close by and can make it over there often. It has become our go-to place when we want an elegant meal in a beautiful place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Meal in Mod atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The food overall at this restaurant is excellent. The spinach salad with raisins and almonds was very tasty. The chicken dumplings appetizer good as well. The Asian beef with noodles was also done well. The wine list is good and reasonably priced. We enjoyed the hot cookie with ice cream dessert. The atmosphere in modern and comfortable. We enjoyed the outside dinning at sunset, which is a great way to finish a summer day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Delicious and chic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Delicious option when visiting the beach. We loved finding a chic restaurant with interesting takes on classics. I ordered Tikka Masala, a modern interpretation on an old Indian classic dish. And a flatbread pizza made for a great app to share. We would definitely return here. Drink menu was also delightful, and we had terrific service!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CityVu Bistro (CityFlatsHotel) also viewed

Holland, Ottawa County
Holland, Ottawa County
 
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to CityVu Bistro (CityFlatsHotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CityVu Bistro (CityFlatsHotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.