We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ottawa Beach Inn

Ottawa Beach Inn
2155 Ottawa Beach Rd, Holland, MI 49424-2476
616-399-9220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 195 Restaurants in Holland
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Holland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

New to the Sunday breakfast mix, we landed at OBI and found their menu small and pricey. The food far exceeded our expectations. Wait staff needs some more training. Young kids. They seemed Not real sure what to do next. We will go back again and watch this little neighborhood joint get better with time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Summer or Fall OBI has it all!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely spur of the moment dinner at OBI. We decided to sit at the bar, enjoying the TV's and bartender, Bill. Not long after, manager Eric greeted us, making us feel welcome. We started with the Asian Firecracker wings. Not spicy enough for our taste, but okay. Then we each had our own House Salad with balsamic vinaigrette. We split the captain-size portion of the Lake Perch, lightly dusted and deep fried. Definitely enough for two. We ended the evening with Key Lime Pie and decaf coffee. OBI is really busy in the summer, so don't miss out on an opportunity for a great meal in the fall after visiting the State Park or enjoying the colors.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We were prepared to wait a half hour on a busy Saturday night but were pleasantly surprised when seated after only 10 minutes.

Restaurant has a long history in this resort area and is located directly across the road from Lake Macatawa.

Ambience is nautical, warm, and welcoming with interesting decor--a spot with local flavor rather than just another generic franchise restaurant.

Our server was gracious but efficient and very knowledgable sbout menu choices. I felt I could trust her answers to my questions.

Entrees are served with garlic toast, soup or salad, and potato or vegetable. Soup options sounded interesting but we chose salads which were excellent--a fresh, crisp assortment of artisan greens with cherry tomatoes, shredded cheese, and croutons that looked and tasted homemade.

We both ordered fresh fish entrees which were beyond wonderful. Light, flaky, mild, fresh and prepared impeccably. Portion sizes were more than adequate and prices are fair.

Highly recommend this restaurant if you are in this area and looking for a casual dining spot with outstanding food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

We dined at the Ottawa beach Inn on a Sunday night - primarily because it was one of the few places open that was convenient to where we were staying. To be honest, we had avoided it in the past because it looked a little bit too rustic (read that run down at the heels) from the outside. Appearances can be deceiving because it was very nice on the inside. Service was excellent, and the food plentiful, well prepared, and tasty. To make matters even better, the drinks were honest and the overall bill very reasonable. We will dine there again.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

French onion soup is delicious ! Nice atmosphere. Was in walking distance from our resort. Good service. Reasonable prices.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ottawa Beach Inn also viewed

Holland, Ottawa County
Holland, Ottawa County
 
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Ottawa Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ottawa Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.