We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot for a dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boatwerks

Boatwerks
216 Van Raalte Ave, Holland, MI 49423
+1 616-396-0600
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 176 Restaurants in Holland
Price range: $11 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Boatwerks Waterfront Restaurant Opened Memorial Day Weekend of 2006 The property has a rich history on the lake. Past businesses include property Occupying the year aggregate dock and storage area, a coal dock and marine construction and dredging has company. The building WAS designed to harken back to historic boat building factories lined the shores That of Lake Macatawa with Exposed beams and brick. The bar top WAS created to mimic the decks of hand-crafted wooden boats made by the likes of Chris Craft with light wood inlays betweens darker mahogany boards. The walls are lined with historic photos of the Lake Macatawa, Lake Michigan and Holland Areas. The restaurant continued to evolve and add features That Enhance the guest experience. In 2008, the outdoor patio bar WAS Added to create a comfortable outdoor lounge area. The next year saw the addition of glass walls along the boardwalk to create true waterfront tables right on the edge of the seawall. The next major change cam in 2012 with the full remodel of the indoor dining room and lounge. The Areas Were swapped to create a better dining experience for our guests with Additional windows Added to the North wall and elevated seating area year to Ensure great lake views for Every guest in the dining room. We Know That with growth, change must come aussi. Constantly we are looking for avenues and ideas to make Boatwerks Waterfront Restaurant The Most Sought After dining experience on the lakeshore.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Ate outside right on the water. The mushroom appetizer was quite good, the fish meal was good too. Outdoor seating is extensive and they had music over by the bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    106
    45
    36
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place for 'happy hour'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We went here with my sister and husband who live on Lake Macatawa. The happy hour is great! The food selection was quite large along with the portions. Service was also very good. Beautiful spot, will definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service but very pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have eaten at the Boatwerks several times as we attend an annual photography workshop in Holland, and have never been disappointed. We especially like their Lake Michigan Yellow Perch, which is superb. It is a very nice atmosphere (both inside and the outside seating), and the staff is always wonderful. The only downside are the prices, and to some extent, portion sizes on the small side. The total tab, including tip, for two perch dinners and an artichoke dip appetizer (water to drink), was over $70. Not outrageous mind you, but on the pricy side.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Tripadvisor is accurate.....stay with the top ten for dining!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We ate here on a beautiful evening on July 24th simply because of the outdoor dining and everything else was too busy. We had a hankering for seafood and well.....this spoiled it! My husband had their special with the perch amd dill sauce. He said it was flavorless. The white sauce was bland with very little dill and the crust on the fish did not help. I went safe with the paella and the seasfood pieces were very small and the rice was too firm. Our son did not eat his burger and our other som seemed to enjoy his barbecue rib plate. I ordered a mojito......do not order a mojito! The bar was busy and it it tasted like lime water.
We were along a wall and cramped between a table behind myself and behind my husband who was across from me. When we asked the hostess if we could move she seemed irritated and said no because there werent any tables yet we could see empty ones. The table behind my husband left and so we just took it because it gave us a little view and more room. Our waitress was very pleasant. We would not return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Disapponting dining experience in a beautiful setting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Friday Night to a waterfront restaurant. Tilapia that was over cooked and old that had a striking strong fish odor, over cooked and smothered in vegetables to mask the poor quality. Prime rib that was ordered Medium Rare and came well done and dry. No well managed restaurant would serve old fish. Busy place living on a past reputation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boatwerks also viewed

 
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Boatwerks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boatwerks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.