We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good variety of food and great soup!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 8th Street Grille

8th Street Grille
20 W. 8th St., Holland, MI 49423
616-392-5888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 194 Restaurants in Holland
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Zeeland, MI
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good variety of food and great soup!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We enjoy meals from 8th Street Grill. We've never been disappointed in the food or service. The soup bar has three soups available, chicken corn chowder always being one of the three. I really enjoy Acapulco Chicken Salad. It is a very large, tasty salad which is served with salsa and sour cream.

The tin ceiling in the restaurant and pictures of early Holland are a nice touch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    74
    24
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“All you can eat soup bar, what more do you need?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a rainy day. The 3 soups were wonderful. The specialty is chicken corn chowder, and I can see why.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“goood food, great wine selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I've been to this restaurant several times and it never disappoints.
The place is beautiful, the staff very knowledgeable, and the food is always good. It's also kid-friendly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunching Holland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stopped in for lunch and couldn't have been happier. Most of the tables were taken, but we were sat quickly. Very nice crowd, casual and comfortable. I did the soup and salad combination and my husband had the taco salad. Both tasted great and were served quickly. Towards the end of our stay, our waitress got a large group and became somewhat flustered, but it didn't detract from the whole experience. Excellent value too, great food and great prices.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stopped by for a quick meal the other night and I had no regrets. I was seated right away, had friendly and quick service, and enjoyed my food. There was a nice mix of solo-diners and small groups, so I didn't feel too self-conscious about eating alone.

My salad tasted wonderful and was quite reasonably priced. The Grille also has a very convenient downtown location :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 8th Street Grille also viewed

Holland, Ottawa County
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to 8th Street Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 8th Street Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.