We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different kind of hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CityFlatsHotel - Holland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added CityFlatsHotel - Holland to your Saves list
CityFlatsHotel - Holland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   61 East 7th Street, Holland, MI 49423   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A different kind of hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel is very modern, clean, and "green". We liked the friendly employees, homemade scones for breakfast, and great room. We enjoyed a suite on the third floor with a big soaking tub and walk in shower. The beds are dreamy and bamboo sheets soft. The hotel has nice parking and within walking distance of shopping on 8th Street. We also ate at City Vu restaurant on top and enjoyed a pizza. Try the Mexican Hot Chocolate, it is great. If you are looking for a different experience, make a plan to stay at City Flats. We will return.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor and it was quiet. Our view was towards the parking, but still nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Glad to hear you enjoyed everything. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to our entire staff. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    77
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
67
136
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Pros: Location. Three blocks from the concert we were attending that night.
Cons: Make the rooms comfortable, convenient and pleasant to stay in. Include a reasonable breakfast buffet.
This hotel has a wacky, ultra modern decor which we thought would be fun and interesting to see. But like a work of modern art, the designers of these rooms valued modern and different over comfortable and convenient. If any of the designers had actually slept in one of these rooms, I'm sure they would have made many changes. For example, in order to turn off the bed side lamps, you actually had to get out of bed and walk over to the light switch on the wall! The bed had a soft, squishy mattress that felt like a hammock. Even with a better mattress, I wouldn't have slept well since every time the heat went on, it sounded like an 18 wheeler was driving thorugh the room. The goofy, artistic looking shower dribbled water down straight on your head, so if you didn't want to get your hair wet, you were out of luck since there were not shower caps. This was also the first hotel room I've been in years in the US or Europe which did not have a coffee maker in the room. You could go down to the bar/lobby and buy a cup of coffee for $3.00, which seemed less than convenient. The restaurant featured featured small portions of "trendy" but not especially tasty food served on tables covered with brown butcher paper! I ordered soup but couldn't eat it since they had only given me a fork and couldn't find any soup spoons! I could go on and on but I think you get the idea here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are very sorry to hear your stay wasn't what you thought it would be. Our design is very different from other hotels, and are sorry to hear that your room wasn't very comfortable for you. Most things are a matter of personal preference and unfortunately our softer mattresses and simulated rain shower heads just didn't work for you and we are very sorry. We will definitely check our in-room heating systems to make sure they are all working properly, since they do not normally work so loudly. Finally, we have chosen not to put coffee makers in the room because of energy usage and increased waste, but we always have complimentary coffee available in the lobby, 24/7.

If you have any other questions please feel free to email me at jack.peaphon@cityflatshotel.com and hopefully I can be of more help. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

City Flats is a fun, well run, eco-friendly hotel. The room we had (king single) was excellent. The design of the hotel is modern Scandinavian and is quite beautiful. Our room was set up like a small suite, with a sitting area and TV that rotated between sitting area and bed. Beer geeks will be happy to know that they hotel is only a block away from the New Holland Brewing Company pub. Rate included a small continential breakfast buffet

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing CityFlatsHotel. Isn't it great when you can just park the car and visit such a great downtown (and great beer!) just by walking? Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at the City Flats hotel towards the end of a 30 day road trip across the country. I chose this hotel because it is one of the few LEED certified hotels that I have encountered, and my fiancé and I are both architects pursuing LEED accreditation. The hotel was extremely clean and obviously well designed, though we did feel as though a lot of the materials chosen were a bit "cold" or "hard". Regardless, City Flats was very accommodating and we appreciated the attention to detail put into the design and maintenance. We had hoped that our room would include a mini-fridge, but the concierge was kind of enough to let us use their staff fridge during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear you were so excited by, and personally attached to our LEED certification. Our hotel in Grand Rapids has also recently received LEED Gold certification as well. Thanks again, and en joy your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is another review of City Flats, but totally better than my last visit. This just goes to show you that room selection is critical. Our last stay was in a handicap accessible room and we found it didn't excite us. The open shower was weird and the lighting was poor. This time I got a room with two beds and found it much brighter, the bathroom and separate shower were wonderful and overall, I think a much better sleep quality as well. The best thing was the incredible service. I was in town due to my mother being hospitalized and had no idea if I would be there one night or more. The front desk staff booked me for two nights and promised I could cancel the second night without penalty if I found out Mom was being discharged the following day. Great service.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the parking area toward 6th street are quieter than those facing 7th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for reviewing the CityFlatsHotel Holland again. We are very happy your recent stay was enjoyable and you really liked your room. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay even more enjoyable again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I booked this hotel based on its website and pictures and was not disappointed at all. First time in Michigan and here to visit friends. Everyone working in the hotel is so friendly and everything is so clean and modern. Love the room decor, amazing bathroom and floor to ceiling windows looking out to the town. Location is great, close to nature walk, downtown shops and restaurants. Enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfasts on weekdays. City Vu Bistro on the top floor has lovely views and a good selection of food. Made my stay in Holland MI enjoyable and relaxing.

Room Tip: Staying on the highest floor of guest rooms is nice and has good views but tend to get all the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are so happy to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. Hopefully you will be able to visit Holland again soon!

Thank you from all of our CityFlatsHotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had a great long weekend at the CityFlats in Holland, MI. Extremely unique and modern hotel that you wouldn't expect to find in such a small town. Beautiful room with comfortable bed and huge bath tub. Easy to walk to all the stores and restaurants in Holland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Glad to hear you had such a nice time with us, and were surprised to find such a different type of hotel in Holland. Isn't it great to be able to park the car and walk everywhere? Thank you for writing a review. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CityFlatsHotel - Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlatsHotel - Holland

Address: 61 East 7th Street, Holland, MI 49423
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Holland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Holland
#7 Family Hotel in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CityFlatsHotel - Holland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityFlatsHotel Holland is a 56 room LEED Gold certified boutique hotel in downtown Holland, MI. The hotel's modern furnishings and urban feel make it a unique and exciting part of the West Michigan area. The CityVu Bistro is located atop the hotel, offering fresh, locally sourced ingredients and seasonally changing dishes. Guests can also visit the CItySen Lounge, on the first floor of the hotel, to enjoy the award-winning wine list, Michigan draft beers, and inspired cocktails. CityBru Coffee is a quick way to taste fair-trade Intelligentsia espresso and gourmet coffee drinks. The hotel also offers meeting space and fully equipped fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your CityFlatsHotel - Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityflats Hotel Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CityFlatsHotel - Holland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.