We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in this area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CityFlatsHotel - Holland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added CityFlatsHotel - Holland to your Saves list
CityFlatsHotel - Holland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   61 East 7th Street, Holland, MI 49423   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in this area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel, and it's sister hotel in Grand Rapids MI, are both new and excellent hotels. The staff is friendly. The room was great, with very comfortable beds, huge shower and bathroom. We had a room with 2 queens, which also came with 2 TVs. The room is very large compared with most standard size hotels. For our summer visit, this was a great place to stay, as a base for visiting other places outside of Holland, such as Douglas and Saugatuck. The roof top deck with bar and food service were good, with great views.

The hotel is LEED rated and has some unique features that are energy efficient.

Highly recommend staying at this hotel, and it's Grand Rapids location as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Deat Travel10Michigan,

Thank you for the nice review and for the recommendation! We're glad that you had a chance to enjoy CityVu Bistro as well. Please come again soon.

Katie Madonio
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    77
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
67
136
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at City Flats because there was no other hotel available in Holland, even though it was twice the price of any other spot. The hotel is a little strange due to the 'green' materials and eco-friendly atmosphere. The lobby is gray concrete floors and the other floors in the hallways and rooms are recycled rubber. You can hear everything in the hotel like an echo chamber. I heard every door close. The beds are extremely comfortable and the hotel is extremely clean (a big plus!). I think a hotel that charges $200 a night in Holland should have a continental breakfast. Nothing is offered as an extra. There is high priced coffee bar in the lobby in which the clerk makes you a cup. Overall a very nice and unique lace to stay with a great location. The hotel bar is cool too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Tim K,

Thank you for staying with us at CityFlatsHotel. If you choose to stay with us again, please note that there is free coffee available in the lobby for all overnight guests! If there's anything we can do to make your next stay more memorable, please feel free to let us know.

Katie Madonio
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary. Enjoyed being so close to downtown. Liked the uniqueness of the room. It would be a nice place to stay for a day or two, but wouldn't be very comfortable any longer than that. Beds were very nice, if anything maybe too soft. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear jjbeagle,

Thank you for your review of CityFlatsHotel! We are glad that you had a nice stay. If there's anything we can do for you to accommodate a longer stay you may contact me directly at 616-796-2105. I am happy to be of assistance.

Katie Madonio
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

downtown Holland, Michigan, just one block from the shopping street...Our room was very large, comfortable, well.appointed and European in flavor. the hallways are all "carpeted" in Chilewich fiber, giving it a very clean and unusual appearance, matching the design of the undulated walls, hanging lighting and wall covered areas to draw attention.

The king.bed is also well.appointed with the bedding that is available through the hotel...even selling mattresses. the storage units are built.in and provide spaces for luggage and whatever.else one might want to put "out.of.the.way" for your stay. The huge tiled shower is also very European and delightful.

all.in.all, it is a private get.away for the traveler...we love it.

Room Tip: 320 was our room...we would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mary Ann F,

We are glad that you had such an enjoyable stay! If you choose to purchase a CityDrem mattress or CityDrem bedding, everything is conveniently available on our website.

We hope that you visit us again soon.

Katie Madonio
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the comfortable bed the hotel provides. Our friends stayed here sometime back and loved the bed so much that they had to buy one. The bed is quite soft and we did sleep well on it. We may check further into buying one. The location one block from downtown Holland's pubs, restaurants and shopping district was great. The hotel is very well laid out with a nice restaurant on the top floor. We had Sunday brunch there and it was very good. The bar area on the ground floor was nice for having a drink before retiring to bed. The large TV is hooked on the end of the bed which was real nice to have so close and speakers for the TV in the shower area. I do have some minor complaints. There are no coffee pots in the rooms so one has to go to the ground floor to get a cup of joe. Be aware that there is no pool.The only other complaint is that this hotel is quite expensive. We have stayed at many hotels in large cities with much more to offer for less money. A nice Hotel all around but probably would not stay here again because it was expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear KRPINGRMI,

We're glad that you chose to stay with us at CityFlatsHotel! If you decide you would like to purchase a CityDrem mattress, feel free to call us 616-796-2100 if you have any questions.

Katie Madonio
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

ecologically friendly hotel design done in a way to make the room and hotel interiors warmer and more inviting than I ever thought possible. Very, very friendly and knowledgeable staff made this the only hotel choice for me in Holland. The hotel is also within walking distance to so very good downtown Holland restaurants and pubs.

Room Tip: chose a room facing the back of the hotel to cut down on street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear johnbrisker,

Thank you for your nice review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. If your travels ever bring you back to Holland we hope that you choose CityFlatsHotel for your lodging needs.

Katie Madonio
Marketing Coordinator
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at CityFlats while in town for a wedding. The hotel is trendy and unique, the bathroom had a great shower, and the bed was honestly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! I would stay here again just to sleep in the bed!!! Sadly the reason I gave the hotel an average rating was the service. The service wasn't bad but it wasn't friendly or inviting. When I pay over $200 a night for a hotel room it would be nice to be greated with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear hjeldon,

Thank you for your review! We're glad that you had an enjoyable stay. If you would like a CityDrem mattress to call your own they are available for purchase on our website under "shop".

I am sorry to hear that you did not receive top notch service. If you would like to discuss the situation further, please contact me directly at 616-796-2105.

We hope that you visit us again soon!

Katie Madonio
Marketing Coordinator
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CityFlatsHotel - Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlatsHotel - Holland

Address: 61 East 7th Street, Holland, MI 49423
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Holland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Holland
#7 Family Hotel in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CityFlatsHotel - Holland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityFlatsHotel Holland is a 56 room LEED Gold certified boutique hotel in downtown Holland, MI. The hotel's modern furnishings and urban feel make it a unique and exciting part of the West Michigan area. The CityVu Bistro is located atop the hotel, offering fresh, locally sourced ingredients and seasonally changing dishes. Guests can also visit the CItySen Lounge, on the first floor of the hotel, to enjoy the award-winning wine list, Michigan draft beers, and inspired cocktails. CityBru Coffee is a quick way to taste fair-trade Intelligentsia espresso and gourmet coffee drinks. The hotel also offers meeting space and fully equipped fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your CityFlatsHotel - Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityflats Hotel Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CityFlatsHotel - Holland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.