We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun evening on the deck with friends” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Gill Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Blue Gill Grill
1591 Lake Lansing Rd, Haslett, MI 48840-8427
517-339-4900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Haslett
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
East Lansing, Mi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun evening on the deck with friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A great summer evening - We were with another couple and loved that we could bike to the restaurant. Any time we can combine guilt-reducing exercise with beer, we're happy! We read bad things about the service, but our service was great! Waitress showed up fast, knew about the food and beer to guide us. No issues. The guitarist was not too loud, often a problem for us post-college age guests! We'll definitely go back when we want a summer rooftop evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    18
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haslett, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Food Took Forever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went here with my wife recently on the recommendation of friends. We went on a Sunday afternoon in between lunch and dinner time. The place was not very busy at all, however, it took about 20 minutes to get out food out to us after we ordered. We ordered a burger and a wrap, so it shouldn't have taken long to make. The food was good and the ambiance of the place was what you would expect from a lakeside bar and grill. I would have rated the place higher if it wasn't such a long wait to get our food when they weren't busy. I can only imagine longer waits at peak times.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Top Contributor
829 reviews 829 reviews
421 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 308 cities Reviews in 308 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Nice fish reseraurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Meet friends here for diner. They have a nice selection of fish, normally four or more different kinds. Service was good and all eight of us enjoyed our meals. They also have a rooftop diningroom. Complete with bar and music. You can see Lake Lansing from the rooftop. One of our favorite fish restaurants. A block east of Marsh Road across from Lake Lansing Park.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Friendly, attentive service (on a Thursday night), liked our selections”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Perch basket with fries was tasty according to my husband. The Salmon had an unexpected flavor kick with its spicy mango sauce.yum. The Viking Voo Doo drink was a cravable dessert rum drink that was reminiscent of a orange creamcicle. My husband drank half of mine, so just go ahead and order 2 :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Bar/restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Have eaten here twice in the last few months. Had the perch on one visit and the cod on the other visit. Both were very good. reasonably priced. Nice selection of beers on tap.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Gill Grill also viewed

Haslett, Eaton County
Haslett, Eaton County
 

Been to The Blue Gill Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Gill Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.