We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Harrisville State Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrisville State Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrisville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harrisville State Park
248 State Park Road, P.O Box 326, Harrisville, MI 48740   |  
Hotel amenities
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I love Harrisville State Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family and I have camped at HSP once a year for 6-8 years now. Its a great State Park. I will say upfront its the only State Park I have camped at.

The contact post staff are always very helpful and friendly. Since we camp 4-7 days at a time, I get the non-resident yearly pass as its cheaper then paying day by day. Plus the pass is good for all the State Parks in Michigan. Its $30 for the year for a non-resident.

The park itself is well maintained. We usually try to go for the campsites in the 17-36 range as they tend to be more grass / trees and on the edge of the park. This way its a bit more private.

My family enjoys going for walks around the park and trails. When it gets too hot, the beach is a quick walk away and Lake Huron is always refreshing.

There are a couple of large bathrooms with showers that are usually pretty clean and tidy. Bring a set of flip flops for the showers as they can get messy sometimes.

Harrisville is a quick drive and short walk (less then 1 km) away. It has a grocery store, ice cream store, pizza place, drug store, laundry mat...etc.

Near the entrance to the park there is a great ice cream store. We always make sure to take the kids to it a few times for a treat.

Also at the park entrance is a set of train tracks. During the weekdays there is a 8-9p train that we take the kids to see. They put some coins on the tracks and get excited as the train goes over them.

But...... there is another train that comes through at 2-4am ish and blows its whistle at every crossing from Harrisville to the Park. So its pretty loud and will probably wake you up. After a couple of nights I didn't really notice it.

Overall I highly recommend this park for camping. Its our favorite and will be our benchmark for other State parks.

Room Tip: Go on the Michigan State Park website and select Harrisville State Park. You can view a map of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

What a park! Our site was on the outer rim. Very private. The beach was clean and pet friendly. Camp staff was very friendly. There is a truck that drives through the park selling wood by the rack for $25 a rack. Good deal if one is staying for a week. You can by small bundles from the machine. Restrooms are very clean. The only draw back would be the four showers in the park. They supply the sewer hose at the sanitation station so I didn't have to mess with my own. We'll be back next year!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Years ago we found a state park we loved and returned year after year. After purchasing a camper we decided to try other campgrounds. I am so glad we did. There were many things we liked about the park; the pet friendly beach, many great wooded sites to pick from, beautiful beach and nice trails to name a few.
The park staff were friendly and did a great job of monitoring the campground to make sure all the rules were followed. We arrived late and found it a nice touch that they had our name and site number posted in the window of the ranger station. We have already decided on our next visit to this campground.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisville, Michigan, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We visit this State Park at least a couple of times each week. The beach is beautiful and the view outstanding! The park is always clean - even in the winter. We love to run or walk on the beach. The cabins that rent out are rustic- our favorite is by the picnic area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We were here last Sunday night. Our campsite was clean and right on the beach. We would definitely come back. Short walk to the cute town of Harrisville. The other campers we met were friendly. We camp in a 30 ft. motorhome and had no problems getting in or out.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed on a beach access spot, it was beautiful! Lake access spots and outer rim spots offer a bit more privacy, the middle spots are more open to the adjacent lots but offer easy access for camper trailers. There are 2 bathroom buildings, older, but they kept them pretty clean. I think they cleaned them 2 times a day. The entire park was full when we went so the bathrooms got a lot of traffic. One downside is that there are only 4 showers for the whole park. We had to wait a couple of times but the longest wait for a 4 night stay was about 45 minutes. It was very pretty - great sunrises! Staff is friendly, and they have a vendor for wood that was pretty reasonable. They even have a "trial" dog beach area. It's not on any of the current maps because it's on a trial basis. If you take your dog, PLEASE keep your dog on a leash at all times (we took a 30' lead so he could run in the water) and pick up the poo - this is definiately something that would be a GREAT permanent addition to the park. This access is located down by the dog walk area on the North side of the park. Overall, we would definately recommend the campground and are planning on going back again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Nice campground. Easy to get to beach right off campground. There's also a day use area. Rangers were very friendly. Kids programs were cute. Nice ice cream shop just out entrance. Bathrooms need updating. No family showers like some other state parks.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harrisville State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrisville State Park

Address: 248 State Park Road, P.O Box 326, Harrisville, MI 48740
Location: United States > Michigan > Harrisville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Harrisville
Also Known As:
Harrisville State Park Hotel Harrisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrisville State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Harrisville State Park to your Saves list