We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always enjoy our stays at Lakeside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Motel & Cottages

Lakeside Motel & Cottages
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harrison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Motel & Cottages
Save
You added Lakeside Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
515 E Park Street, Bus US 127, M-61, Harrison, MI 48625   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Orangeburg, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We always enjoy our stays at Lakeside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We've enjoyed Lakeside twice a year since our first visit in late Sept 2005. Upon arriving, you can't help but feel relaxed. We stayed again this August 2011. It’s a handy easy weekend getaway spot, only 3-4 hours from the Indy area. Wonderful, quiet private beach (if you don't mind many steps down and up) wonderful sunsets can be memorable. The staff is polite and very attentive from the moment you check in. Just so you know: This is not a luxury hotel (although I must say the beds are extremely comfortable). They are celebrating their 50th year this year. Since it is a vintage hotel, you won't find fancy bath fixtures and gleaming marble but It is always very clean and the only AAA motel in the area. We hope the owners continue to make improvements and keep up with maintaining this wonderful lakeside escape. We like coming and seeing what improvements have been done since our last stay. We'll keep coming for sure! It's nice in the winter also, if you enjoy snow (skiing and snowmobiling).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
10
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The room was clean but simple. The bathroom was very small. I am ok with all of that. It's Harrison, what do you expect. I am a seasoned traveler and have stayed in dumps and also the likes of the Ritz Carlton. So, the bottom line is you get what you pay for. My only real complaint here seems to be a re-occuring theme. The owner is pretty much a tight wad. I wanted to leave a day early, and was told basically too bad, we have your money and you aren't getting any back. NO REFUND. Now I also noticed the same owner/manager always has an excuse for these complaints. Hey, maybe you should listen to your customers. Treat people like they are guest, and stop acting like you'll never see another customer and you have to get every dime you can from them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyMichigander, Owner at Lakeside Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
As we have never had a guest from Woodbridge, VA or a guest named Monahan in all of 2010, this review must have been meant for another property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Was told by management ! They automatically ASSUMED we were smoking in the room!!! (However, we were told before hand that the room was a heavily smoked in) Mangement informed us they attempted to charge a 100$ fee for smoking, when we never even smoked in the room. The Thermostat was fake wired, leaving you to think you are adjusting the heat control, all they had running for heat was a pilot light that kept blowing out. It got down to the low 50's in the room. The extra space heater they provided didn't even make up for the loss heat. Was told by management that they smell the sheets and comforter to see if they stink, then they have to wash them!!!!!! GROSSS!!!! If you are looking for A seedy Notel, this may be the one for you (in Warm weather that is) If you are looking for a bit of an upgrade I would suggest going right down the street to the Acorn Cottages, 40 bucks, and a sweet Lady runs the place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyMichigander, Owner at Lakeside Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Dear Travelers:

Please be assured that all of our sheets are professionally laundered and fresh sheets are used for each guest, without fail; we are proud to be the only AAA approved motel in Harrison.

Michigan law prohibits smoking in hotel rooms. The housekeeping staff informed us that these people were smoking in the room. They paid cash for the room, so at that time we attempted to authorize their credit card on file; the authorization was declined – they had used a fraudulent credit card to guarantee their stay. This is no different than writing a check on insufficient funds.

The furnace in this room is working fine and not just by pilot. (Why are these people messing around with the mechanics of the motel instead of calling the management?)

This was a two-night stay. The second morning he called to tell us that they were uncomfortable the second night and he had been “relighting” their furnace, but that the first night was wonderful. We asked him why they had not called earlier; we would happily have moved them to a different room. He asked to stay a third night, but wanted a “blizzard” discount. We offered him a different room, and reminded him that they already enjoyed our lowest rate. He said he would let us know; they stayed all morning and then the gentleman checked out cordially and told us they were going their separate ways as the roads were clear.

If everything was as bad as described in her “review”, why did they stay the second night and ask to stay a third? Unfortunately, the internet has become a way for hotel guests to get revenge on business owners for any perceived injustice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

We came up to help a friend, living on nearby Lake Arnold, get her house ready for some repair work and tree removal. We had no idea where to stay, but found the Lakeside Motel & Cottages on line. What a GREAT find. It was close to where we needed to be, clean, cozy, beautiful area for walks, and dog friendly. We rented a cabin with two bedrooms. The cabin had everything we needed except food and we had that. Our stay was for four nights, and every night was peaceful, quite, and very comfortable. Julie and Blain saw to it that anything we needed, even an extra sheet for our dogs to sleep on, was provided to us. The time passed fast and we had other towns to visit because we are looking to retire in the area. We found a house in Coldwater, but look forward to staying at Lakeside when we are visiting friends in Harrison.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Thanks so much for a lovely birthday weekend! The little cake you had on the table when we arrived was such a thoughtful gesture. And.. it was yummy! I'm glad you encouraged me to book for Monday night as well. We enjoyed the county fair; the flea market, canoeing Budd Lake and simply enjoying your beautifully manicured and appointed grounds. Late afternoons & sunsets were my favorites. What a gem you have. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I'm an accountant that often travels for business. When I first drove through this town on the way to my client's I wasn't sure what I was going to do for lodging. I checked up on local places to stay online and decided on this motel. I was pleasantly surprised and happy I chose this one. It's on a beautiful lake and a beautiful property. The rooms are clean and well cared for. I also appreciated its location as its actually in town versus on the highway. This let me get to my client quicker than the closest chain hotel which was farther north or back south by 30 minutes or so. I also appreciated the free internet as I could get caught up with other stuff from the room instead of being stuck at the client's late in the evening. When I spoke to the owners when I checked in we chatted about the town. It seems that many people going north stop here because of the local trails, hunting, and fishing. I'm definitely considering this place as an up north vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Our recent stay at the Lakeside Motel provided a quiet relaxed atmosphere for a mini escape. Nestled along the Lake Budd shore, the early morning bird watching is great. The Spa Tub rooms are large and excellantly appointed. The staff were extremely helpful in pointing out the "good spots" to fish at nearby Lake George. We had a wonderfully restful stay and will be back for sure ! Thak You !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel & Cottages

Address: 515 E Park Street, Bus US 127, M-61, Harrison, MI 48625
Location: United States > Michigan > Clare County > Harrison
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Budd Lake in Harrison, MI, we offer five peaceful, shady acres for our guests to enjoy. 12 motel units and 3 cottages: A/C, quiet gas heat, free high speed WiFi, over 300' of beachfront. Boat & canoe rentals. Fishing on site; near great golf, casino, ORV trails and hunting. AAA Diamond Rated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Harrison
Lakeside Motel Harrison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.