We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time, last time.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Birchwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Birchwood Inn to your Saves list
Birchwood Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   7291 South Lake Shore Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Lahaina, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First time, last time.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Didn't know the area so just took a chance on this hotel. Shabby, not shabby chic. Needs maintenance. It was very quiet there so sleeping was easy. Pretty location. Nice reception lady. Skimpy continental breakfast offering. Is pricey for value received. So many other choices in a beautiful area.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    14
    4
    9
See reviews for
15
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We booked for a two night package at the Birchwood Inn to ride in the fall Harbor Spring Classic bike tour. I agree with other reviewers who have noted the issues around condition and the very reasonable price. There is no other place to stay of the quality (such as it is) of the Birchwood Inn in this fairly high cost tourist area. We likely would not have stayed there without finding them through the package of the bike tour. With the tour and the family cottage like atmosphere, we had a very nice stay and have no complaints. The service and assistance was friendly, warm and genuine. The room, while a bit dated, was spotless and noise was no issue. The Inn reminded us of other favorite very "Michigan" places we stay on at because of the people and the comfort - not the modern features. Places like Gate's Lodge in Grayling and a number of lodges across the Upper Pennsiula. A bit of updating and a bit more choice at breakfast would have made them excellent in my view. Still, I think we may be back, the draw of the tour and the charm of a bit of what is I think disappearing Michigan are worth the little things that could be better.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We needed a place to stay after a long drive to Harbor Springs and found this so to speak bed and breakfast online. It must have what look to be 100 rooms, and ours was decorated in 1950's trappings. We arrived to find that we were assigned to rooms in a separate building away from the main lodge, up two floors (with considerable luggage) for no apparent reason. No one else was around. The room was OK in 1950s style, clean, modernized a little, and the breakfast the next morning was OK in the main lodge decorated with snow shoes, skis, and other artifacts from a bygone era. I think this place survives by serving conferences that can occupy the whole place over a weekend. There is no view of any water except for their swimming pool.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the first floor in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is situated on the southern end of the twenty-mile M-119 "Tunnel of Trees" drive between the city of Harbor Springs and a town called Cross Village where a very interesting restaurant called "The Legs Inn" is situated. The "Tunnel of Trees" is a beautiful area. And, this hotel seems to attract many bicyclists that can bike the Tunnel of Trees or go south into harbor springs and all around the Little Traverse Bay.

This hotel started life in the fifties as a corporate retreat, so it is very open and community like -- similar to an old style resort. The staff is VERY friendly. The decorations are fifties-ish and lodge like. Birch wood accents were a them throughout the bulding. The rooms a fairly large compared to most hotel rooms in this price class. And, maintenance of the building was meticulous. So, everything I encountered was in working condition. The bathrooms were clean, and all was in working order. The outside grounds were well kept. The outdoor pool water, though claimed to be heated, was not very warm. However, the pool water was clean. There was shuffle board courts that were free to use and an outdoor fire pit with a stack of wood nearby that anybody could use when needed. Also, it looked like some old tennis courts in the back of the property were not tennis courts any longer :-( The hotel is positioned between two farms. One of the farms was a horse farm with many horses grazing around all day long. But the most beautiful part of the setting is the edge of Little Traverse Bay which is down below directly on the other side of M-119 where many glimpses of gorgeous sunsets can be had. My only issue with this hotel is its lack of the most modern hotel ammenities like a workout room, but it did have free WiFi.

Room Tip: I liked my room which was in the single story part of the hotel. I did not see what the rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The lady working the front desk was really nice. The rooms were pretty dated, but clean. The outside, however, has been very neglected. Spider webs were aplenty above all room entryways and the outside heated pool was simply disgusting. If the outside had some work done to it so that it didn't look like the Bates Motel, I would've easily given 4 stars due to the overall value. This is in a very cool location, situated in the Tunnel of Trees and makes for a decent place to rest if you leave Legs a little too late to make it elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Try to think about Birchwood Inn this way - it's like staying at a friend's cabin. Yes, the furnishings are old and the carpet is a little tired. The hosts are very friendly and accommodating but you aren't getting a waffle for breakfast!

We paid $99/night to stay in Harbor Springs on a summer weekend. We felt safe and cozy. Breakfast including coffee, juice and a variety of pastries, bagels, breads, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt and all the toppings, including PB&J. Our room had windows on both ends that we could open and close. We didn't need AC but it was there. We had no trouble with water or showers - the bathroom was cheerful and clean, all in yellow tile.

The pool was lovely and there was a fire in the pit both nights. There were guests in the common area all afternoon, enjoying the peace and the view. There's a swing set and seesaw in the courtyard area.

Room Tip: There are a few different buildings, all one-story except for one of the buildings. If you prefer o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Advantages: The employees were very nice, helpful, etc. The hotel supplied wood and we had a nice outside fire with our friends (another large group was doing the same thing). The room and facilities were clean. The decorations, style, great room reminded one of the Dirty Dancing resort.

Disadvantages: The mattresses were 20 years past their prime, better have a chiropractor on call if you spend more than one night. The water pressure for the showers and toilets was non-existent between 7:30 am and 9:00 am. Our bathroom exhaust fan didn't work. The A/C was underpowered for hot days.

Recommendation: Pay a few bucks more and get a good nights sleep. Visit your friends that are staying at the Brichwood Inn - it is cool to go back in history.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Inn

Address: 7291 South Lake Shore Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Harbor Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harbor Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Birchwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Birchwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Harbor Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.