We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Smoking in Rooms or on Decks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boyne Highlands Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boyne Highlands Resort to your Saves list
Boyne Highlands Resort
600 Highland Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“No Smoking in Rooms or on Decks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed there July with family in the Inverness suites. We like to leave the doorwall open, especially overnight, so we can get some cooler fresh air. Unfortunately, we seemed to be surrounded by smokers. The couple below us, the ones to the left and right were all smoking on the decks in the evening and morning, which would blow into our room. I do not smoke and do not want my kids exposed to second hand smoke. I called the front desk to see what the smoking policy was and they said 25 feet away from the building, not allowed on decks or rooms. They sent someone over to let the people below, who were using one of the rooms coffee cups as an ashtray, that there is no smoking allowed on the decks. They need to enforce this policy more at check in.
The room quality was very good, beds were comfortable. Cleaning crew/maid service was very good.

Room Tip: Get one facing the slopes on one of the upper two floors. The loft rooms are very nice. Rooms faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    58
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
56
28
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Very accommodating for all meetings. Wonderful food for large groups for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Activities for all ages during your stay. Outdoor movie was a unexpected touch along with the bonfire. Would go back in a minute!!!

Room Tip: First floor rooms overlooking the pool are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed in an Alpine Lodge condo. It was well appointed and comfortable. One drawback to the condo was it didn't have much overhead light or bright lamps. It made reading a little difficult. I had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and had lunch in the lounge. The breakfast buffet was really good, but a little pricey (as they often are). The lounge lunch was just ok.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

A group of 10 of us stayed in a 4 bedroom condo in Alpine Village this summer. The condo was much newer than expected and looked way nicer than in the pictures online. The decor was nice except for all the University of Michigan stuff, gross! They even had board games and toys that our kids loved. The only issue we had was ants in the kitchen. We called the front desk, and they came immediately to spray. We ate at the sports bar restaurant near the main lobby both nights. The pizza was really good, so I recommend that. Our kids loved the complimentary activities in the yard - soccer, tennis, golf, ladder ball, etc. We, the parents, loved that they could go out and run off energy before bed :-) I would definitely go back. It was the perfect place to stay for a Mackinac Island day trip, and it was also convenient to Petoskey where we hunted for stones and did some shopping. The rate was the best around for a group our size. Just a Hampton Inn in Petoskey would have cost at least $200 more.

Room Tip: Alpine Village condos were really nice :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the pristine surroundings, loads of (complimentary!) activities, excellent food, clean quiet accommodations and the friendliest staff I have ever encountered in my travels to 40 states and 25 countries!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Young Americans Dinner Theater is a gem of a production. Food is delicious and the performance is out-of-this-world. The performers are so enthusiastic and talented -- truly amazing! You will not be disappointed. Arrive early enough to take part in hors d'oeuvres, as they do some singing during this time as well.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had to stay here for one night because I had things to take care of in Petoskey. I've skied here in the winter and had never seen the rooms at the resort but I thought I'd check it out. We got a room with one king bed and two twins for 157.00. The room was very dated, but the beds were comfortable and everything was clean.

I don't know if I'd stay here for multiple nights but it's good for just one.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boyne Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Highlands Resort

Address: 600 Highland Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Harbor Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English country estate charm and elegance of Boyne Highlands Resort Is captured in this Mid-West hospitality. A total of 165 rooms plus 172 unit condominium hotel, private condominiums and golf side cottages will comfortably house up to 12 guests. World class accommodations ranging from studio rooms to elegant suites and townhouses are complete with every imaginable amenity. Boyne Highlands is now a non-smoking resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Boyne Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Highlands Hotel Harbor Springs
Boyne Highland Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boyne Highlands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.