We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Christmas Ski Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boyne Highlands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boyne Highlands Resort to your Saves list
Boyne Highlands Resort
600 Highland Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Marquette, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Annual Christmas Ski Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Pretty much every year for the last 15 years my wife and I have been traveling to the Highlands just after Christmas and through New Years Day..I have traveled to this Lodge as a younger couple and now have 12 and 8 year old boys..Boyne Highlands boasts some of the Best Skiing in the Midwest..the Grooming is perfection yet with plenty of Cascade skiing available...Night skiing is available if you choose to hit mornings and evenings...this resort has it all.. Austrian Ski instructors for the last 60 years..a healthy cafeteria for the masses ..that enjoy the FREE BEGINNERS SKIING AREA..also a great chill bar/ next to cafeteria....has an elite ski shop..with good value if you look...saved our butt..forgot poles and ski pants this year.....not mine the kids..and then to top of your night zipline..you drink a couple of Michigan Craft Beers at the Lodge Bar in front of Massive Fire Place..or if you are hardy or the night is mild..the fire just outside the Bar is great to watch the whole great scene....then after trying to ski with young boys all day ..jaded dad and hot mom and all Lodge fun people, head into HEATED outdoor pool and then into outdoor hot tub...all at the base of the Mountain in front of High speed Quad...Food is a cake walk sign room number and out..chef that make crepes and omelets to order at hyper speed..one of the Peaks has a great Cafe for lunch and a very classy hot Chocolate..my wife says the chocolate was upper echelon..then ski way back to the Lodge for Dinner..if you need more go try the Dog sledding ..or the snow bikes ..xc trails ..Horses...My wife arrange even managed to work a new years eve groomer ride juts before midnight...this is an out west experience..I strongly suggest this place if you are fun.

Room Tip: Ask for SLOPE SIDE >>MAIN LODGE>>with a balcony over looking pools..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    50
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
45
25
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheboygan, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I randomly decided that I wanted to try skiing for the first time and with the community appreciation day deals that they had going I thought it would be the perfect time to take a lesson. My little sister took the lesson with me and our instructor Eric was awesome! He was so patient and fun and knowledgeable with everyone in the class. It was the perfect first skiing experience. The entire staff I interacted with was so helpful also as I had no clue what I was doing. Thanks so much!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We have been going to Boyne Highlands for the last five years to ski as a family. It is a great place for kids to learn to ski. I can't say enough about the ski school and ski instructors - they rival any major Colorado or California ski resort staff, top notch!
There are more than 30 runs that I suggest for a family of skiers that range from beginner to advanced ( yes, I know that BH boasts about having more than 50 runs but some aren't worth your time, in my opinion.)
They used to allow kids 10 and under to ski free when you rented equipment but now they have dropped the age to 5 and under which is disappointing - but hasn't seemed to reduce the crowds so, they are raking it in!
The food can be hit or miss, too. But the bar is always packed, warm and a great place to eat, drink, watch the mountain and some football.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We visit Boyne Highlands every year between Christmas and New Years. The staff in all regards (lift operators, wait staff, housekeeping, etc) is very nice and friendly. The food quality is great at all the restaurant properties. This was probably the best skiing ever at this time of year!

We stayed at the Bartley House which is the lower cost on property lodging. It's considered a ski in but short walk up a hill to the lift. It's a bit of a walk to get breakfast (which is in the main lodge) but no big deal.

My major complaint is the Bartley house rooms are due for an upgrade. The bathrooms are old and the rooms are basic. The TV is "old school" but setup for a wide screen and thus all the programming is chopped off (couldn't see the scores of the football games). For not a lot of money they can get some new TVs, upgrade the bathrooms, decor etc and get a lot of perceived value. (the beds are comfortable though)

The WiFi still needs to improvement.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have two good things to say, the food is not bad, and the slopes are ok. The accommodations are very antiquated, and bare. Popcorn sprayed ceilings, 20 year old tube TV's that do not work, ripped vinyl seating in lobbies, to name a few of the deficiencies. This would be understandable if I was paying $100 per night. But $350 plus per night? This is just awful. Find another resort. Do not stay here.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Close, clean, organized, fun, efficient, friendly, beautiful, peaceful, relaxing and all just before Christmas hell week. Had gone last year for New Year's Eve weekend and it was packed and crowded; had fun anyway, but we prefer more people space

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife, family and I have been raving fans of the Boyne Highlands staff, mountain, and golf courses. We've visited and stayed for over 20 YEARS! Ten's of thousands of dollars($). Unfortunately our trip this weekend will likely be our last as house guests until the main lodge room (338) is properly maintained. Boyne management obviously feels like it makes better economic sense to invest in a Zip-Line or Segways(sp?), than update their hotel rooms. If it was a $69.95 Knights Inn I'd not complain, but $200 a night out-of-season is a shame. Flat screen TV without HD. Shower curtain rod pulling out of the wall, sink that "barely" drains, weak toilet flush, 1980's faux gold fixtures that have the finish worn off they've been cleaned so many times, swimming pool no longer hot, Slopeside Lounge service abysmal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boyne Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Highlands Resort

Address: 600 Highland Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Location: United States > Michigan > Harbor Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English country estate charm and elegance of Boyne Highlands Resort Is captured in this Mid-West hospitality. A total of 165 rooms plus 172 unit condominium hotel, private condominiums and golf side cottages will comfortably house up to 12 guests. World class accommodations ranging from studio rooms to elegant suites and townhouses are complete with every imaginable amenity. Boyne Highlands is now a non-smoking resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Boyne Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Highlands Hotel Harbor Springs
Boyne Highland Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boyne Highlands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.