We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiing, snow shoeing and dog sledding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boyne Highlands Resort

Save Saved
You added Boyne Highlands Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boyne Highlands Resort
600 Highland Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Skiing, snow shoeing and dog sledding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Close, clean, organized, fun, efficient, friendly, beautiful, peaceful, relaxing and all just before Christmas hell week. Had gone last year for New Year's Eve weekend and it was packed and crowded; had fun anyway, but we prefer more people space

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    49
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
45
25
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillette, Wyoming
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife, family and I have been raving fans of the Boyne Highlands staff, mountain, and golf courses. We've visited and stayed for over 20 YEARS! Ten's of thousands of dollars($). Unfortunately our trip this weekend will likely be our last as house guests until the main lodge room (338) is properly maintained. Boyne management obviously feels like it makes better economic sense to invest in a Zip-Line or Segways(sp?), than update their hotel rooms. If it was a $69.95 Knights Inn I'd not complain, but $200 a night out-of-season is a shame. Flat screen TV without HD. Shower curtain rod pulling out of the wall, sink that "barely" drains, weak toilet flush, 1980's faux gold fixtures that have the finish worn off they've been cleaned so many times, swimming pool no longer hot, Slopeside Lounge service abysmal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Booked golf trip - not a bad place. Very clean, good service, lots to do (esp for family!) Rooms a bit dated. Lots of work going on (roofing)... Overall could be a bit nicer for a higher rating. Also had shuttle to casino (believe it was 20 or so min trip.)

Room Tip: Lots to choose from - do your research!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farwell, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at Bartley House, which apparently has the largest hot tub in the midwest - it's the size of a pool! It was amazing after hours on the road on our bikes. The room was plenty large enough, it was clean and comfortable. There were 4 of us per room, so it was a bit tight but all we needed was some place to shower and sleep. I wish they'd delivered pizza from the bar to the hotel, but it was only a short walk to the main lodge and bar. Not being in the main lodge, we didn't hear much noise from the bar; when we walked over there, it wasn't very busy and they had a decent band. Would be more than happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Nothing pretentious yet everything we needed for a very relaxing golf vacation. Golf and stay packages are great value, feels like you are in the middle of the wilderness with all the amenities of home.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Wife and I went to this resort in August of 2013. Stayed in the hotel on first floor. Rooms were small and cramped. Bed linens were very nice. HD TV and a little fridge. Layout was odd there is a step down on all first floor rooms. The resort must have been sued over this because they warned us when we checked in and attached a red notice to our room paper work when we checked in to be "careful" watch out for the step. We laughed as we went into the room. Sure enough my wife tripped coming out of the really small bathroom. It is really a bad design. Played golf on the Heathers. Easy but pretty track. Nothing out of the ordinary compared to other up north resorts. If I were going to go away for a golf weekend, I would not come here. This is a ski resort.

Room Tip: Stay on the side with the hill or overlooking the pool. Do not stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you need just a place to lay your head and do not mind noise then this is the place for you. We arrived late 12:15am we walked in to register and the bar was so loud it was evident there were lots of loud drunks in the bar. We commented on the fact there must be a big party and the front desk clerk smiles laughed and said its Friday night. He assigned us room in the Bartley House. He told use to take the second right and we would be there. Once we found the place we looked for parking. No lighting in the lots so we ended up parking slightly away from the Bartley house but it felt safer and had a little lighting. We walked over to the entrance of the Bartley house where a truck full of loud people at the entrance. we opened the door of the building to be greeted by a group of very drunk men and one who worried us a little from his comments and the fact we were did not want to join them for a drink. We finally got to sleep and someone knocked on the door we did not answer. The most irritating thing was at 0500am both mornings the sprinkler system would hit the windows and jolt us awake--and we were on the top floor. When I mentioned this to the front desk they said well how was your stay and just blew it off. Would I stay again problem not it was a get away for my birthday which was a nice surprise but will not stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boyne Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Highlands Resort

Address: 600 Highland Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Location: United States > Michigan > Harbor Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English country estate charm and elegance of Boyne Highlands Resort Is captured in this Mid-West hospitality. A total of 165 rooms plus 172 unit condominium hotel, private condominiums and golf side cottages will comfortably house up to 12 guests. World class accommodations ranging from studio rooms to elegant suites and townhouses are complete with every imaginable amenity. Boyne Highlands is now a non-smoking resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Boyne Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Highlands Hotel Harbor Springs
Boyne Highland Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boyne Highlands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.