We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay In the Ross Cottages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boyne Highlands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boyne Highlands Resort to your Saves list
Boyne Highlands Resort
600 Highland Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stay In the Ross Cottages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Because they are great! Three bedrooms, three baths, CLEAN and spacious, with outdoor space, loads of storage, a full kitchen, two TVs....for a larger group, this is UNBEATABLE. You feel like you're in your own little house...BECAUSE YOU ARE. A bit far from the lodge, so I don't quite know how it works if you're skiing and it's snowing, but we had a magnificent time. The overall property itself is GORGEOUS.

Note: check in is at 6pm, which is insanely late. Try to get early check-in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    58
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
56
28
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Boyne Highlands is a beautiful property for skiing, golf and assorted other outdoor activities. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is extremely friendly. The golf courses are truly stunning and not to be missed. The hotel itself, while clean, is dated and the rooms are in need of more modern amenities. This is especially true if you happen to be in the area for business. This notwithstanding, I enjoyed my stay at Boyne Highlands.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

OK - the main lodge has obviously been around for awhile, so the rooms and furnishings are a bit tired and out-dated. But it is a charming place, the rooms are spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Great water pressure and plenty of hot water for showers (although adjusting the temp was a little tricky). If you're going to play golf (as we did), the accommodations are more than adequate... After 36 holes a day, all you want is a hot shower, a good meal and a comfortable bed. The courses are absolutely gorgeous... Especially the Bay Harbor Quarry and Links with Lake Michigan views (GPS on the carts at these courses -key!) And Arthur Hills course with the majestic pines - wow. Hidden River was also a really nice and well maintained course with a very nice pro shop. The service at all the courses was top notch. As for eats... Don't miss the Brutus Camp Deli right up the road from Hidden River for great sandwiches. And Teddy Griffin's steakhouse right down the road had fabulous steaks. And the pizza at the main lodge (we had smoked chicken) was absolutely great. We'll be back next year!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
372 reviews 372 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Rooms are nicely decorated, setting is scenic, nice outside pool. Staff are efficient; housekeeping staff are pleasant, beds & pillows are very comfortable. I like the 4th floor rooms with the 'niche' for the bed; but watch your head walking along the side of the bed, the ceilings are lower than you may think. Unless you eat there you do have a relatively short to a long drive for a restaurant. The breakfast brunch at their restaurant has two options: fruit, cereal, bagels, etc or a full breakfast including made-to-order omelets. Either option is pricey; what they don't tell you - and we found out later - is you can order off a menu which, if you are a lighter eater, is much less expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My teenage son and I stayed here during the summer while on a golf trip. It is a beautiful setting with ivy and flowers growing everywhere. Pool and jacuzzi were great. The staff is friendly and the rooms were really comfortable. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is our 5th ski season here at the Highlands and we love it! Usually there are about 5-6 adults and you can't beat the value. They have a good variety of terrain (as we have people of all different levels in our groups). We usually stay for 6 days and like that we can swing over to Boyne mountain (highland lift ticket is good at both!)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great beds. Nice white linens...good coffee....beautiful grounds.....nice bath products....

When we checked in, we were given a very small room over the pool. I let the desk know. I was unhappy, and they gave me another room on the top floor. Much larger, but was not told it was a handicapped room, and had no bath tub or night stands. Guess the rooms vary a lot, but the ones on the top floor seem to be the most interesting because of roof configuration..

shower took five minutes to get hot!

Service was fine, but when we checked out, i was overcharged over $150.00. Thank goodness I had saved my written confirmation, but still checking out was a a hassle. No apology, and it took so long, we almost missed our tee time!

Oh, and...someone woke us up, by knocking on the door ar 6:20, to tell us their board said our smoke dector was going off. Needless to say, we did not get back to sleep! No apology there either.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boyne Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Highlands Resort

Address: 600 Highland Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Harbor Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English country estate charm and elegance of Boyne Highlands Resort Is captured in this Mid-West hospitality. A total of 165 rooms plus 172 unit condominium hotel, private condominiums and golf side cottages will comfortably house up to 12 guests. World class accommodations ranging from studio rooms to elegant suites and townhouses are complete with every imaginable amenity. Boyne Highlands is now a non-smoking resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Boyne Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Highlands Hotel Harbor Springs
Boyne Highland Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boyne Highlands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.