We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ski vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boyne Highlands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boyne Highlands Resort to your Saves list
Boyne Highlands Resort
600 Highland Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice ski vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We normally ski Boyne Mountain, but decided to ski the Highlands this time. The staff is very friendly and the conditions were good. Although the Mountain offers more "steeps", the Highlands offers a similar experience.

We noticed the outdoor pool is significantly warmer than Mountain. Overall, the food is very good at each restaurant, and the cafeteria food is well.....cafeteria food. We stayed at the main lodge which although satisfactory, it is probably time for a renovation (including the bathrooms). The pull out beds are very uncomfortable for an adult.

Room Tip: Although not in the main lodge, the Heather Highland Rooms are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    62
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
59
33
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This is our 4th year at Boyne Highlands. Experience is overall excellent with great skiing and boarding, great accomadations, food, and a friendly and helpful staff. We have stayed at the Heather Highlands Inn every year and it is excellent. Lofts are very well done, plenty of space for a family and right next to main building with restaurants and ski check ins. The overnight packages that include your room, ski/boarding pass and all you can eat breakfast are an outstanding value. Remember to book early and save even more. We ski Blue Mountain in Canada as well which is alot of fun. What is included for the cost however, at Boyne Highlands is much better.

Room Tip: If you have more than 4 in your group, I highly recommend the loft rooms on the 3rd floor at the Hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Boyne offers wonderful lodging, dining, and skiing all in one convenient location. Once we park our car on Sunday we do not leave for a week. It is so relaxing to let the wonderful people of Boyne pamper you and make you feel at home! Downhill and crosscountry skiing, horseback and dogsled riding are just a few of the activities we enjoy while staying at Boyne.

Room Tip: The junior suites have ample space for spreading out your gear without feeling like you are in a cra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Boyne Highlands ski resort in Harbor Springs Michigan was like staying at Disney. The ENTIRE staff was wonderful! the skiing conditions were great, the accomadations were great the food was great. They make your stay there very enjoyable. The rental ski rental process was quick and efficient, this lift lines were quick, the dining room service was friendly and fast.
The beds in the rooms were the best we have ever experienced. We had an awesome time!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

great resort, extremely friendly people, great food, great snow conditions and lifts.
best place I have ever been regarding the ski hire, the guys were very helpful and knowledgable.
house was fab, and the resort was clean, tidy, quiet and very freindly

loved it

Room Tip: Go in early January, we went on the 3rd and it was very quiet, great snow and conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I planned a last minute trip up here because of the good ski and stay deal. I have never been here before so when I booked over the phone I told them it did not matter if we stayed at the Mountain or Highlands. They put us at the Bartley House which looks pretty okay online. We got here early and skiied, they had FREE skiing for customer appreciation. Went to check in inside of the Bartley House and NO ONE was there. No register or anything. So we had to drive all the way to the Main Lodge after making a phone call to the reservation desk since they had not directed us where to go. After checking in, and taking our bags back out of the car, we had a nice 3 story stair trip to our room. We ran into someone telling us we were the ONLY people in the entire hotel. Got to our room and our TV didnt work, and frankly we kind of got the eeby geebys by being the only ones there. Made a phone call and they were nice enough to upgrade us to the Main Lodge at no additional cost. So besides a lot of packing and unpacking our bags, it was totally worth it.

We ended up spending about half what we would have normally if we didn't luck out, but it was nice for two days of skiing and one overnight stay. The Mountain seems to have the WAY nicer rooms though.

Room Tip: Stay at the Main Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Enjoyed this stay, had good snow for 3 of 4 days, grooming is regularly done. lifts quick and not too crowded. nice assortment of runs. loved the sweet potatoe wedges at Slopeside

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbor Springs
3.4 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 4 in Harbor Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Crooked River Lodge
Crooked River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Alanson
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
6.6 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Highlands Resort

Address: 600 Highland Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Harbor Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English country estate charm and elegance of Boyne Highlands Resort Is captured in this Mid-West hospitality. A total of 165 rooms plus 172 unit condominium hotel, private condominiums and golf side cottages will comfortably house up to 12 guests. World class accommodations ranging from studio rooms to elegant suites and townhouses are complete with every imaginable amenity. Boyne Highlands is now a non-smoking resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Boyne Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Highlands Hotel Harbor Springs
Boyne Highland Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boyne Highlands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.