We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boyne Highlands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boyne Highlands Resort to your Saves list
Boyne Highlands Resort
600 Highland Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We’ve stayed at Boyne Highlands before, always choosing the Main Lodge for accommodations which we’ve always been pleased with. The rooms in the lodge have character and have a certain charm to them. It seems that we generally end up on the third (top) floor which means the rooms have sloping ceilings and smaller windows but that they also are unique. The beds have been cozy and the views of the slopes beautiful even in the summer (which is when we’ve stayed).

We’ve enjoyed being able to sit outside at the base of the slopes and enjoy the ‘smore making evenings as well as a drink from the bar even if it means fighting off summer’s mosquitoes in order to enjoy a starlit night. This last trip we took advantage of the complimentary lift tickets to go to the top in order to enjoy amazing views of the landscape around us. Perhaps the best part of the view is what can only be called the million dollar vista of the bay off in the distance, seeing the shimmering blue water under a bright sunny sky was truly a treat! I’d also say that the mountain bikers really do have it made there; it seemed to me that the trails looked well groomed and offered plenty of opportunity to justify a dual suspension bike. I must admit that the next time we have mountain bikes with us I’d be tempted to try my hand on these awesome downhill trails. Yes, they rent bikes but frankly I’d like to spend some more time on the trails at home before taking on the challenges that these offer. I was also surprised that there weren’t more mountain bikers; this makes these trails a quiet treasure.

I called this review a mixed bag and I’ll now turn to the reasons why. I began this review with favorable comments about staying in the main lodge, to which we’d happily return, and so I’ll offer my opinions on our most recent stay in the Heather Highlands –Inverness. I can’t say that we were overly impressed with our stay in this section of the resort. It’s not that it was bad; it just wasn’t on par with our previous visits. Yes, it was $50 a night less expensive but to be frank, the savings were not worth it.

The Heather Highlands is seemingly two buildings that are perpendicular and connected to form a backwards L. When you initially drive around the loop from the main lodge you see the first section along with a well hidden parking lot to the side. In order to reach the other section, call it the base of the “L” you turn into an entryway a little further along and your initial reaction is that you’ve made a wrong turn. There you’ll see a collection of housekeeping and maintenance vehicles as well as an unusually empty lot, not nearly as welcoming as the main lodge. The entry into the building is from a side door at the base of the building and is without much fanfare, this section of the resort is perhaps a little more “tired” the hallways are painted a dark green which make them seem a bit darker than they ought to be. Turning the key and opening the door to the “suite” you’ll find a very typical hotel room; closet, small sink, microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator housed in a section of kitchen cabinetry that also holds some glassware, flatware and silverware. While the carpet looks new the rest of the room could use an update, the queen beds seemed more like doubles to me and were quite firm, not a bad thing, just an observation. There is a sliding glass door-wall that opens out onto a balcony which is shared with the adjoining room. This adjoined situation is apparently what creates the suite. There is a two door arrangements that separates the rooms however this does little to isolate sounds between the rooms, it was very easy to hear conversations in the other room which is disappointing.

What was also disappointing was that our confirmation, as quoted below, was for a suite:

“Inverness Suite - one bedroom condo with two queen beds in bedroom, one king murphy bed and one queen sleeper sofa in living area, gas fireplace, kitchenette and two bathrooms.”

When we inquired at the front desk as to the discrepancy between our confirmation and our room we were told that the other half of the suite was the adjoining room with the Murphy bed, sofa, living area and gas fireplace. Apparently that also meant that the people in that room didn’t even have a regular bed! We were told that despite our reservation and confirmation, we would have to pay “extra” for that section, which seems odd since it was what was confirmed.

Ultimately, the Inverness “room” was adequate though potentially noisy depending on neighbors. It was a little dated and frankly not as charming as the main lodge. Would we stay in the Heather Highlands again? Maybe, but only if we had the complete suite, not just one of the halves. Would we stay in the Main Lodge, yes, absolutely since we’ve always enjoyed it. Hence the mixed bag, beautiful setting, very relaxing with abundant recreational opportunities however the quality of your stay will be dictated by the section of the resort in which you stay. So while I give high marks to the Main Lodge I give average to lower marks for the Heather Highlands.

Room Tip: Stay in the Main Lodge, I'd rate this as excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    58
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
56
28
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We traveled to Boyne Highlands for our wedding anniversary. Overall it was a wonderful trip to a great resort. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. We loved the golf packages that made it affordable to golf the beautiful courses. When we weren't golfing we loved all the free activities at the resort - tennis, par 3 course, putt putt, bean bag toss, ladder golf, bonfire, chair lift rides, boats and more! The restaurants were good and nearby Harbor Springs and Petosky are beautiful! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The room in the lodge at Boyne Highlands nicely decorated and well kept. The room had 2 double beds, a television, a separate sink and a narrow shower and toilet area. It was very hot during our visit, but the air conditioning worked like a champ keeping us very cool. It worked so well that in the middle of the night we a;lmost felt too cool.
The weight room was nice and the pool very busy. There was a little 3 par course near the lodge, a putting course, and a pond for paddle boats and kayaks.

The staff takes advantage of the ski lifts during the summer with Zip Line adventures. Looked like fun. $25 for 2 1370 feet zips.

The golf was good. We played the MOOR, Hidden River, and Crooked Tree. Nice courses.

We had a nice dinner inside at Teddy Griffith's one night and outside at Stafford's in Harbor Springs, the next.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Nice resort. We stayed 4th of July weekend. Because of certain circumstances I had to make late reservations therefore we took what was available. Our room was in a separate building on the third floor building had no elevator. Our room came with no coffee pot. Small fridge no microwave. Breakfast not included.Since we were on the third floor , our room was slanted like an attic room. This room cost the most out of all the rooms we stayed on on our 5 day Michigan trip. the room was clean , bed comfortable, the rooms are out dated. No breakfast included. Behind our building was a very large hot tub the size of a swimming pool, very nice. The lounge was nice , great pizza. The resort had nice touches. The main lodge was awesome. Great if you have children. Outdoor paddle boats, kayak no charge, Zip line is extra. Complimentary s mores at night. The grounds and amenities were great. We were miles from the beach, and Harbor springs that was my fault I will look at map better next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I've stayed at Boyne Highlands for 6 years in a row on golf trips with buddies. This year my family decided to stay there for a summer getaway. We stayed at the Heather Highlands Inn which suited our needs perfectly. Our room was a bit dated but plenty of space, kitchenette, and clean.

I have two sons, 14 and 12, who kept busy with the Par 3 golf, mini golf, tennis, corn hole, and swimming pool. We did go on some daily excursions to Petoskey State Park (be prepared it is much cooler right on the lake) and Harbor Springs. It was great to escape the 95 degree heat we've had in Indiana to 75 degrees and no humidity.

We did have a great time on the Zip Line Tour. The Guides were great and we all had a lot of fun working our way back down the mountain. I will definitely be talking my golf buddies into going down the twin zip lines upside down when I go back for golf in August.

All in all a very good place to go if you have an active family or even want to feel like you want to get away.

Room Tip: Harbor Springs is a nice trip. It's postcard perfect with all the houses and shops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

For the last 5 years my friend and I have been going to Boyne for the Gr8T Escape Golf package and it's been a fabulous experience every year! The staff is super and the golf courses are just amazing. I would recommend this resort to anyone and yes, we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed in the Bartley House recently while on a business trip. The rooms are nice. Decor is a little dated. The breakfast buffet in the main lodge is wonderful, but a little pricey. The showers in the rooms were apparently designed for someone about 4' tall. It looks like a really nice place to play golf, but I didn't get a chance to try.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boyne Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Highlands Resort

Address: 600 Highland Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Harbor Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English country estate charm and elegance of Boyne Highlands Resort Is captured in this Mid-West hospitality. A total of 165 rooms plus 172 unit condominium hotel, private condominiums and golf side cottages will comfortably house up to 12 guests. World class accommodations ranging from studio rooms to elegant suites and townhouses are complete with every imaginable amenity. Boyne Highlands is now a non-smoking resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Boyne Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Highlands Hotel Harbor Springs
Boyne Highland Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boyne Highlands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.