We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Suites Victoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Suites Victoria to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Suites Victoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4670 Elk Lake Drive, Saanich, British Columbia V8Z 5M2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saanich
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    41
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
13
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cobourg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this location twice now and felt it time to review! Both times we had our two small dogs with us and both times we stayed in the older part of the hotel which is accessible only from outside. This is preferable for us- easy access to the outdoors for the pups. The rooms are on the larger size, and both times they were very clean. The pet fee was $15/night no matter the length of the stay. We did not make reservations, and decided to try our luck on a Friday night, they were able to accommodate us, however, when we checked online on their website, we realized the rate we were given in the lobby was approximately 25% higher. Decent location, it's right off the highway and very close to a dog park (it's just down the road). The parking situation is not great especially if you're staying in the older part of the hotel. We had to temporarily park beside the stairs and canary our luggage etc. up first (because we had so much of it) and then park our car in the lot afterward... I can see parking only being N issue if you have a room in the old part of the hotel. We had originally booked for two nights, but due to the cost checked out after only one night and moved to a different hotel right in the city for a much better rate- also more updated and room is just as big.
All in all, the experience was decent, maybe good, but it wouldn't be my first choice of places to stay if I come back to the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTrowbridgeManager, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Suites Victoria, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Good Day ihearfood2012,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria. I am sorry that we did not quite hit the mark with regards to location and type of room for you and your family. Our pet friendly rooms are located in a separate area of the hotel for ease of access to the outdoors. The hotel does have an elevator and carts available providing access to all guest rooms. I am sorry that the front desk staff did not provide information about parking and access to your room.

Thank you again for posting your comments
Sincerely
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Staff were friendly and helpful.

The room was clean, spacious, well laid out and comfortable. It even had decent reading lights.

There was a separate router for each room for WIFI so connectivity was the best ever.

Room Tip: The onsite restaurant serves a fabulous breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTrowbridgeManager, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Suites Victoria, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
ood Day
Thank you very much for our kind words about your recent stay with us at the Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites in Victoria. Yes we have just recently installed the separate routers in each guest room for high speed WiFi. I am very happy that is worked well for you.
Thanks again
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed at the Elk Lake Howard Johnson for 2 nights. The location was close to airport and close to everything you may need (grocery, shoppers, food)
My room was clean and spacious, I had a pool side room. Staff were very friendly. The only thing I was disappointed with was no room service. I would definitely stay and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: my room was on main floor close to lobby. I was fine with the noise but if you like quiet I would r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTrowbridgeManager, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Suites Victoria, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Good Day
We are so very happy that you did enjoy your stay with us. The staff take great pride in providing clean and comfortable accommodation. I am so very sorry that the front desk and restaurant staff did not mention that the restaurant does to go service to guest rooms. We do not have staff to deliver food to the guest rooms - but we do certainly provide food service for pick up to take to the rooms.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments online
Sincerely
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Being right next door to the pool makes this an obvious choice for team travel for swim meets; however, it was the other things that made this even better. The room had a small kitchen, the grocery store is across the street, there is a great coffee shop down the street and it is right off the highway for convenient navigation. I like this place and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTrowbridgeManager, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Suites Victoria, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Good Day John,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. With our great location to surrounding services and venues - we host many teams for sporting events while in Victoria.
We are very happy that the room fit your needs during your stay. The staff really enjoy hosting a variety of teams while in Victoria. Thank you again and we look forward seeing you again in Victoria.
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Been coming here for the past 5 yrswhen visiting my mom. Its so handy with the bus and the ferry. The staff are friendly and professional. The rooms are always clean. Never been disappointed with stay or the food at The Lakes.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTrowbridgeManager, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Suites Victoria, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Good Day Teresa,
We are all so very happy that you have enjoyed your visits to the hotel over the years. The hotel staff really take pride in providing a great place to sleep and enjoy a great meal.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Suites Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Suites Victoria

Address: 4670 Elk Lake Drive, Saanich, British Columbia V8Z 5M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saanich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Suites Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In close proximity to everything you want to do and see in Victoria, the Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites on Elk Lake is your alternative to being downtown. Whether travelling to Victoria on business or pleasure you will find our hotel rooms both spacious and well equipped to ensure a relaxing stay. Our rooms include all the little things that add up to a better quality of life on the road. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking, weekday newspapers, in-room voice mail, high-speed wireless and wired internet, and all in a 100% smoke-free accommodation. Plunge into one of the only seasonal outdoor heated pools in Victoria or soak your stress away in our jacuzzi. Our restaurant, The Lakes Grillhouse and Bar is sure to have exactly what your craving for Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner; or watch the game over a beverage in our lounge. Our award winning property and our staff will do their best to make our stay with us a memorable one. We looking forward to seeing you here in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Suites Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Suites Victoria Hotel Victoria
Howard Johnson Victoria
Victoria Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Suites Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.