We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swedish pancakes reason enough to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luisa's Cafe and Swedish Bakery

Luisa's Cafe and Swedish Bakery
13689 Red Arrow Highway, Harbert, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Harbert
Cuisines: Swedish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Chicago, IL, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Swedish pancakes reason enough to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Anyone with any history in SW Michigan knows the place to go for onion rolls, limpa, kolachys, Danish and elephant ears is the Swedish Bakery on the Red Arrow in Harbert. The third generation of our family now loves their baked goods. When the current owner opened a cafe adjacent to the bakery she made a great place even better. Don't miss her Swedish pancakes with lingonberries, fresh OJ, great frittatas, lentils with sausage and honest cafe latte served in a French bowl. Only open for breakfast and lunch, Luisa's (named for the owner's mom, who oversees the bakery operation, has become a local favorite no visitor to Harbor Country should miss.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Open for breakfast and lunch. Small and crowded during season but not any worse than the other good breakfast places here. Very pleasant atmosphere, good service and food. They also have a large bakery with tasty sweet rolls, doughnuts, brownies, etc. A little pricy but worth the price. You will enjoy.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Harbor Country Haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We fell in to this place heading up Red Arrow Highway on the way to Lost Dunes Golf Club.
We looked at the glass cases of freshly baked pastries, then saw the menu at the attached Cafe...and it was love at first site. We stuck with the breakfast menu, and everything was delightful...including the wait staff.
Try the Swedish Pancakes or the egg scramble. Chicken sausage (not a typo) was great.
Comfortable, friendly and delicious. So put on your favorite softest pair of blue jeans and head over.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lincheon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My wife and I had crabcakes. I also had a chowder with duck. Both absolutely delicious. For years we have been coming up to this area and never dined here. Will be back soon!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Swedish pancakes at Luisa's are unbelievable. Specialty pancakes are also just great. We generally go there on Sunday for brunch and it can be crowded at that time, but the wait in not generally long. Great place to stop in you are in Harbor Country.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luisa's Cafe and Swedish Bakery also viewed

Harbert, Berrien County
Sawyer, Berrien County
 
Harbert, Berrien County
Union Pier, Berrien County
 

Been to Luisa's Cafe and Swedish Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luisa's Cafe and Swedish Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.