We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbor Country Haven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luisa's Cafe and Swedish Bakery

Luisa's Cafe and Swedish Bakery
13689 Red Arrow Highway, Harbert, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Harbert
Cuisines: Swedish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Harbor Country Haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We fell in to this place heading up Red Arrow Highway on the way to Lost Dunes Golf Club.
We looked at the glass cases of freshly baked pastries, then saw the menu at the attached Cafe...and it was love at first site. We stuck with the breakfast menu, and everything was delightful...including the wait staff.
Try the Swedish Pancakes or the egg scramble. Chicken sausage (not a typo) was great.
Comfortable, friendly and delicious. So put on your favorite softest pair of blue jeans and head over.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lincheon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My wife and I had crabcakes. I also had a chowder with duck. Both absolutely delicious. For years we have been coming up to this area and never dined here. Will be back soon!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Swedish pancakes at Luisa's are unbelievable. Specialty pancakes are also just great. We generally go there on Sunday for brunch and it can be crowded at that time, but the wait in not generally long. Great place to stop in you are in Harbor Country.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A "MUST VISIT"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I hadn't been here in several years but I have noticed the increase of cars when I drive by on occasion. A unique little place in a very small beach town but definitely worth the trip if you're anywhere in the area. It was pretty busy so we took a table in the corner on the porch where we were comfortable but close enough to get to know the couple at the table next to us. The cafe is attached to a real bakery where the goods are made by hand daily. The bakery is closed in the winter months but the cafe is open almost all year round. We tried the dutch apple pancake which wasn't quite as good as last time but still very good. The carrot cake waffle was DELICIOUS!! Crispy on the outside, tender on the inside and hot enough to make the butter melt instantly. You could taste the carrot and the cinnamon. The coffee was excellent too. They were a little short staffed but still friendly and attentive. I'll be going back soon for a refill!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Pier, Michigan, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Busy and worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We love the Swedish Pancakes. And, try the crab cakes. So good.
Pies and pastries in the bakery, but our favorite is the Limpa Bread.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luisa's Cafe and Swedish Bakery also viewed

Sawyer, Berrien County
Harbert, Berrien County
 
Harbert, Berrien County
Union Pier, Berrien County
 

Been to Luisa's Cafe and Swedish Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luisa's Cafe and Swedish Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.