We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B - Nancy's hospitality exceeded our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbert House B&B

Harbert House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbert House B&B
Save Saved
You added Harbert House B&B to your Saves list
13827 Prairie Rd, PO Box 8, Harbert, MI 49115   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Harbert B&B and Inns
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great B&B - Nancy's hospitality exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Convenient location right off Red Arrow Highway. Nancy was a wonderful host - friendly and hospitable, offering helpful information on the area, and a lovely chef. Room was clean, tastefully appointed, with a comfortable bed. Breakfast and hors d'oeuvres were tasty and made with local ingredients, not your average fare. Thank you for a lovely stay, Nancy!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We had stayed in Harbor Country a few times before, but never in Harbert or the Harbret House B&B. We chose this inn based on it's location and good reviews on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The rooms themselves were very pretty. Nancy, the owner, clearly put a lot of thought into all the details as each one was decorated differently in its own theme. We stayed in the Sun Room. The Pear Room, which was a little larger than the Sun Room, also looked very nice. But the best part of the house were the common areas. It has a huge common area with a selection of books and games, which came in handy when we had a very rainy day during our stay.

Nancy also cooked us breakfast, and the food was great. You can tell she used to be a caterer. If you just want your standard Jimmy Dean sausage and hash browns or are a fussy eater, you might be disappointed, but if you like good food, you won't be. There's no menu to select from. One day, Nancy served home made coffee cake and waffles, both of which were great. The next day was an egg streudel with locally grown, in season asparagus wrapped in bacon.

The location was also perfect as it's right off Red Arrow Highway, the main highway in the area, near a lot of galleries and not far from New Buffalo. It's about a mile from the beach so close enough to easily drive there but not right on it so it's not the place for you if you want to walk to the beach for several days straight.

All in all, if you're looking for a good B&B in a convenient location in Harbor Country to have a leisurely vacation, this is a great spot and I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We spent one night at Harbert House on May 14. The B&B owner, Nancy Watson, had previously catered several parties for us. She was incredibly accommodating as we arrived at almost midnight. Her B&B is quiet and relaxing; each room has a specific theme. We stayed in the "Pear Room" with lots of Pear nick-nacks in the room. We had a late breakfast which was totally delicious. We had time to catch up with Nancy as well. She gave us recommendations for where to go in Harbert and neighboring towns. Despite a deluge on the way to her B&B and rain while we were there, we had fun visiting some of the cute shops in the nearby area. It would be a nice place to bike ride if the weather had cooperated. The B&B isn't on the beach, but one could ride a bike or walk there. We would definitely go back if we're in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Nancy is a great host who sincerely enjoys her guests. She takes time to talk to everyone & makes them feel welcome, even introduces the guests to the others. The inn is spotless, filled with artwork & even some of Nancy's personal collections. Breakfast is served whenever you want it, and a bonus was a glass of wine for happy hour. We've driven thru Harbert before, but now we've found a reason to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
531 reviews 531 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

While exploring the Lake Michigan shore line towns in Michigan we spent a night at the Harbert House B&B. Nancy is a very cordial hostess and serves a delicious breakfast. She also gave us some great suggestions for dining the evening we were in the area. The B&B is about a mile from the beach, but quiet and convenient to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Our family had a get-together in Harbert and I arranged for my parents to stay at the Harbert House B & B. Nancy was a wonderful hostess. The rooms are lovely--all with their own bath. She was helpful with tips on the area too. Very convenient to Red Arrow Hwy. and the whole Harbert/Sawyer/Lakeside area. They loved the breakfasts she served and there was wireless internet too. Would definitely go back and recommend this B & B to others!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All across the U.S.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

What a wonderful B&B! After visiting New Buffalo, Michigan and surrounding towns, we were tired of the ordinary hotel and resorts. Located in Harbert, Michigan, Nancy Watson has found a perfect way to have her guests enjoy the beauty of Michigan while giving each guest a sense of "family". Upon our arrival, there were freshly made hors'd oeuvres and she served guests their choice of wines or a cocktail. At breakfast, the spinach fritta and fresh asparagus encased in ham was tastefully placed on breakfast plates along with fresh cut cantalope. She made a wonderful rhubarb/blueberry coffee cake that was served with imported coffee. Also, the strawberry breakfast smoothie was wonderful. Each of her rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculate. She has a gift for placing perfect collections in each themed bedroom. The living and dining rooms, along with an enclosed porch, all have scenic views. The outside front porch was perfect for our reading pleasure. You could walk to Lake Michigan in 20 minutes, drive to casinos, visit wineries, or take in the countless art galleries. Several excellent restaurants are nearby. Oh.... we also spotted 2 deer lazily sitting under one of trees in her backyard. We didn't want to leave! Definitely will be back.....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbert House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbert House B&B

Address: 13827 Prairie Rd, PO Box 8, Harbert, MI 49115
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Harbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Harbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful place to spend a weekend away! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbert House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.