We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Detailed Tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quincy Mine

Quincy Mine
49750 US Highway 41, Hancock, MI 49930
906 482-3101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Hancock
Type: Historic Sites, Mines, Cultural
Attraction details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Detailed Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We checked out this mine on our way up to Copper Harbor. We were not disappointed. They give you a nice ride down to the mine. Once there they give you a detailed explanation of the area, the mine and history. Then a ride into the mine itself. Our guide gave a great presentation of the life of the miners and what it was like working in there. (God bless them!) After that they moved on back up the hill and while you waited showed a video of the area history before they took you to the hoist building. There they had another very detailed history and explanation of this building which was quite interesting. We had kids 13 & 15 with us and they learned a lot. Definitely got our money's worth on this tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    27
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hancock, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

A great bar! Food and prices are average. Sunday turkey dinner is a good deal. Friday fish dinners are great. Gets crowded.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An interesting stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

While this tour may not be much fun for kids, there should be enough to see to keep them from getting too restless.

The tour starts with the donning of hard hats and jackets and proceeds to a guided tour of the steam hoist and the history of copper mining in Michigan. After that, you head down hill on the cog railway, switch to a tractor and are taken inside the mine where another guide gives you more info on the tools and methods used in copper mining. It is interesting and just different enough from the Soudan Mine tour in Minnesota to make it worthwhile even if you have done a mine tour in the past.

The ruins are interesting to walk around, there is still a company house to look in, and if nothing else (or your time is limited/you hate the idea of being underground) stop by to walk around the few places you can access as a non-ticket holder.

Obligatory gift shop, with pressed pennies (if you are into such things).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, WI
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very interesting and educational tour of what once was a large copper mine. Highlights include a look at the huge steam hoist, a trip down a steep hill on a cog railway, and a trip into the mine itself. Well worth our time and money.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good history lesion in engineering and life in the U.P.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Buy your ticket and leave time to walk around and look and the ruins, bring a coat it will be cold in the mine. If you like engineering the lift house engine is a must see it is amazing even at today’s standards, most of this will be a guided tour and they will take you down the hill and into a mine, I thought the diesel tractor pulling a wagon into the mine was a little cheesy but that was not an issue, If you see someone with a young kid do not go in that tour wait, we had a crying kid on our tour and you could not hear the guide because of it…..people leave your young ones at home!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quincy Mine also viewed

 
Grand Marais, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Quincy Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quincy Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.