We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise after surprise...good ones!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blufin Sushi Bar

Blufin Sushi Bar
18584 Mack Avenue, Grosse Pointe, MI 48236
313-332-0050
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Sushi, Pacific Rim
Restaurant details
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Surprise after surprise...good ones!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My daughter insisted on sushi so thanks to Groupon, we ventured off to Blufin. 1st surprise was the small size of the venue...which created a wait of about 1.5 hours. Sounds like a long time but it was Friday and besides the short sushi bar, there were about 5 tables. So, I ordered the OMG Roll...and OMG..this was so good...eel and tuna was the highlight of this roll. Last, FRIED Oreos...what a sinful and delicious surprise!

I loved the experience...oh, happy hour starts at 9pm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This place is cute. It's new to GP. The decor is well done. The place is a little small, but it's ok. I got a groupon to go there and the service was good and the sushi was good too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise in my own backyard!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

First time eating at Blufin Sushi Bar and definitely plan to return. We ordered four different rolls and each one was fresh, delicious and beautifully presented.Salads were fresh and a nice size. Only negative side is dining outside the tables tend to be a bit small for larger groups and we felt a bit cramped.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse pointe woods
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Excellent ambiance, food and service. Fresh ingredients well prepared and everything we tasted was delicious. Rock shrimp with a sweet chili sauce was a special, and I hope they put it on the regular menu. Besides sushi you can order full meals and sliders. I would recommend the oriental salad highly.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blufin Sushi Bar also viewed

Grosse Pointe, MI
 

Been to Blufin Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blufin Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.