We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & local” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
City Kitchen
16844 Kercheval Ave, Grosse Pointe, MI 48230-1533
313-882-6667
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Fairview, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Nice & local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Good food, nice atmosphere, friendly service. Downstairs room for larger parties. Nice assortment of appetizers. From soup & salad to full meal, all was good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great local choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Nice menu, always lots of choices. Comfortable upscale Resteraunt that has good food in a nice setting.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“WAY over-rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

we went on a Saturday night-very busy and the "manager" seemed flustered. Very brusk in greeting and seating. Since we sat next to the front door we could see everyone who entered and his attitude was not an anomoly-everyone was greeted in the same fashion.
It took 12 minutes for our waiter to come to the table NEXT to us, speak to them about his kids for 10 minutes and then acknowledge our existence. This particular treatment went on throughout the meal, as he checked on us once to say that our dinner had to be remade (well, it took a half hour to get to the table to tell us about the kitchen mistake, another 20 for the mediocre food to arrive). The table next to us was complaining about how long it took for their food to arrive. Hmmmmmmmmm.
We were disappointed with our visit, but still tipped the waiter 20%. Maybe we'll try it again, but I doubt it...BTW, the busser was the BEST part of the evening-professional and fast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Had a girl's night out recently when I went back home for a visit! What a great surprise to see so many restaurants now occupy the Village. This is one I will definitely visit on my next trip!

The atmosphere nice, staff efficient, food very good and ran into a few old friends that were also home for a visit!

The perch was good and fresh!

You won't be disappointed by the expansive menu!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Grosse Pointe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We eat at City Kitchen on a regular basis because it has good food (wide selection of meat, fish, salads, custom pizza--- all freshly prepared) at a reasonable price in a setting that is geared toward an adult night out, but still family friendly. Staff is friendly and helpful. Good wine and dessert selections. Best of all we see people we know every time we dine at City Kitchen because it is a Grosse Pointe favorite. We always feel we have eaten well in a refined but comfortable environment.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Kitchen also viewed

Grosse Pointe, MI
 

Been to City Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.