We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Got There at a Bad Time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hartwick Pines State Park

Hartwick Pines State Park
4216 Ranger Road (M-93), Crawford County, Grayling, MI 49738
800-447-2757; 989-348-7068
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Grayling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Camping
Attraction details
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“We Got There at a Bad Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hartwick Pines State Park is clean, well maintained and interesting place to visit. We enjoyed the nature center, logging museum and rustic chapel in the woods. There are plenty of hiking and mountain biking trails, modern campground and picnic area. The area also offers paved roadside trails. The AuSable and Manistee rivers meander through the pine and hardwood forests and are well known for excellent canoeing, kayaking and fishing. Wildlife abounds.

Even wearing long sleeved shirts, long pants, hoods and plenty of bug spray we were unable to fully enjoy the many outdoor activities the park and surrounding area have to offer. The mosquitoes and after a particularly heavy rainfall, black flies, made outdoor activities unpleasant. We spoke with people who had been coming to the park for years and were told that this was the worst they have ever seen it, probably due to all the precipitation.

It costs $9.00 per day, per car to enter a Michigan State Park. This is in addition to the fee for camping. A Recreation Passport can be purchased by Michigan residents for $11.00 when they renew their license plates. Nonresidents can visit www.michigan.gov/recreationpassport and purchase one for $31. The Recreation Passport allows entrance to state parks, recreation areas and boat launches.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    23
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great walking park with rich history!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Very relaxing kid friendly park. quiet paved walking trails with old trees. Kids loved the logging museums with tons of hands on activities. A great place to stop and stretch your legs. Just remember the bug spray...mosquitoes were BAD.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We enjoyed a trip to the Hartwick Pines State Park on our way to the Upper Peninsula. Trails are well maintained and the Visitor Center clean and comfortable.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, MI
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hartwick Pines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We enjoyed a return trip to Hartwick Pines State Park. It was a beautiful, sunny day-perfect weather. The first time we visited it was kind of drizzly. Both days we really enjoyed our time spent at Hartwick Pines. There is a great Visitor Center, paved and unpaved hiking trails, logging camp, and chapel. The white pines, though, are the "king" at this park.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We Came. We Saw!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I visited the state park with a group of fellow birdwatchers for the sole purpose of seeing the Kirtland Warbler. Found the Park to be very beautiful. Attended a 15 minute vidio presentation before going to the area where the warbler was to be seen. Our guide was very knowledgeable and took the time to help us hear and find the bird as well answer any questions we had. Would highly recommend this guided tour if you want to see the Kirtland Warbler.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hartwick Pines State Park also viewed

Grayling, Crawford County
Grayling, Crawford County
 
Grayling, Crawford County
 

Been to Hartwick Pines State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartwick Pines State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.