We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Famous Dave's
4505 Canal Ave SW, Grandville, MI 49418-2378
(616) 301-7711
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 74 Restaurants in Grandville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Holland, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited this restaurant for the first time and we loved the atmosphere. As we walked in we felt like we just walked into the wild west as there was antique decorations throughout the entire restaurant. We were quickly seated and given drinks our server took our order fast he was very friendly. While we waited we had lots of things to look around that in the restaurant lots of cool signs and other very old artifacts. The food was hot and delicious when we received our food the portions were very big. The server checked back to make sure everything was okay and kind of stood afar off not to be bothersome while we ate. The server knew exactly when to ask for dessert.. We couldn't resist we ordered some chocolate cake with ice cream that was so big and delicious we could not even finish it. This is an awesome restaurant to try and we will definitely be back

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Love the BBQ Chicken and the pulled pork. They come with 2 sides and a cornbread muffin. Food just tastes so good to me.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, MI
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Just about the only place to get BBQ in this area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We frequent this place because my husband enjoys it. Usually we share a Feast Platter, or we pick the two meat dish. We have been to a number of BBQ places in the south and I would rate the food pretty good.
The service has always been very good. I have watched families enjoy a night out here, as well as business being done during lunch time.
I do wish the food was a little hotter. It always seems to be luke-warm. This seems to be true of all Famous Dave's, however, not just this one.
Certainly leave room for the bread pudding. We usually share one since they are so large.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Love the sauce choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our family enjoys the ribs and selections of sauces always on the table. Relaxed atmosphere.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, MI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Ribs. Good Size Portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had the very tasty ribs. They offer six different sauces you can put on at the table. They come well seasoned and tender. Another had the brisket. It was tasty as well. They offer several wonderful sides to choose from to complete your meal. You won't walk away hungry from this place!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

Grandville, Ottawa County
Grandville, Ottawa County
 
Grandville, Ottawa County
Grandville, Ottawa County
 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.