We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grandvillage Inn

Save Saved
You added Grandvillage Inn to your Saves list
Grandvillage Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grandvillage Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3425 Fairlanes Avenue SW, Grandville, MI 49418-1533   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Grandville
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unpleasant Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We booked this hotel primarily because it was pet friendly and we could reserve a room with a jacuzzi. When we got there, we were told the we couldnt have the room with the jacuzzi because we had a dog with us. Note that nowhere on the website when we booked indicated that certain rooms were for people with dogs...not all and any rooms. We were very disappointed. Then once in our dog friendly room the air conditioning didn't work so we were stuck in 77 degree heat and there were ants in the bathroom. The staff was pleasant, as others have noted, but this didn't make up for the unpleasantness of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    8
    8
    11
See reviews for
20
11
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Metamora
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife, daughter and I stayed two nights this past weekend on a college visit and enjoyed everything about the hotel. The staff were all very friendly and the hotel rooms and common areas were spotlessly maintained. The pool was great and enjoyed the breakfast along the pool. We highly recommend the Grandvillage Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwinn, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend in early October 2012. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The room was clean. My only negative is the wifi didn't work very well. The staff reset it several times but never worked consistently. They said they were having Comcast come and check it out on Monday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel was comfortable and clean. The breakfast had hot and cold items. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and our room was spacious. The hotel is about 30 mins from Oval Beach (one of USA best beaches) - a must see!

The bathrooms could use some updating and the time of the breakfast needs to be extended. It ends either at 9 or 9:30, depending on the day you stay.

Expedia said there would be a $100 CASH deposit for incidentals, but I was not asked one, just the usual credit card for incidentals.

There are outdoor picnic tables and chairs for eating, playing cards. There are also Adirondack chairs for lounging and reading a book.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegan, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I will start off saying the hotel was clean and kept up.
We booked this hotel ahead, for our daughter's 9th b-day party. We asked for the suite with 2 rooms and although smallish worked fine, for us.
However, the staff informed us upon arrival that no guests were allowed in the common areas, we would have to have any guests stay in our room at all times.(we had a poolside room, so anyone coming in would HAVE to walk in the common area, we were told they couldn't be the table outside our room) We had just our daughter and her 3 friends spending the night, they wouldn't let anyone swim with out wrist bands (only 5 were given, we had 6 people total) and told us that we would have to have one of the girls go home or buy another room. We had no idea that this would be an issue as we got the most expensive room they had with 2 separate sleeping areas. So if you are a small family and not having guest this would not be an issue. If you are a single mom with four kids.. don't bother getting a room here, they will make you send your kids home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

"It's owned by a gentleman in Jackson, and we're independant", the young guy behind the desk said in answer to my question.

I'd say the "Gentleman in Jackson" is running a first class show.The place looks like my Grandmother's house, and is just as clean. . that's clean ! Everything works, everyone's nice, the free breakfast is fine, the newspapers are free, it's very close to a freeway exit, but not too close,
there's a good restaurant just across the parking lot and they don't hate people like me who write impossibly long sentences.

This spot was recommended to me by a young guy who owns a business of considerable consequence nearby.I know his mother and knew his father. He wouldn't steer me badly.

You'll like this place. It's worth your custom. and. . if the "gentleman in Jackson" raised the price
I paid 20%, I'd pay it.

Room Tip: They have an indoor swimming pool and parents and kids might enjoy one of the "poolside"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Due to an error made by a third party reservation company, our volleyball club had 18 families who thought they had a reservation with Grandvillage on a Friday night when they actually didn't - on a very busy, hotel-booked week-end. The Grandvillage made EVERY effort to get all of our families a room even though they really had no obligation to do so. My family enjoyed Grandvillage very much - the beds were comfortable and the staff was very friendly. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandvillage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandvillage Inn

Address: 3425 Fairlanes Avenue SW, Grandville, MI 49418-1533
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grandville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Grandville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grandvillage Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grandvillage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandvillage Hotel Grandville
Best Western Grandville
Grandville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandvillage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;