We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous way to celebrate our engagement!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prairieside Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Prairieside Suites to your Saves list
Prairieside Suites
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3180 Washington Ave. SW, Grandville, MI 49418   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Grandville B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous way to celebrate our engagement!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My fiancee and I had just gotten engaged and were looking for a special way to celebrate our excitement, and Prairieside Suites provided just that! We relaxed by the pool and enjoyed the wonderful gardens, but were also able to retreat back to our luxurious room and spend some quality time together. Our room was quiet, romantic, and perfect! Cheri and Paul were attuned to our every need and it truly did feel like we were being pampered the entire weekend. It was our second visit to Prairieside, and we will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    11
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
103
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay; there are no details that are overlooked by the charming staff. I generally loathe staying in hotels because I am always concerned about the cleanliness, but I felt very comfortable here and confident that the suite (Tuscan Villa) was truly as clean as it appeared. From the gourmet breakfasts to the amenities and the tranquility of the garden, it was all top-notch. We look forward to visiting again in the future. Thanks to Cheri, Paul, and staff for making our long overdue holiday a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Comfy king-sized bed---more comfortable than my own king bed! Not too soft, not too hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We hadn't tried the French Riveria, and really enjoyed it. Loved the paintings of European city scenes over the whirlpool, and the four-poster king bed draped with sheers. Everything was top notch - one of our favorite touches was having real wine glasses for when we opened the bubbly we brought!

Room Tip: A super comfy bed in the most private suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

My fiance and I celebrated our engagement in the Tuscan Villa! A beautiful little 'retreat' for any couple looking for a night of romance and, for most of us, a night alone! We very much enjoyed the BIG flat screen tv, watching a romantic movie- found in the B&B's selection- from the hot tub! Talk about relaxing! Everyhting in the room was extremely clean and the atmosphere, inviting! We even ordered pizza dilivery, which was brought right to our door ; ) In the morning, an amazing FULL breakfast was brought right to our door as well! We are deffinately booking our next romantic weekend with Paul and Cheri at Prarieside Suites! Thanks again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Cheri and Paul were so friendly and accommodating. Our room was beyond clean, comfortable, and spacious. We loved our stay at Prairieside and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

This place ruined romance for me.
I bought the "A night to remember package" and didn't assume I'd be getting a crappy experience for the price of $350 dollars.
They should really break down the value of everything before they allow you to make this terrible purchase.
For $70 Dollars - I got cheap itchy tulle fabric rose petals scattered on the door mat when you first walk in, in a little pile.
$15 dollars - cheap un appetizing chocolates - not like the picture on their website
$15 dollars for a rose in a vase, (i accidentally left the vase I didnt know i was supposed to take it, my bf left his wallet, and when he went back after they called they didnt even mention that the vase was mine and i left it, how rude I paid for that)
$15 dollars for some candles with a sign that say do not move! when in the pictures they're scattered around the jacuzzi not on the counter far from it.
cheap wine tray also for $15 dollars. wine cooler didnt work, grapes were in the fridge frozen, also the milk was frozen.
-paige fisher
i couldve used this romance package to buy a plane ticket to see him for his last 4 days before he deploys, i thought these 2 nights would be worth it, sadly i feel sick to my stomach and regret it more than anything

Room Tip: Do not purchase any packages they offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesignerCheri, Owner at Prairieside Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
We love our guests and hope each and every person who stays with us has an incredible time, now the romance is up to them :-o). If you look online you’ll see that I have designed our rooms to include every imaginable luxury amenity. We have our phone number on the front & back door, in our guest-books on their bed, on our business cards and upon arrival we say; call Cheri if they need anything. If the wine chiller didn’t work, I would have gladly brought them another one or we have ice buckets and they have a mini refrigerator in their room. Paige & Phil were here for two days, they never said they needed anything and we gave them their privacy. This is generally what our guest’s value most. We spoke with them on several occasions…at breakfast, outside on the deck & after their 1¼ hour couples massage [which was most of the expense in their package] and they had only good things to say. They received a bonus free ½ hr massage [available when you stay 2 days], which is why they received a longer couples massage. Our packages are very clear about what they include. It says silk rose petals because fresh rose petals would stain our carpeting. Here is the package exactly as it appears online that she ordered.

A Night To Remember: Imagine entering your room...a long stemmed rose awaits, silk rose petals are scattered on the floor, a box of gift wrapped chocolates are on the bed with a note announcing that you have ordered a one hour massage for both of you!!! Later you light the 6 candles and slip into a relaxing whirlpool bath while enjoying a non-alcoholic wine tray with grape garnish. You make the memories and we'll provide a remembrance gift for you to take home! Adds $340.00 to room rates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

What a place! Nestled in a quaint town of Dutch heritage, we thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful bed and breakfast. We were met by Paul upon our arrival. He gave us a tour to make sure we could take advantage of all the amenities including fresh baked goodies, a huge library of movies, home made hot chocolate, and pool. After that, he was around in case we needed anything but left us to our privacy as much as we wanted. Our room was beautiful and provided us with anything we could have desired for our romantic get-away. We slept well on the comfortable king bed with magnet mattress pad, had our choice of coffee, tea or hot chocolate in the room; there was a desk filled with any office supplies we could imagine, wireless internet, robes, in-room refrigerator. Cleanliness is important to us but we didn't find a speck of dust anywhere. The breakfasts were large and delicious and served by delightful staff. (Paul's bacon beats all.) We met Cheri later who is a delightful hostess. They were both very knowledgeable about things to do and places to eat in the area which helped us make the most of our time there. We spent a day in one of the towns on Lake Michigan and had a terrific meal in Grand Rapids. We had a wonderful time away and would heartily recommend this place to anyone as a perfect place to have a wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prairieside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairieside Suites

Address: 3180 Washington Ave. SW, Grandville, MI 49418
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grandville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grandville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prairieside Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "3rd Best Over All B&B in North America," "Most Romantic B&B," "Best of the Great Lakes" & "Best in the Midwest!" Our Luxurious Private Spa Rooms include: Whirlpool Tub, Fireplace, King Bed, Jetted showers, heated towel bars, heated toilet seats, AC, TV/VCR/DVD/cable, CD Player, Coffee Maker, Refrigerator & Microwave. Featuring In-House Massage, Romantic Packages, Room Breakfast Services, free Wi-fi, free Music & Video library on site. Shopping malls, theater’s & restaurants 5 minutes away. Our goal at Prairieside Suites is to create an "Experience" not just a "Stay." Luxury guest rooms are at the heart of this nurturing environment. Our spa rooms feature extra long & deep whirlpool tubs with views of the fireplace. These tubs sit in our beautiful bedrooms [not in a cramped bathroom]. The elegant decor, quiet relaxed atmosphere and convenient location (restaurants and shopping malls only minutes away), make this a perfect getaway. Seasonally enjoy our beautiful gardens, heated pool, pergola, and fountain! We serve a full candle light breakfast in the dining room @ 9:30am. For the guests who prefer to snuggle and sleep in, a deluxe continental breakfast can be packed in your in room refrigerator and eaten in the privacy of their room. Relax and unwind while you enjoy your stay in one of our spotless and allergy-free spa rooms. This “Award Winning” Luxury B&B featured in the “Inn Traveler Magazine” caters to getaway couples & the business traveler and is located only 6 minutes from downtown Grand Rapids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Prairieside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prairieside Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.