We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Airport

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4155 28th St., S.E., Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Oregon, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stopped in without a reservation because we could not complete our drive that evening and the staff was very nice and got us a room that met our needs. The room was clean and had enough room to get around in. the breakfast was good though it would be nice if you didn't have to go into the hallway for the oatmeal. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Friend

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy travel schedule to review our property. The hospitality business is especially satisfying when we can help out travelers in desperate need of a little rest. We are glad you found the staff so friendly and accommodating. We know nothing sends you off to bed, or back on the road, better than a smiling face and a friendly wave (and we will be sure to pass your kind words along to the staff). Beyond the staff, we are thrilled you found the room to meet your standards. Checking into a room that is not cleaned exceptionally well makes for a frustrating overall experience (we want your room to feel just like home!) so we take extra measures, such as housekeeper checks, to make sure every room is cleaned proficiently. Lastly, we appreciate your suggestion to move the oatmeal into the immediate breakfast area. We do periodic reviews of our breakfast set-up and will definitely consider your suggestion. Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    55
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
79
54
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A bit surprised by the number of "five" reviews for the Comfort Inn Airport. It's nice, reasonably clean, and breakfast was adequate, but no way near a five. The bed wasn't all that comfortable, the wall paper was peeling in spots, the bathroom fixtures were old, and there was some mildew in the grout. That is not to say it wasn't a nice place - friendly staff, the WiFi worked well, and it wasn't dirty. Still, it just doesn't add up to a five. I'll give a low four, but with the comment that we would go there again. So go and enjoy, but go with reasonable expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Happy Rocker - on behalf of our entire staff thank you so much for taking time to write a review of our property. We always strive to be a 5-star winner and your insights will provide tangible ways for us to improve as a hotel. This summer we began a program to go through each room and make many of the improvements you suggest. Our owners are commited to providing guests with a wonderful night's stay and we hope if you return you will see our committment to excellence. Again, thank you so much for staying with us and for providing feedback. Have a wonderful rest of our week and a great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed in this location for 4 nights. It is on the main strip of Kentwood on 28th street where you can find just about any shopping you could ever want. It is about 10 minutes to the airport and about 20 minutes to downtown Grand Rapids from there.

Good things:

1) They have a continental breakfast from 4:30am - 6:30am for business travelers who need to leave early. Hot breakfast starts at 6:30 and runs until 9:30.
2) It is the only CHOICE brand hotel I have stayed in so far that has had grapefruit at breakfast, which I personally enjoy greatly. They had apples and oranges also.
3) The location is great if you want shopping and restaurants nearby.
4) The rooms were nice. The desk had multiple outlets including 2 USB ports for charging. In addition to the desk there was also an extra chair with an ottoman.
5) The exercise room is open 24 hours although I did not have a chance to take advantage of it.

Negatives (nothing major):
1) Every day with the eggs they only had linked sausages. I would have hoped they would have changed the breakfast meat each day, at least some bacon occasionally.
2) The maid service wasn't top notch. They failed to replenish the plastic cups in the room. One day I did not have a bath mat.
3) On the day of departure the bill was not under my door in the morning.
4) They were doing renovations on the front of the building so you could not drive up to the entrance. They were able to give me a room on the opposite side of the building so I was not disturbed by any of the work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
New Jersey Traveler - thank you so much for taking time to complete an online review of our property. It is always a treat to receive honest and constructive feedback and your insights were wonderful. We are glad to know that the breakfast was pleasant and that you found our location to be ideal. We appreciate you commenting on the USB ports as well. Technology has changed the world and we added additional ports as a convenience for the guests. We also thank you for letting us know about the missing cups and the receipt not being delivered. Both of these were obviously errors that we will address with each of the employees. In terms of the construction, we are so excited about the new look of our property. They just completed the front and have begun work on the back. It is part of our larger plan to be the best hotel we can be. Again, please know how much we appreciate you staying with us and for offering insights to help us improve. We hope you have a great rest of your week. Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here while on a college visit in Grand Rapids. I was very pleased with Kyle, who took my reservation on the phone 2 weeks prior to our visit. I had called other hotels to check prices/availability and they were less than professional. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had some trouble connecting to the Wi-Fi, but the front desk clerk was very knowledgeable and hooked us up quickly. The room was clean, as was the lobby. Breakfast offered many choices and was well stocked. The only thing I would change is having a room with 2 queens beds available. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Valued guest – on behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for staying with us and for offering such kind feedback on your stay. Selecting a school is an important step in life. Grand Rapids has some wonderful colleges and universities. We hope your tours went well. In terms of our staff, thank you so much for the compliment. We strive to be professional and personable, so your insights are meaningful. We definitely agree about Kyle being top notch. We will make sure to show him your post. We also will pass your suggestion onto our owner. He is always interested in guest feedback. Again, thank you so much. Have a wonderful weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at this location for a last minute weekend trip. It is in a convenient location, but is in poor condition. The beds are poor, the AC unit didn't work, the walls are thin and the pipes make bizarre noises. Also, there is usually only one person at the front desk, so expect long waits. I would not recommend this to others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Grand Rapids Visitor – we want to personally thank you for your candid review of your stay with us. We take all of the guests’ comments very seriously, so we feel terrible that you did not have a good experience. We were very surprised by some of your comments. We almost always have two staff member scheduled, just had our AC units replaced, and just got new bedding in the rooms. We would love to have a chance to speak with you to get further insight on your stay. We value all our customers and want to make sure you are satisfied with your experience. Again, thank you for being so honest and for offering feedback. We are always striving to be the best we can be and input like yours helps in this endeavor. Have a great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Friendly check-in and check-out, clean, quiet, conveniently located to GRR, and the price was a 1990 throwback. My favorite thing, I had an early flight and they had breakfast out at 4am! I'll stay here again, no question.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Friend – we were thrilled to read your review. We specialize in catering to early morning travelers so your endorsement was a welcome treat. We know that cutbacks by the airlines have taken a toll on everyone and hope that the early morning breakfast starts your trip off on the right foot. We laughed at your 1990 reference. That was a huge compliment. We do our best to provide great value at a reasonable price. Again, thank you so much for staying and for taking time to write such a nice review. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Came in for the night on drive through. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Gave us snacks and water upon arrival. Room was comfortable with plenty of amenities. Great breakfast and friendly staff. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Grand Rapids Visitor - on behalf of our entire staff thank you so much for staying with us and for offering feedback on your experience. We know that travelers have many options when they come to the area. We are humbled by your kind words and are honored that you would recommend us. Please stop in again the next time you visit Michigan. We will have the refreshments and snacks all ready. Have a relaxing and restful week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Airport

Address: 4155 28th St., S.E., Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly smiling faces, impeccably clean rooms, and a full hot breakfast await you at the Gold Award Winning Comfort Inn Airport Hotel. All of our rooms include free wireless internet, flat screen TVs, microwaves, and refrigerators. While traveling can be stressful, you will begin your trip in style as you enjoy our weekday evening hospitality, print off your boarding pass in our business center, and relish a great night sleep on our comfortable beds. From the time our breakfast begins at 4:30am, until we see you off, our staff will work tirelessly to make your stay as relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport Hotel Grand Rapids
Comfort Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.