We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Airport

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4155 28th St., S.E., Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a trip to Grand Rapids for a family event, and I booked it largely because of positive reviews relative to other hotels in the southwest of the city. I have to say that the positive reviews were accurate! Obviously, this is a Comfort Inn, not the Waldorf Astoria, but in it's class and price range, it is as good as it gets. My room was nicely decorated, very comfortable, and very clean. The bed was comfortable (a big deal for me), and the shower was hot and water pressure was great. The complimentary breakfast was plentiful and varied. All the staff with whom I interacted were polite and helpful. All in all, this is a great hotel for the money in this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Ohio friend – your review is wonderful. As you note, we are not the Waldorf Astoria, but we are proud of our property and do the best we can to make all guests feel welcome. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and truly appreciate the feedback. We will make sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of the staff. Have a great rest of your week and a wonderful spring/summer. Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    55
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
79
54
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gahanna, OH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Upon our entrance into the hallway of our room, cigarette smoke was smelled by my husband and me. Jessica and Erin were on duty and I stopped Jessica as she was nearby. Both she and Erin wasted no time in correcting the problem by finding the smoker and penalized him via dollars for his error. The odor was taken care of soon, yet they were kind enough to move us to another room. We very much appreciated their quickness to our "please help" request. And the move was one that made us smile as well. Again, our many thanks to Erin and Jessica for their "quick" kindness. LG, Gahanna, OH.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Traveling Friend - thank you so much for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are so sorry for the smoking. We are proud to be a smoke free property but unfortunately the guests you mention were not following the rules. It was encouraging to hear that Erin and Jessica were able to quickly rectify the situation. We will make sure to pass on your kind words to them. Again thank you for staying at our property and for providing feedback. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The staff were outstanding and the room was clean and comfortable. The room I was in could use some new carpet, paint, and attention to the tiles in the bathroom, but it was not dirty and those are mild gripes. Staff were terrific about accommodating my request to be in a quiet area, away from two high school groups.

My biggest complaint, however, and one that may prevent me from staying there again, is that the TV set was a wide screen HD, but the TV transmission is analog, which means that the picture was fuzzy and quite blurry - like looking at a bad computer screen. I could only tolerate about thirty minutes of it before I started to get a terrible headache. (Eyes trying to focus.) No way to improve or correct it. The transmission cannot accommodate a wide screen set, so I had the options of a s-t-r-e-t-c-h-e-d picture or one with black borders on the left and right. Maybe this is not an issue for people who use their laptops or such for TV viewing, but I didn't have mine so it was an issue for me. Probably wouldn't make a difference for kids.

Breakfast was fine, with scrambled eggs, yogurt, waffles, and the usual sugary cereals. Bed was soft but comfortable. Except for the TV, everything was just fine (and worth the price) but for me, the TV is a deal-breaker.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor, facing away from 28th street, are quietest. Also ask for a room far from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Friend - on behalf of the Comfort Inn Staff I want to thank you for your honest and candid review of our property. We are continually looking for ways to improve our property and you mention several of the areas we are currently addressing. I am happy to report that we are putting new carpet into the building as we speak. We are excited about the new look and the warm welcome it will provide to guests. Furthermore, we are in the process of repainting the rooms in the building one by one. We hope the updated feel will match the excellent customer service you mentioned. I am so sorry about your TV problem. The TVs have been set to provide guests with a clear and sharp picture so I'm not sure why there was an issue in your room. We are having our maintenance staff check into the situation and we rectify accordingly. Again, thank you so much for your insights and for staying with us. We hope you have a wonderful spring and are able to take advantage of the warm weather that is coming. Take Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Checked in quite late, front desk staff were great. As an Elite member I was offered bottled water and snack. My request for a quiet room was honored. The hotel was undergoing some renovations of the public areas - I'm sure there was carpet in the lobby when I checked in, but in the morning there was none! The room was clean and comfortable, and as I expect from a Comfort Inn. My only gripe was that there was no TV remote in the room. The staff came up with a replacement, but the TV still wouldn't work properly. This was not rectified. Luckily I had plenty of other work to keep me busy, so didn't push the issue.

Managed to sleep through breakfast, so can't comment on that, but the staff did offer to get me a muffin or some cereal or something despite it being well after breakfast hours. That was nice.

Overall, a solid property, with staff who are customer focused. As long as the TV remote works next time, I'd have no problem staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Choice Elite member,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your hotel of choice while visiting Grand Rapids. We are very glad to hear that your check in went smoothly and your elite status was recognized. We pride ourselves on customer service and being able to resolve situations effectively and in a timely manner. We are sorry to hear that the TV in your room was being difficult, we know that it can be frustrating. We were glad you were able to get some work done, but hopefully next time you stay you can enjoy a nice relaxing time. We hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have been staying at the Comfort Inn In Grand Rapids for the park in Fly package for our Mexico vacations every year,and once again the service and Hotel are tops around.
We will be staying there once again this coming Feb 2014. The hotel is very very clean and the service is awesome. They come and pick you up with a simple phone call within minutes.For your Dollars this is a great place for a park in fly for any trip to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hello Valued Guest, and thank you for your kind words. Our Park and Fly package is one of the most popular packages we provide at our hotel property. We know that being able to park your car in our lots and not have to worry about keeping it at the airport is a large relief for most guests. We are very happy to hear that you will be returning to take advantage of our Park and Fly package yet again in February! As always, your response and feedback is very valuable to us, and we hope to continue to provide you with a comfortable nights stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Based on the reviews from this site I decided to stay at this hotel for my recent exam for nursing. I called ahead of time to request a "quiet" room, away from other people if this was possible. I was traveling 5 hours away from home to take an exam that could determine my future. We drove all the way in a snow storm and we were greeted by a very nice receptionist. Explained my request for "quiet" room to her and she put us on the third floor. The hotel is very clean and our room was clean as well. No complaints there. We knew the place did not have a pool, if we were traveling with our children we would not have stayed here.The only thing I didn't understand is the room we were put in was by the elevator. In my opinion this is not quiet. Also later on we could hear voices that sounded very close and we could hear EVERYTHING that people in the next room were doing and saying. The walls were very thin. I had already requested a "quiet" room to begin with and already turned down the first room we were in, the hotel was not booked up, It was a monday and very few cars were in the parking lot. The breakfast was a standard continental breakfast and it was good. I would stay here again, under different circumstances.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn- Airport GR as your hotel of choice while in Grand Rapids. Hopefully all went well with the exam that you were in town to take, I know we were all hoping the best for you! We do take customer requests and preferences very seriously to ensure all of our guests have a relaxing stay. I am very sorry to hear that the room you were given was not as quiet as hoped, as the third floor is general considered to be a quiet floor. We thank you for all your kinds words and constructive criticism all, and we hope to see you next time your are visiting Grand Rapids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Comfort Inn Airport Grand Rapids several times when I have early morning flights. They offer a wonderful Park and Fly rate and shuttle service. The early morning shuttle
starting at 4:30am makes it convenient to get to the airport on time. They even have the breakfast set out for the early departures. I appreciated the service given by Matt and Erica. Their professionalism and friendliness was wonderful. The room was clean and even though the hotel was going through some renovation, I felt like I got a great value at the Comfort Inn. I am sure we will use the Comfort Inn Airport Grand Rapids again when we need a "Park and Fly".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Pat - you are the best! Thank you so much for kind words. Our staff truly enjoyed interacting with you and were so glad that you had a great trip. We will make sure to pass your kind words onto Matt and Erica. They both have fun personalities and will appreciate the feedback. Can't wait to see you again on your next adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Airport

Address: 4155 28th St., S.E., Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly smiling faces, impeccably clean rooms, and a full hot breakfast await you at the Gold Award Winning Comfort Inn Airport Hotel. All of our rooms include free wireless internet, flat screen TVs, microwaves, and refrigerators. While traveling can be stressful, you will begin your trip in style as you enjoy our weekday evening hospitality, print off your boarding pass in our business center, and relish a great night sleep on our comfortable beds. From the time our breakfast begins at 4:30am, until we see you off, our staff will work tirelessly to make your stay as relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport Hotel Grand Rapids
Comfort Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.