We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Airport

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4155 28th St., S.E., Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Front desk staff was very friendly. Rooms were a bit small but clean and beds were comfortable. Unfortunately we had a room right next to the drop off area so it was quite noisy with people walking right by our window. For one night it was fine though. Good breakfast in the morning with plenty of options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for the nice compliment. Our goal as a staff is to provide the best possible customer service. All members do a great job making our guests feel right at home with a smile on their face. We’re glad you had a good night’s sleep on our comfortable beds. The wide variety of options with breakfast gives our guests many choices to help start their day! We apologize for the noise but definitely appreciate your business. We’re glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you next time your travels bring you to Grand Rapids.

Comfort Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    55
    27
    3
    2
See reviews for
83
55
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I normally stay at another hotel when I'm in Grand Rapids. I decided to give this Comfort Inn a try. The room was great and very clean . The staff was great and very helpful. Erin the young lady at the desk gave me some great suggestions for dinner. The entire staff deserves a big raise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We are thrilled that you decided to stay with us! Our housekeeping staff does a great job to ensure that all guest rooms are spotless and up to our standards. Erin, like the rest of our staff, is a pleasure to be around. It’s great to hear that all were helpful and made your stay enjoyable. Thanks for the awesome compliment and we hope you enjoyed dinner! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Comfort Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinnebog, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Picked this property on the advice of other TA reviews and I must say we had a very nice stay. The hotel was easy to locate and is close to freeway access for two different interstates and the new Beltway, M6.The staff was great we got a $40 upgrade to a spa room at no extra charge. Room was comfortable and nice but a little dated. My g.f. thought the king bed was awesome. The two problems we had that kept this review from being a excellent rating was a drain or water system that was constantly running in the bathroom (only really noticeable in the bath but still annoying) and the toilet had some hair on the back of the bowl. All in all we would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Spa room 139 has the running drain. Some south facing rooms on the top floor have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
It is great to hear that you had such a nice stay. Our guests are extremely important to us and we are so happy that you enjoyed the upgrade! Our location is great and it is awesome to be located around so many nice restaurants and other popular attractions. We are currently in the process of renovating and updating each room in the hotel. New paint, bedding, and pictures are all in the works! Thanks so much also for letting us know about the issue with the drain. We will definitely be sure that our maintenance staff double checks everything. Thanks again for the nice compliment and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

-Comfort Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were taken to and from the airport in a VERY timely manner--no long waits. On registering for the night after our return from the airport, we had already been upgraded to a lovely, fancy room without even asking. (We have elite guest priviledges status and ususally have to ask for an upgrade.) We were presented with bottles of water and snacks AND invited to have a bowl of homemade chili that was delicious. (Each night theyhave a different food feature.) A sign on the elevator had a joke and weather information. We have stayed in lots of Choice hotels, but I believe that this was the nicest one of all. It had such a homey feeling that comes from being treated nicely by people who really care. Special mention needs to be made here for one of the employees--Kyle. He picked us up at the airport, was responsible for the surprise upgrade, and MADE the chili!. Breakfast was very good and included REGULAR plates, cups, and bowls as well as real silverware rather than plastic and styrofoam ones--another special feature. I was told that the owner (manager?) of the hotel works with a group who take the used toiletries and recycles them to send to needy folk in Africa. (A sign in the bathroom advised us of this, so we left ours.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Being on time is important to us and we are happy that everything ran smoothly! Our elite members are extremely important to us and we are so glad that you enjoyed the upgrade. Evening hospitality is something special we do for our guests and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the food. We hope the joke of the day brought a smile to your face! Our goal is to try to create that homey feeling for each guest who walks through the door and our enthusiastic employees do a great job making this happen. Kyle is a valued member of our team and one of our favorites. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed breakfast. We are always looking for different input and ways to improve our food choices in order to please our valued guests. Thanks for mentioning our soap program. This has been one of the most enjoyable and impacting programs we have joined. Once again thank you for the awesome compliment and we look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to Grand Rapids!

Comfort Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I travel a lot and stay in Comfort Inns all over the country, but this Comfort Inn was by far the best I have stayed this year. The room was very clean and quiet. The weight room had both machine and free weights as well as other quality work out equipment. The breakfast had a lot of options and the food was quality. The best part of this stay was the front desk service. They went out of their way to make sure my experience was the best it could be and they were very friendly. All around the best hotel I have stayed in this year and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
What an awesome compliment! Being the best is something that we strive to accomplish and we thank you for your kind words. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our fitness center. We believe in keeping fit with the most up to date machines and equipment. Our front desk staff is great and all members are a pleasure to be around. Great customer service is our goal and we are glad we could be accommodating to your needs. Thanks again for the awesome compliment and we look forward to seeing you next time your travels bring you back to Grand Rapids.

-Comfort Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have stayed several times in the past couple of months, and have been very pleased each time. The staff is wonderful! Kyle is especially nice. Rooms are spacious, clean and in good repair, and the rates are reasonable. WI-FI works well throughout the hotel. The breakfast is pretty good and the breakfast room is clean. The hotel offers a great park and fly package, and the transportation to and from the airport is on time. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for the awesome compliment and continued business! It is always nice to hear that people enjoyed their stay and come back frequently. Our staff works hard to provide the best possible customer service with a smile. Kyle is great and is a pleasure to be around. We’re glad that the wi-fi worked well for you and you enjoyed the breakfast. Punctuality is important to us and we are happy to hear that the transportation to and from the airport was timely. Hope you had a great trip and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Comfort Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Staff was very nice, especially Erin ( female). We made a reservation at this hotel by the reviews and ratings on tripadvisor. Great breakfest, clean spacious rooms, but our bathroom tub could use some caulking. Parking was no problem. It is centrally located near many restaurants. The room also has a small frig and micowave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Friendly guest- Thank you so much for the nice compliment. Erin does a great job and it is an absolute pleasure to have her on staff. Our breakfast has been recently updated and we are always looking for new, delicious items to keep our guests happy. You mentioned the bathtub needed some caulking, I have some good news! We are currently in the process of renovating each room, giving it a new modern feel. We are very excited about the process. Thanks again for the kind words and we are glad you enjoyed the location and your stay at our property.

-Comfort Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Airport

Address: 4155 28th St., S.E., Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly smiling faces, impeccably clean rooms, and a full hot breakfast await you at the Gold Award Winning Comfort Inn Airport Hotel. All of our rooms include free wireless internet, flat screen TVs, microwaves, and refrigerators. While traveling can be stressful, you will begin your trip in style as you enjoy our weekday evening hospitality, print off your boarding pass in our business center, and relish a great night sleep on our comfortable beds. From the time our breakfast begins at 4:30am, until we see you off, our staff will work tirelessly to make your stay as relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport Hotel Grand Rapids
Comfort Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.