We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   358 River Ridge Drive NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49544   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We chose this hotel for it's location and because I could use my points to get a room cheap. We weren't expecting much, but we got a corner room on the 3rd floor which was large and sunny with nice views out both windows. The staff was very attentive and seemed to genuinely care that we had a pleasant stay. The breakfast was about as good as any hotel buffet I've ever seen, and even had bacon!

A couple negatives, but very minor ones. Either the desk was too high or the desk chair too low - even with the chair all the way up using a laptop was awkward. And even though there were pillows labelled 'soft' and 'firm' they all seemed soft, but we brought our own anyway. And we were awakened at 2am (ish?) by the garbage truck emptying the dumpsters. Seems that could be scheduled for at a better time.

But overall we were quite impressed and would and likely will stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have windows on 2 walls. Rooms on the front side don't have as nice a view, but do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Bill C,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback from your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay, and I apologize about the issues you experienced. I am quite pleased to announce that IHG is coming out with a new pillow standard that will help better differentiate between soft and firm pillows; this should be in place at our location by the end of 2013. In regards to the dumpster disrupting your night, I am really quite baffled to hear this. I will have to do some research on this and figure out what happened. Thank you for your time, and we hope to see you next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    25
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
16
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Holiday Inn in Walker, Michigan! From the maintenance man to the General Manager we received excellent and friendly service! Very clean hotel, great breakfast, beautiful pool, and a very nice room!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words. We love hearing such great feedback, and we are very pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We hope to see you again when you're in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Nice furnishings, fairly new. Breakfast was great-eggs, bacon, pancakes, cereal, toast ,fruit, pastries, the attendant kept everything well stocked. Staff at the front desk pleasant. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on first floor across from the conference room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Tcerikson,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very pleased to hear about your good experience, and would love to see you the next time you're in the area!

Best Wishes,
Andrew White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel for one night and had no problems. Check in went smoothly and shortly after we arrived to our room a staff member was at our door with the roll-away bed that we had requested. The rooms were fine. The bed was very comfortable and every thing was clean. The tv was an old CRT television, but there was cable. The pool and hot tub seemed well kept and there was even a nice outside area to lay out and enjoy sunshine when there is some! Breakfast was what you'd expect for a free breakfast at a hotel, but they also had warm options which was nice. Staff was very helpful! They helped our relative with directions over the phone, provided toothbrushes that we had forgotten, and were always friendly. I'd definitely recommend the place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Nichol P,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. Our guest's comfort and satisfaction is something we hold as a top priority, so we are very grateful for your kind words in this regard. We are currently in the planning stages of our renovation that will be coming with HDTVs and are excited to bring these changes to our guests. We hope to see you next time you are in town visiting.

Thank you,
Andrew White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Expected a bit more. Slow front desk service, nice, but slow and tended to get themselves monopolized by 1 check in at a time. Breakfast was very so-so and attendant telling customers how she "hates" sausage gravy but that guests could "go ahead and have it if they wanted". A little wierd. Plumbing poor with Toilet always backing up.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if you are a priority club member...not automatic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kaptain4,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your most recent stay with us. I certainly understand your concerns with your time spent at our hotel, and I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations. The issues you have brought to my attention will be addressed promptly. Please understand that your satisfaction and comfort is our top priority. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you at our property again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Standard hotel. Clean with no surprises. Staff was exceptionally nice. My room had a malfunctioning heater that made noise, But these things happen and I certainly wouldn't hold it against them.

Internet was pretty fast. Was able to stream video and skype with relative ease.

Mattress was hard and bouncy. Kind of like a slab of concrete mounted on springs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
BearHug111,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that the service was good for you. I do, however, want to apologize about the issues you mentioned in your review. I understand how frustrating it can be to try to sleep with an uncomfortable mattress and malfunctioning HVAC unit. I will pass on these concerns with both my maintenance and housekeeping staff so we can be more on top of fixing these issues before our guests encounter them.

Thank you,
Andrew White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Somewhat dated HIE. Old tube type Zenith TV (do they even make Zenith anymore?). Service below par, as a Priority Club member we often receive complementary water bottles and even snacks and NOTHING at this HIE. Also more expensive than other HIE's in similar suburban neighborhoods. Not good value for the money -- skip this one if you have an option.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you AI A for your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We do take your satisfaction with us very seriously and we are sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We are continuously looking to improve our offerings and services and this submission is something that helps us get this done. We hope that next time you are in town you can stop by and find a much more satisfying stay experience.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North

Address: 358 River Ridge Drive NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To see a virtual tour of this hotel: click here Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids North Walker. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations in Grand Rapids. Contemporary hospitality and Grand Rapids excitement are waiting for you. We are conveniently located less than 5 minutes from Downtown Grand Rapids, DeVos Place Convention Center and the Van Andel Arena. We are an easy 10 minute commute to many businesses in and around the Grand Rapids Area, including Spectrum Health, DeVos Children s Hospital and St. Mary s Hospital. Coming by plane? We are 15 minutes from Gerald R. Ford International Airport. Unwind at our many attractions within minutes of the hotel Gerald R. Ford Museum, Grand Rapids Public Museum, Grand Rapids Art Museum, Frederick Meijer Gardens, West Michigan White Caps Baseball, DeltaPlex and Berlin Raceway. We are minutes from the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan and Michigan s Adventure. Come experience one of the finest hotels on Michigan's West Coast! We re here, ready with all you need to make your trip to Grand Rapids a success. We re the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North Hotel Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.