We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   358 River Ridge Drive NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49544   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Iowa
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Outstanding Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I loved the size of the rooms and the cleanliness of the hotel. The staff was excellent and my stay was peaceful. This hotel is not a main road and the silence was welcome when it came to getting a good nights rest.

Close to some shopping and several restaurants as well. If you like super clean with a friendly staff and comfortable location then this hotel will work for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    25
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
16
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Bussiness travel can be very demanding, hectic and very hurried to say the least,thus peace of mind is very welcome.

At the Walker Holiday Inn I'am always greeted and treated like arriving in a friendley port, the staff is always very professional and willing to assist in any way to make a wary travler feel like home away from home.

Traveling 400 plus miles a day it is a great comfort to know that I can pick up my phone and call to reserve a room, while being treated with respect for a late arrival time.

Upon arrival my check in is ready and fast always being greeted by name and a friendly smile.

Last I would like to say the staff, including the housekeeping and breakfast staff perfom an excellant job of which is a direct reflection on the management.

Thank You
Gary S. Schnabel

Room Tip: Choose a room on first floor,close to breakfast and park outside your romm window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have traveled for a living for more than 25 years...so I really appreciate a great hotel, I go out my way to stay here...when I am anywhere in the area, I use this hotel as a base. The entire staff/management are friendly and helpful, while maintaining a professional attitude.
While I am not "on the road" as much as I once was, it has always been nice to have the staff remember you...at Grand Rapids North, they always do! PRETTY IMPRESSIVE!

The location is close to I-96, as well as 131...so the location is convenient for the entire Grand Rapids area. The free parking is also a plus.

Kathy Petz

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The TV's could use an upgrade seams to be noisey (more insulation in walls) the rooms could be brighter. The bathrooms was good water pressure and all supplies good. Nice size rooms and enough pillows

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've stayed at this holiday inn multiple times; they have friendly staff, good breakfast and clean rooms. Also have very nice desk staff that is very helpful. I’ve stayed at the other holiday inn, which is in downtown GR and found this holiday inn is much improved to the downtown one when it comes to staff, free breakfast and overall cleanliness of the rooms. For the price this is the hotel I choose when I travel to GR.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Property is showing its age. Rather dingy. Old, hard mattress. Thin sheets and towels. Carpet was old and dirty. This place needs help....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are very sorry that you feel this way. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Grand Rapids North has been a very popular destination over the last 10 years. We were able to put in new carpeting about 2 years ago and are currently planning a complete renovation. We hope that on your next visit, you will see all our changes and upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We were on a motorcycle trip and the heat was nearing 100 degrees. I had to get off of the bike and to a room as I was feeling sick from the heat. We stopped there very early in the afternoon. The host was very, very gracious and found a room that was clean, on the first floor as we had requested and proceeded to check us in quickly. I am a Priority Club member, so don't know if that had anything to do with it or not, but we received an upgraded room that was great. I would totally recommend this property to anyone needing a place to stay in this area of Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We take care of all our guests like they were members of our Priority Club program. But being a member does have it's rewards....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North

Address: 358 River Ridge Drive NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids-North in Walker, Michigan. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient hotel locations in Grand Rapids. Contemporary hospitality and Grand Rapids excitement are waiting for you. We are conveniently located less than 5 minutes from downtown Grand Rapids, the DeVos Place Convention Center and the Van Andel Arena. We are an easy 10 minute commute to many businesses in and around the Grand Rapids area, including Spectrum Health, DeVos Children's Hospital and St. Mary's Hospital. Coming by plane? We are 15 minutes from the Gerald R. Ford International Airport. Unwind at our many attractions within minutes of the hotel such as the Gerald R. Ford Museum, Grand Rapids Public Museum, Grand Rapids Art Museum, Frederick Meijer Gardens, West Michigan White Caps baseball, DeltaPlex and Berlin Raceway. We are minutes from the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan and Michigan's Adventure amusement park. Come experience one of the finest hotels on Michigan's west coast! We are here, ready with all you need to make your trip to Grand Rapids a successful one. We are the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North Hotel Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.