We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and staff very helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   358 River Ridge Dr. NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49544   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
1 review
“Friendly and staff very helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The TV's could use an upgrade seams to be noisey (more insulation in walls) the rooms could be brighter. The bathrooms was good water pressure and all supplies good. Nice size rooms and enough pillows

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    23
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
14
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've stayed at this holiday inn multiple times; they have friendly staff, good breakfast and clean rooms. Also have very nice desk staff that is very helpful. I’ve stayed at the other holiday inn, which is in downtown GR and found this holiday inn is much improved to the downtown one when it comes to staff, free breakfast and overall cleanliness of the rooms. For the price this is the hotel I choose when I travel to GR.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Property is showing its age. Rather dingy. Old, hard mattress. Thin sheets and towels. Carpet was old and dirty. This place needs help....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are very sorry that you feel this way. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Grand Rapids North has been a very popular destination over the last 10 years. We were able to put in new carpeting about 2 years ago and are currently planning a complete renovation. We hope that on your next visit, you will see all our changes and upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We were on a motorcycle trip and the heat was nearing 100 degrees. I had to get off of the bike and to a room as I was feeling sick from the heat. We stopped there very early in the afternoon. The host was very, very gracious and found a room that was clean, on the first floor as we had requested and proceeded to check us in quickly. I am a Priority Club member, so don't know if that had anything to do with it or not, but we received an upgraded room that was great. I would totally recommend this property to anyone needing a place to stay in this area of Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We take care of all our guests like they were members of our Priority Club program. But being a member does have it's rewards....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Standard Holiday Inn, service was poor. I am a Priority Club Member with alot of stays at many Holiday Inn's and this one was towards the bottom of the list. Besides the service being lousy and not helpful the room was not 100% clean. I am not picky at Holiday Inn's, freindly service, clean room and that is all of the expectations. If you have a choice, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
The staff at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Grand Rapids North, take great pride in offering a clean and well maintained hotel. In the future, please let us know if you feel we are not up to par. All staff members would be happy to make things right and take care of the issues. While you should never have an issue, mistakes do happen. We will always make it right and strive to satisfy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Due to the triathlon on June 10, I ended up alone at breakfast. Janet C. was incredibly helpful to me and checked back a couple of times to make sure everything was going alright for me. My daughter-in-law and her two children stayed in another room. Except that my.granddaughter had a hard time with the noise in the pool, their experience was good too. My husband and I had a room that had a handicapped designation. There were really two rooms and a bathroom. I use a mobility walker device and found turning into the bathroom a little tight but doable. It's a nice modern hotel with, in my experience, exceptional service. I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
It was great that you had a nice stay. We try hard to accomodate everyone, regardless of thier disabilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed there during the 5/3 run weekend, and were told that the hotel would be busy, and if we had any problems with noise to let the front desk know. We were told this at check in, so I had concerns. However we did not have any problems with noise. The hotel looks reasonably new and the rooms are in good shape. A/C and all other ammenities worked fine. Good thing is that it is not right next to the highway as many hotels are, so no highway noise, also good that it is back on a private drive, again, no noise. Bad thing about that is it is kind of hard to find. No signs on the main road, and the hotel is not visible, so better have your GPS up to date. Nice that they had oranges in the lobby. With this being race weekend I would have hoped that they would open the breakfast a little earlier than normal, but they did not and we missed out (?) and can't comment on that part. Lots of restaurants in the area. I would stay here again, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We hope you had a good time are your race. We did miss the need to open breakfast early for the runners. We will make a note for next year so we hope you will be back to take advantage of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North

Address: 358 River Ridge Dr. NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To see a virtual tour of this hotel: click here Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids North Walker. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations in Grand Rapids. Contemporary hospitality and Grand Rapids excitement are waiting for you. We are conveniently located less than 5 minutes from Downtown Grand Rapids, DeVos Place Convention Center and the Van Andel Arena. We are an easy 10 minute commute to many businesses in and around the Grand Rapids Area, including Spectrum Health, DeVos Children s Hospital and St. Mary s Hospital. Coming by plane? We are 15 minutes from Gerald R. Ford International Airport. Unwind at our many attractions within minutes of the hotel Gerald R. Ford Museum, Grand Rapids Public Museum, Grand Rapids Art Museum, Frederick Meijer Gardens, West Michigan White Caps Baseball, DeltaPlex and Berlin Raceway. We are minutes from the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan and Michigan s Adventure. Come experience one of the finest hotels on Michigan's West Coast! We re here, ready with all you need to make your trip to Grand Rapids a success. We re the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North Hotel Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;