We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here, idiots prevail” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   358 River Ridge Drive NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49544   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't stay here, idiots prevail”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

I've been on the road all summer and this is the worst hotel experience so far. Desk clerks screwed up the days that we were staying and had to switch rooms twice. Tubs on 1st floor don't drain properly, all week long took showers with water over ankles. Sink pushed water back up into it, No security whatsoever, girlfriend was accosted in the pool area by punks. Was told that someone would move our stuff to the room we had to move to by andrea but no one came to move it. So sick girlfriend had to do it herself. Windows don't have curtains so if you're not a morning person, look out. Refrigeration is inadequate, all the way up to 10 and sodas were still warm. Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    25
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
16
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

The hotel was Nice and very clean. 
The pros 
Good rate
Clean
Friendly staff
Easy to find
Close to grand rapids
Nice/clean room
Good pillows
Big bathroom
In room movies but way over priced at $10.99 for one movie. 
Wifi but first night wouldn't work
Pool was nice but hard to find at first since in the basement 
Great breakfast with many chooses and the new great pancakes

Cons
Carpet in hallways looked dated
Curtains looked very dated in room
Not pillow topped beds
 old TV's 
$10.99 for 1 in room movie
Overall the hotel was very nice though a few minor flaws but would stay again.  

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

The walls at this Holiday Inn Express (as well as the last one I stayed at in Virginia just 2 weeks ago) are so thin you would think the guy next door to you was sitting in our room! As a regular traveler all year long for business, I have only experienced this issue with Holiday Inn Express. Next door is a Marriott that I would stay at next time and I'm sure you would never have that issue in that chain. The breakfast is the typical included meal, nothing comparable to the Hilton brand breakfasts. Staff was very friendly and did their best to please, but nothing can make up for the high noise levels from next door or any converstion in the hallway. And we were at the end of the hall! I can't imagine what it must be like for those rooms near the elevator.

Room Tip: In-room Jacuzzi room - good deal for just $10 more
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

I stayed at the hotel on Friday and Saturday night. The room was very clean, very bright, very nice. I was pleasantly surprised how nice it was for the price. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic too. Very nice place to stay. It was close to downtown, close to all kinds of shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

I stayed here 2 night on business. The location is good and the traffic noise is non-existent! There is however thin walls and the heat/ac unit is very noisy to the point you have to adjust the TV volume when it is on and off.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS GRAND RAPIDS-NORTH is an excellent hotel to stay at. The service here is very good and the staff are friendly and helpful.

The room was awesome. I had requested for a fridge and a microwave in the room and was given a suite which was very spacious, airy and comfortable.

The hotel is located close to retail stores like OfficeMax, OfficeDepot etc. There are Taco Bell, Panera breads etc resaurants closeby too.

The hotel is not very far from the Grand Rapids Airport and hence is a convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Staff is very friendly. The rooms were a good size, a bit dull, but clean and with free parking, internet, breakfast (I stayed away from the Hot Items), pool, computer with printer, and fresh baked cookies at night! The location is within walking distance to many stores and restaurants, less than 10 minutes to downtown. Best hotel for the money in GR area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North

Address: 358 River Ridge Drive NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To see a virtual tour of this hotel: click here Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids North Walker. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations in Grand Rapids. Contemporary hospitality and Grand Rapids excitement are waiting for you. We are conveniently located less than 5 minutes from Downtown Grand Rapids, DeVos Place Convention Center and the Van Andel Arena. We are an easy 10 minute commute to many businesses in and around the Grand Rapids Area, including Spectrum Health, DeVos Children s Hospital and St. Mary s Hospital. Coming by plane? We are 15 minutes from Gerald R. Ford International Airport. Unwind at our many attractions within minutes of the hotel Gerald R. Ford Museum, Grand Rapids Public Museum, Grand Rapids Art Museum, Frederick Meijer Gardens, West Michigan White Caps Baseball, DeltaPlex and Berlin Raceway. We are minutes from the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan and Michigan s Adventure. Come experience one of the finest hotels on Michigan's West Coast! We re here, ready with all you need to make your trip to Grand Rapids a success. We re the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids North Hotel Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.