We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Amerisuites” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5401 28th Street Southeast, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
West Hartford, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Amerisuites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2005

First of all, let me say this was a great value for the money. I got my room for $42 per night through Priceline. Lots of room to strech out, 2 TVs, a kitchen. Quite a deal!

Still, I noticed lots of odd things. None of these are deal breakers, but they make you go "hmmmm". Let's start with the shuttle driver. Nice guy, but not a lot of English spoken. After "It's cold, no?", his English kind of puttered out. Got me to the hotel fast, though.

When I got to my room, I turned on a lamp. The room was pretty dim, so I turned on another. Still dim. Turns out all the lamps but one had 40 watt bulbs. The front desk got me a 100 watt bulb, but just one.

Signs everywhere talk about saving the environment & to put your towels on the floor if you want new ones or leave them up if you'd like to re-use them. I left my towels up but still got the whole room change - new towels, new soap, new shampoo.

On the plus side, at 6:30 a.m., the breakfast was hot & plentiful. Wear a jacket because the lobby gets cold in the winter when the front doors open while you're eating.

Again - a *great* value for the money. Just beware the 40 watt bulbs & you'll do fine.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    38
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
18
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
san jose, ca
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2005

We stayed there for one night and it was a really old room! The carpet was chewed up and the comforter looks like it was an old rug!! The bathroom was decent and customer service was good but that's about it. The outside definitely looks much nicer but that's not a true reflection of the room. I'd stay at the Country Inn next door but not this one! Hope this review helped!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2005

I was very pleasantly surprised at this hotel. My son and I stayed here for a weekend and got an awesome deal. Because of the price, I expected the place to be run down but was very surprised to find a beautiful suite. Tasteful colors, marble countertops, nice furniture and comfortable beds. Everything looked new. The pool was nice too, although small. Hot tub was an added bonus.

Outside, they have a basketball court, grill area, and a volleyball area. Could be nice in the summer

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2005

An excellent hotel at an even more excellent and very, very reasonable price. The AmeriSuites complimentary breakfast, both hot and cold items, was superb and well-balanced. The suites were comfortable and offered far more for the money than one might otherwise expect. If there is any negative, it is that the hotel is tucked away behind the large Meijer's superstore on 28th Street and for first timers, as we were, quite hard to find. Based on our stay, however, hundreds of others must have had no trouble finding the location--it was packed to the rafters on our recent stay--and we saw no unhappy folks at check-out time. With a son, daughter-in-law, and grandchild living there, we travel to Grand Rapids frequently. In the past, we've stayed at many different hotels. Never again. The AmeriSuites will clearly be locale of choice for all our future visits to the area.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2005

Since my daughter started college 2 years ago, we have tried various hotels in Grand Rpaids, but find that the Amerisuites off 28th Street is THE BEST! The hotel and rooms are ALWAYS clean. The set up of the suites works well because if one person stays up later or gets up earlier, they can read or watch tv without disturbing others. Having a microwave and refrigerator make it economical. And it is the best price in Grand Rapids! It is also convenient to all the stores and restaurants down 28th Street. A real value!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, ON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2004

The hotel lobby was very clean and we were surpised at check in to learn that this specific Amerisuites puts out snacks in the evenings for guests (included veggies, chips, pretzels, chicken wings, cold cuts and sandwich fixings, popcorn, coffee, juice, pop, and soup). We were assigned a room which, unfortunately had problems with the heating system. When we called down to the frontdesk they checked into it immediately and within minutes called us back and explained that, because of the nature of the issue, it could not be immediately remedied. The frontdesk staff apologize for the inconvenience and asked us if we would move to another room - this was done very quickly and we enjoyed a second suite which had some heat!
The suite itself is good for the price, however it does need some renovation. Although the room was clean and fresh, I found after my husband and I took our respective showers in the morning it was difficult to lose the musty, damp smell even with the fan running continuously during the showers and for an hour after the showers. Unfortunately we cannot rate the pool as it was under repair during our stay.
The hotel is set back from the main road so you don't hear the traffic at prime volume.
Although the hotel does not have a restaurant of its own there are many places to eat on the main road and a 24 hour Meijer store within a minute walking distance.
In the morning, the hotel served a breakfast bar that included bagels, toast, pastries, juice, coffee, cereal, and a make-your-own-waffle station that was fantastic. The hotel even provides different fruits to top your waffle creations.
We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2004

This was a really nice place to stay. Rooms were nice and well kept, there is a wide variety of food options on the main road (we had Mongolian BBQ). Staff was very friendly and helpful, I would not hesitate to stay here again next time I travel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Address: 5401 28th Street Southeast, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at the newest Holiday Inn Express in Grand Rapids, MI!The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport Hotel provides quality and comfort with a unique twist...all rooms are suites! The Gerald R. Ford International Airport (GRR) is located only 3 miles from this airport hotel and our complimentary airport shuttle service will have you there in minutes.Amenities abound at the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport. Stay Smart with Express Start breakfast served daily (including those irresistible cinnamon buns) and hot coffee offered round the clock. When you arrive, take a dip in our indoor pool or shoot hoops at the backyard sport court. If there is work to be done, you ll love free wireless Internet throughout the hotel and complimentary business center services.The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport guests often visit nearby local Grand Rapids businesses including Steelcase Headquarters, Amway, Cascade Engineering, and Meijer among others.Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport is family and group friendly too, located next door to the MVP Sports Fieldhouse. We are also situated within walking distance of Cascade Meijer and Macaroni Grill, 2 miles from the Woodland Mall and Centerpointe Mall, 2 miles from Celebration Cinema, and only 5 miles away from the Frederik Meijer Gardens. The sandy beaches of the Lake Michigan shore is only a 35 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.