We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Budget Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5401 28th Street Southeast, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A Good Budget Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is a nice comfortable budget property. Rooms are clean. I like the fact that the room temperature remains fairly constant - good thermostat and central air conditioning, not the noisy window variety. I have stayed here many times and Wi-fi is problematic on each stay, sometimes slowing to a crawl or failing completely. Easy highway access and lots of mid-priced chain restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback and review. We recently upgraded our entire WiFI system. I would like some detailed information about your stay if possible, please give me a call at your earliest convenience. I have been looking for more specific information about where we need to tweak the system and I am hoping you can help! Thank you, Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    38
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
18
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed overnight after a wedding in Grand Rapids. The staff was friendly. They provided shuttle service to and from the reception. Breakfast in the morning was diverse and the coffee was great! We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so very pleased to hear about your stay. Coffee is a staple in the morning and it is pleasing to hear I'm not the only one who enjoys that fabulous coffee! We d hope to see you again for another stay soon. Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We came to Grand Rapids for a mini-reunion of our family. We only rented three rooms in the hotel, but they permitted us to use the breakfast room for our opening get together. The rooms were good size and comfortable. The beds were firm, an the air conditioning efficient and quiet. The breakfast was hot and good. We really enjoyed our stay and will make this our hotel of choice when we return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We really enjoyed having you here with us and look forward to having you back again! Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I typically stay at Hyatt or SPG properties for business travel, but I decided to give Holiday Inn and IHG a try due to the close proximity to my work location. The staff was professional and friendly and the hotel has good-sized rooms and recreational facilities, including an outdoor basketball court. Also, the airport is only a 10 minute drive. Overall, it was a great 3 week stay; I will definitely stay at same hotel when in Grand Rapids again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with our Hotel. We enjoyed having you and hope to see you again in the near future. Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte FL
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Conveniently located close to I96 to access Grand Rapids, also next to Meijer in a quiet location of the parking area. Hotel has nice rooms, clean, with micro and fridge and extra sitting room. Two tv's also, nice for families traveling together, beds were comfortable and breakfast was adequate. Busy on weekends, as there are a lot of families, but we were on a higher floor so we did not hear anything. I

Room Tip: Higher floors are better on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We do hope to have you come back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The location was convenient to my meeting the next morning, so that is one plus. This hotel was not up to the standards of other HIE locations I have stayed. The pillows were old, the corner of the sheet was ripped at the seam, the bathroom did not have a mirror over the sink (very hard to shave when you have to look across the bathroom), and below the sink in the room there was some piping and water dripping to an open drain, it was very strange and probably not sanitary.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback about your stay. It sounds like you were in a handicap accessible suite, which is slightly different from our regular suites. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future to have you stay with us again. Thank you, Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Good stuff:
Really nice rooms. Meijer in the parking lot (if you need anything--out of state folks, I mean ANYTHING). Microwave and fridge in the room. Separate sitting and sleeping rooms, each with TV's.

Negative stuff:
I stay at a lot of hotels, and I have one big pet peeve developing, and it was intensified during this stay. If you work at the front desk, put away your damn cell phone whenever guests are around.

When we checked in, all three front desk clerks had phones out and were discussing something. I clearly interrupted some major issue, although parsing through the news, I can not figure out that that was. The two clerks not interacting with me continued their conversation, and the clerk checking me in (I think the manager on duty?) kept one ear in both conversations.

I went down later to let them know that there were no more towels in the pool area. Again, the entire front desk had phones out and seemed annoyed by the distraction. It is worth noting that they did address that there were no clean towels in the pool.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Jay B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Address: 5401 28th Street Southeast, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at the newest Holiday Inn Express in Grand Rapids, MI!The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport Hotel provides quality and comfort with a unique twist...all rooms are suites! The Gerald R. Ford International Airport (GRR) is located only 3 miles from this airport hotel and our complimentary airport shuttle service will have you there in minutes.Amenities abound at the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport. Stay Smart with Express Start breakfast served daily (including those irresistible cinnamon buns) and hot coffee offered round the clock. When you arrive, take a dip in our indoor pool or shoot hoops at the backyard sport court. If there is work to be done, you ll love free wireless Internet throughout the hotel and complimentary business center services.The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport guests often visit nearby local Grand Rapids businesses including Steelcase Headquarters, Amway, Cascade Engineering, and Meijer among others.Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport is family and group friendly too, located next door to the MVP Sports Fieldhouse. We are also situated within walking distance of Cascade Meijer and Macaroni Grill, 2 miles from the Woodland Mall and Centerpointe Mall, 2 miles from Celebration Cinema, and only 5 miles away from the Frederik Meijer Gardens. The sandy beaches of the Lake Michigan shore is only a 35 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.