We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Switched rate without letting me know” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5401 28th Street Southeast, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Switched rate without letting me know”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I spent one night in the hotel for a busniess trip, and I travel a lot, and I rarely complain, but this one bothers me. My biggest problem is that I booked my hotel thru my corporate travel agency, since I was traveling on business, and the corporate travel agency booked my room at a specific rate, but the hotel overcharged me by $4.27. Because the price was only marginally increased, I did not notice that they had overcharged me, shame on me. When I did notice the discrepancy (as I was filling in my expense report), I contacted my corporate travel agency who called the hotel and talked with Monica, to inquire why there was a rate change. She said that when the travel request was submitted, the rate was only for a double bed (I can not confirm or deny this to be true, as I do not have access to to my original booking doucment's webpage views), but in the travel request, I had indicated that a King bed was preffered, so they upgraded my room to to a king, and increased my room rate, without telling me. They never discussed with me at check in that they were modifying my original room, or that they were "upgrading" me in any way, it was just "ok, here's your room keys, have a nice night". So Monica said that since I never asked about the change in invoice price, it was my fault. So now I am letting every traveler know, that in my extensive years of travel, I have never had this type of experience, and if you are traveling to this hotel, DOUBLE check your innvoice as they are padding their numbers hoping that you don't notice, and then, well, it's your fault that you didn't catch them cheating you. All this for a lowsy $4.27, Monica, really, it's the customer's fault?

So let me expand on my review of the hotel and share what my upgraded room was like. First, I will say, the room was clean. So that was good, and expected. However, the toilet seat lid was a problem. It seems to me that they had one contractor install a shelf to the wall above the toilet, and had someone else install the toilet, becase the shelf blocks the toilet seat from being able to fully open, and then gravity pulls the seat closed while you are using the toilet. So in order to use it like a man, you have to hold the toilet seat lid up with one hand the whole time, and if you need to take a seat, well it just rides on your back the whole time.

The rest of the room was nicely appointed, TV, sofa, work desk, and coffee pot all seemd in good condition.

I will definately NOT stay here again, and I advise you to do the same. There are many hotels in that area to choose from.

Room Tip: Just double check your room rates, as they seem to change your room without letting you know that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the miscommunication that you received. Please contact me so that I may speak to you directly at 616-940-8100. Thank you, Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    38
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
18
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We just got back from Grand Rapids and we stayed at this hotel. It's in a great location with a large Meijer store a stone throw away and many restaurants within a 5 min drive. It's a smallish hotel and some would call it dated but, that never bothered me. It is clean, quiet and the staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast was decent. There were a lot of families staying here so it was good for the kids. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts online. We are presently making some additional changes and look forward to your thoughts when you return! We hope that we can welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I had recently stayed at this hotel, and upon my arrival, the front desk woman working their, Ashleigh was absolutely fantastic. She made sure that I had everything that I had needed seeing as I had lost my travel bag somewhere along the way. She also went above and beyond to make me comfortable and found the best choice of room for me due to some certain requests that I had made to her. No other hotels would accommodate me with these requests. I commend her greatly, she was so happy to help us, and later on that evening when I went to dinner she was rocking it by herself, helping guests with their needs and being so polite about it, answering multiple phones. Working in customer service myself, this is something that is commended. A Hard working employee, that goes above and beyond. I will definitely be staying at this hotel from now on!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We loved hearing about your great experience with us. Thank you so much for your recent patronage and for taking the time to share your thoughts online. We hope that we can welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I had to travel to Grand Rapids to a testing facility. I was not familiar with the area, so I called ahead to several hotels to get an idea of proximity to the testing site. I spoke to Ashleigh at the Holiday Inn Express and she took it a step further, she asked for the address and looked up driving directions and informed me I would be 2 miles from the facility. She then asked me about my business affiliations so she could apply additional discounts to my room. She gave me a great price and a booked the room. No one from the other establishments made themselves available to assist me with my inquiries. The day I was to travel to the hotel, a one hour trip ending up taking 2.5 hours due to a typical Michigan winter storm. I got lost and called the front desk. Coincidentally, it was Ashleigh again! Her friendly voice calmed me as she directed me to the hotel. Exhausted from driving white knuckled and famished, Ashleigh offered to have the shuttle take me to get something to eat so I would not have to drive. She remembered I was there to take a test and made sure to give me the WiFi code without me asking. She also told me the the pool was open to 11:00 pm if I needed to step into the hot tube to unwind. I swear she anticipated everything I wanted. This helped me wind down. The shuttle driver also was exceptionally friendly. Being a manager, I am very sensitive to customer service. Ashleigh did not stop at enough, she tried to anticipate my needs and desires by the many services she offered. Yes, these are common amenities, but she made me feel like she was along side with me and my experience. She offered to print out directions to the testing site, to give me a wake up call and wished me good luck on my test. She suggested I take the third floor room so I could have quiet as I prepared for my exam. She made it personal. Again, she offered before I could ask. The room was clean and comfortable with nice perks, safe, microwave,& refrigerator. My check in was on 1/27/14. I arrived at 7:30 pm.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your review of your experience here at Holiday Inn Express. Your review is not just recognition for Ashleigh, but for our staff as a whole. I am very proud of the efforts of the staff to be a part of the Best of the Best for Grand Rapids. Thank you for recognizing Ashleigh and her efforts at welcoming you to your home away from home. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I recently spent a week at this hotel while in the area for business and would recommend it to others.

The room I had was very comfortable, and consisted of a sitting room with sofa and work desk, a washroom, kitchenette area and bedroom. The heat worked well, and the refrigerator and microwave were nice features. The hot water in the shower was abundant.

The breakfast was always good and plentiful, but having stayed for so many days I did get a bit tired of the same two breakfast menus. Because of this, one day I skipped the free breakfast and went out to eat for a bit of variety. Despite the lack of variety from day to day, the food quality and freshness was very good. Although the seating was right in the lobby, making it cold when people were coming and going, there was never a problem finding a seat and the breakfast host was great--keeping everything clean and replenished.

I didn't experience any 'problems' while there, but did have a few hiccups. Due to my specific circumstances, I was unable to book online and had to call the property. The person with whom I booked was not pleasant and seemed unfamiliar with the booking system. No big deal overall, but it didn't really give a good first impression.

One of the days housekeeping didn't come at all. I left the room around 8 for work and returned around 4 to find it exactly how I had left it. To be clear, I did NOT leave my do not disturb sign out. On another day I kept a similar schedule and returned to find that housekeeping had been there, but did not make the bed or replenish the coffee supplies. Again, not a huge problem, but unfortunate nonetheless.

The area is fine for business purposes. Although it's a hike to 'downtown,' the hotel is very near all sorts of restaurants, retail and major roads.The fitness facility was basic but functional, and the pool/hot tub area was great, if underutilized.

I had a difficult time finding the hotel the first time, given it was behind a Meijer's. Although it is right off the expressway, I didn't notice any 'road' noise. Thankfully, though, I always travel with a white noise machine and needed it to muffle the hallway noise at night. The other guests weren't overly noisy, but you could easily hear almost everything between the rooms and from the hallway.

Overall, I'd choose this property again if being right downtown wasn't important to me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Your comments were received and reviewed with our goal of striving to have our team perform at its peak performance. While there is never an excuse for not delivering exceptional service, we take a great deal of pride in our hotel. When we do not meet or exceed your expectations we certainly appreciate our guests letting us know. Thank you for giving us the opportunity for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 58 times over the last few years. I keep coming back. There is a number of reasons.

First. Check in is always fast and easy. The rooms are suites and that makes them larger. I always get a very clean and comfortable room. The room has a safe, small frig and micro wave. Two TV's and a desk that I can work at.

But the most important asset any company can have is the people that work for them. Everyone here is very nice and if I ever need anything or help with something, they are always quick to help.

I have gotten to know a few of the people who work here. Some have moved on but have been replaced by equally nice people. I am going to give a shout out for Kira Edwards. She works at the front desk. She is "The Best". Always nice with a beautiful smile as she greets you when you check in. I really hope the Holiday Inn Express realizes the wonderful asset they have in here. She is a GREAT employee.

I hope to stay here another 58 times. I will continue to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your review JeffreyTravel. We do like hearing how we are doing. Your praise of my staff has been passed on to them. Reviews help shape what guest needs are and where we can improve a well as continue with what works! We look forward to having you come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I booked the big suite at this hotel for my son's 3rd birthday party a full MONTH in advance. He had his 1st birthday at this location and it was so spacious, thats what brought me back. Everything was fine, I recieved a email a few days before the actual check in date "Everything you will need for you stay" so I was certain was sure that everything would be perfect. The day before check in I call to make sure everything is a go and to request a early check-in. The woman I spoke to granted me early check in and told me we were all good. My family arrives on our check in date (3 hours before my son's birthday party!) only to be told that the room I reserved a MONTH before is occupied and has been for almost 2 MONTHS!!!! Needless to say I was not happy. I sent out invites that had this place as the location AND there was family coming in from out of town that now had no where to go for a birthday party. I recieved no apology, no alternative to the problem THEY created...nothing. I emailed to manager several times and called several times and recieved no response. It makes me mad I ever gave them any of my money before. Such a sorry excuse for a businesss. Also they make it impossible to post reviews on their own website. My guess is that they are trying to hide the ugly truth about the unprofessional bs that goes on there. I definitely DO NOT recommend this as a choice to anyone who values customer service because these ppl have NONE!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We are disappointed that your stay was not to your expectations. Please contact me so we can discuss your stay further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Address: 5401 28th Street Southeast, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at the newest Holiday Inn Express in Grand Rapids, MI!The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport Hotel provides quality and comfort with a unique twist...all rooms are suites! The Gerald R. Ford International Airport (GRR) is located only 3 miles from this airport hotel and our complimentary airport shuttle service will have you there in minutes.Amenities abound at the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport. Stay Smart with Express Start breakfast served daily (including those irresistible cinnamon buns) and hot coffee offered round the clock. When you arrive, take a dip in our indoor pool or shoot hoops at the backyard sport court. If there is work to be done, you ll love free wireless Internet throughout the hotel and complimentary business center services.The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport guests often visit nearby local Grand Rapids businesses including Steelcase Headquarters, Amway, Cascade Engineering, and Meijer among others.Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport is family and group friendly too, located next door to the MVP Sports Fieldhouse. We are also situated within walking distance of Cascade Meijer and Macaroni Grill, 2 miles from the Woodland Mall and Centerpointe Mall, 2 miles from Celebration Cinema, and only 5 miles away from the Frederik Meijer Gardens. The sandy beaches of the Lake Michigan shore is only a 35 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.