We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5401 28th Street Southeast, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Joliet, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We got a double Suite which was perfect because we were traveling with a 2 and 4 year old. We were able to put them down for their nap and still watch TV in the front area. The living space was separated by the bathroom and a small kitchenette with mini fridge, microwave, cabinets (which they supplied paper plates, paper towel, and plastic silverware packets. Pool area was perfect for them. Water was a nice temperature in both the pool and hot tub. Pool had towels supplied in the pool area. We stayed on the first floor and have no complaints. Place was very clean. Free breakfast was decent. This hotel was in a great location. Near shopping and a ton of restaurants.

Room Tip: Suite was the same price as a standard double. Would highly recommend a suite over a standard double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    41
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
42
19
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

What a great hotel. It was clean, quiet and the indoor pool and hot tub is nice! Both are the perfect tempature. Complimentary breakfast had many choices as well as coffee and juice. I always found parking close to a door and to be in walking distance to Meijer (you are literally in the Meijer parking lot) is so helpful for anything you need while traveling! Will definitely stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: i believe every room is a suite which is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Caribbeantraveler11,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids hotel! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of some of our amenities such as the indoor pool, hot tub and complimentary breakfast.
We are indeed an all suites hotel in Grand Rapids, MI and hope to see you again on your next travels to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Joe-Benton Harbor, MI
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hidden behind the local Meijer and a Country Inn, and after being sent to the wrong Holliday Inn, we found this little hidden jem. Wife had a conference across the street and a Hotwire hidden deal sent us here, although the GPS had other plans and sent us to a different Holiday Inn. Great staff, really nice breakfast, with good coffee, nice clean room, with two TV's, and they let me keep the room until 2pm while the wife was in her meeting. A+ experience, start to finish.

Room Tip: Lots and lots of restaurants in the area, just head west and take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is tucked in behind the Country Inn and Suites and can easily be missed. We were in Grand Rapids for a soccer tournament and needed a pet friendly hotel for an overnight stay. This property went above our expectations. It was clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast was good and best of all didn't have a "pet friendly smell". The staff was friendly and welcoming. We stayed in a king suite and were very pleased with the layout of the room. Two TVs, a sitting area with lamp and pull out sofa bed, fridge and microwave. We will definitely stay here next year and have recommended it to the other team parents.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are very convenient if you have pets. Just ask the staff when you reserve your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear 44J,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids hotel! We are proud to be a great option for those seeking a pet friendly hotel in Grand Rapids, MI. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the layout of your room, we are fortunate to be an all suites hotel just off from 28th street which provides our guests convenient access to all that Grand Rapids has to offer … including the Gerald R Ford International Airport should your travels take you out of state next time.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Rapids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

After 3 other motels that we checked that were horrible and rated higher then this one we Finally found our night stay here at the Holiday Inn Express! We had 2 adults, 1 senior, our 9 yr old and a little 10 lb dog who always travels with us. As soon as we walked in it smelled better then the others, they let us check our room first and it was very nice! It also smelled clean and looked clean. We were close to the airport but never heard anything. Our room was quiet, beds were very comfortable with firm and soft pillows. Our room also had a frig, microwave, and a little sink and counter area with cabinets. There was also a nice pull out sofa and two t.v.s There is a thermometer on the wall to adjust the temps vs the window units, which is much nicer too. Breakfast was really good. Pancakes, bacon, biscuits and gravy, egg omelets with cheese in them, cereal, hard boiled eggs, muffins, cinnamon rolls, bagels, yogurt too. Coffee, milk, and juices were also available. All in all a great stay! THIS motel should be rated MUCH higher then it is. Thank you for a great night stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, mi
Top Contributor
842 reviews 842 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
374 helpful votes 374 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

You owe it to yourself to enter "Kentwood, Mi" into your Tripadvisor search. An excellant Holiday Inn is on this list, and is zoned outside of the "Grand Rapids" area by two blocks. Very handy to the airport and 28th street restaurants and shopping in the East GR area. If this property were listed in the general GR area, it would be listed with a rank around #6 to #10, out of 50 hotels. In it's Kentwood listing, it ranks #1 of 3 hotels. (as of Sept. 3, 2012)

I don't know if Tripadvisor allows duplicate location listings, but this place should be considered to be put on the "Grand Rapids" list... see the map.

Room Tip: Add "Kentwood, Mi" to your Grand Rapids search for a great Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodrich, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed in many HI over years and this is one of the best. Stayed in King suite, it was spacious, clean, bed was comfortable. I have been staying in Hampton Inn and Suites lately and this place was right in line. Bedding was very nice; entire hotel was clean and modern. Pool was nice also. Staff polite and accomadating. I was a little nervous about it being so close to freeway but it was one of the most quiet hotels I have been in of late. Breakfast was the typical found in most places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Address: 5401 28th Street Southeast, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at the newest Holiday Inn Express in Grand Rapids, MI!The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport Hotel provides quality and comfort with a unique twist...all rooms are suites! The Gerald R. Ford International Airport (GRR) is located only 3 miles from this airport hotel and our complimentary airport shuttle service will have you there in minutes.Amenities abound at the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport. Stay Smart with Express Start breakfast served daily (including those irresistible cinnamon buns) and hot coffee offered round the clock. When you arrive, take a dip in our indoor pool or shoot hoops at the backyard sport court. If there is work to be done, you ll love free wireless Internet throughout the hotel and complimentary business center services.The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport guests often visit nearby local Grand Rapids businesses including Steelcase Headquarters, Amway, Cascade Engineering, and Meijer among others.Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport is family and group friendly too, located next door to the MVP Sports Fieldhouse. We are also situated within walking distance of Cascade Meijer and Macaroni Grill, 2 miles from the Woodland Mall and Centerpointe Mall, 2 miles from Celebration Cinema, and only 5 miles away from the Frederik Meijer Gardens. The sandy beaches of the Lake Michigan shore is only a 35 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.