We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel & you can walk to Meijer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5401 28th Street Southeast, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel & you can walk to Meijer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

What a great hotel. It was clean, quiet and the indoor pool and hot tub is nice! Both are the perfect tempature. Complimentary breakfast had many choices as well as coffee and juice. I always found parking close to a door and to be in walking distance to Meijer (you are literally in the Meijer parking lot) is so helpful for anything you need while traveling! Will definitely stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: i believe every room is a suite which is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Caribbeantraveler11,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids hotel! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of some of our amenities such as the indoor pool, hot tub and complimentary breakfast.
We are indeed an all suites hotel in Grand Rapids, MI and hope to see you again on your next travels to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    38
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
17
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St.Joe-Benton Harbor, MI
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hidden behind the local Meijer and a Country Inn, and after being sent to the wrong Holliday Inn, we found this little hidden jem. Wife had a conference across the street and a Hotwire hidden deal sent us here, although the GPS had other plans and sent us to a different Holiday Inn. Great staff, really nice breakfast, with good coffee, nice clean room, with two TV's, and they let me keep the room until 2pm while the wife was in her meeting. A+ experience, start to finish.

Room Tip: Lots and lots of restaurants in the area, just head west and take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is tucked in behind the Country Inn and Suites and can easily be missed. We were in Grand Rapids for a soccer tournament and needed a pet friendly hotel for an overnight stay. This property went above our expectations. It was clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast was good and best of all didn't have a "pet friendly smell". The staff was friendly and welcoming. We stayed in a king suite and were very pleased with the layout of the room. Two TVs, a sitting area with lamp and pull out sofa bed, fridge and microwave. We will definitely stay here next year and have recommended it to the other team parents.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are very convenient if you have pets. Just ask the staff when you reserve your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear 44J,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids hotel! We are proud to be a great option for those seeking a pet friendly hotel in Grand Rapids, MI. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the layout of your room, we are fortunate to be an all suites hotel just off from 28th street which provides our guests convenient access to all that Grand Rapids has to offer … including the Gerald R Ford International Airport should your travels take you out of state next time.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Rapids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

After 3 other motels that we checked that were horrible and rated higher then this one we Finally found our night stay here at the Holiday Inn Express! We had 2 adults, 1 senior, our 9 yr old and a little 10 lb dog who always travels with us. As soon as we walked in it smelled better then the others, they let us check our room first and it was very nice! It also smelled clean and looked clean. We were close to the airport but never heard anything. Our room was quiet, beds were very comfortable with firm and soft pillows. Our room also had a frig, microwave, and a little sink and counter area with cabinets. There was also a nice pull out sofa and two t.v.s There is a thermometer on the wall to adjust the temps vs the window units, which is much nicer too. Breakfast was really good. Pancakes, bacon, biscuits and gravy, egg omelets with cheese in them, cereal, hard boiled eggs, muffins, cinnamon rolls, bagels, yogurt too. Coffee, milk, and juices were also available. All in all a great stay! THIS motel should be rated MUCH higher then it is. Thank you for a great night stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, mi
Top Contributor
759 reviews 759 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

You owe it to yourself to enter "Kentwood, Mi" into your Tripadvisor search. An excellant Holiday Inn is on this list, and is zoned outside of the "Grand Rapids" area by two blocks. Very handy to the airport and 28th street restaurants and shopping in the East GR area. If this property were listed in the general GR area, it would be listed with a rank around #6 to #10, out of 50 hotels. In it's Kentwood listing, it ranks #1 of 3 hotels. (as of Sept. 3, 2012)

I don't know if Tripadvisor allows duplicate location listings, but this place should be considered to be put on the "Grand Rapids" list... see the map.

Room Tip: Add "Kentwood, Mi" to your Grand Rapids search for a great Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodrich, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed in many HI over years and this is one of the best. Stayed in King suite, it was spacious, clean, bed was comfortable. I have been staying in Hampton Inn and Suites lately and this place was right in line. Bedding was very nice; entire hotel was clean and modern. Pool was nice also. Staff polite and accomadating. I was a little nervous about it being so close to freeway but it was one of the most quiet hotels I have been in of late. Breakfast was the typical found in most places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, MN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

High marks! Has "airport" in its description, but never heard any planes. Good location with plenty of fast food and sit-down chain restaurants. 24/7 Meijers store very near.(large store, the likes of a Super T***** or W******). Clean and lots to choose from. Also plenty of local non-chain restaurants and bar/grills, within a mile or so. Staff at desk were always personable, and happy to answer questions. Computer/printer is at a spot near front desk, and was very nice to have for on-line check-in and printing boarding passes.
We had 14 adults(40+ to 80+) staying here, and no one was disappointed. (except with the pool/hot tub closing at 11 pm, which seems rather early, especially on weekends). Decent breakfast selections. Scrambled eggs did not get the highest marks from our group, but another morn, the omelet offered was good. Pancakes were rated VERY tasty. Ham one morn, sausages the next. Had the other standard stuff: juice, milk, cereal, toast, bagels, muffins, yogurt, bananas, etc. Dining area was of reasonable size, but there could be times when there would not be enough seating. Front desk told us there is a room on 2nd floor, off the balcony that overlooks the lobby/dining area, that they would open if more dining space was needed. Keep that in mind~I've read other reviews that complain about not enough seats at the busiest times~this hotel has a back-up plan. Kudos to them.
Each room has a sink, fridge, microwave, and a small supply of disposable paper goods, plastic silverware.And drawers,cupboards to stash any goods you bring with. All of our rooms had a sofa sleeper with a second flat screen tv. The bathroom was between the bed and sofa areas, so there would be some privacy if you needed to put the sofa to use. Another plus is that there are multi-stall bathrooms on each floor, so a place other than your room to do "business".
Upon check-in, I was disappointed to not have my request for rooms on the top floor honored (I'd only reserved 2 of the rooms we needed, so it's not like our entire group had asked). I was told they were trying to keep our group "together" on the 2nd floor...together in the end rooms of different wings, together, lol. Not.
My reason for the 3rd floor had been as that it was the only floor that's NOT pet-friendly. 1st and 2nd floors ARE pet-friendly. Kind of made me nervous about reserving here. Plus side is, I never saw or heard a pet(I was told there were a few there). Don't get me wrong--we have pets, but don't travel with them.We were traveling with seniors with bad legs/knees, who don't sleep well, let alone with extra noises(i.e.barking/yipping dogs..). On that note, this hotel was reasonably quiet, even with many celebrations in the hotel: a family reunion that had been there all week, and parties up on the 3rd floor associated with a couple of weddings. After hearing that, I was happy I WASN'T on that 3rd floor. Party Central :-)
Pool is on the smaller side, but it was warm enough. Hot tub was pleasingly hot, but not very big, either. Did not use the exercise room except to weigh my suitcase, but it looked decent.
If in the area again, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Address: 5401 28th Street Southeast, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#16 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at the newest Holiday Inn Express in Grand Rapids, MI!The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport Hotel provides quality and comfort with a unique twist...all rooms are suites! The Gerald R. Ford International Airport (GRR) is located only 3 miles from this airport hotel and our complimentary airport shuttle service will have you there in minutes.Amenities abound at the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport. Stay Smart with Express Start breakfast served daily (including those irresistible cinnamon buns) and hot coffee offered round the clock. When you arrive, take a dip in our indoor pool or shoot hoops at the backyard sport court. If there is work to be done, you ll love free wireless Internet throughout the hotel and complimentary business center services.The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport guests often visit nearby local Grand Rapids businesses including Steelcase Headquarters, Amway, Cascade Engineering, and Meijer among others.Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport is family and group friendly too, located next door to the MVP Sports Fieldhouse. We are also situated within walking distance of Cascade Meijer and Macaroni Grill, 2 miles from the Woodland Mall and Centerpointe Mall, 2 miles from Celebration Cinema, and only 5 miles away from the Frederik Meijer Gardens. The sandy beaches of the Lake Michigan shore is only a 35 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.