We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very homey atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4284 29th Street, SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #33 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A very homey atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were attending the Meijer Michigan Games and a block of rooms were reserved for us. The lobby was comfortable, as was the breakfast room. They serve a light dinner some days of the week, and breakfast daily. I would recommend that you concentrate on the fruit, bagels and yogurt or cereal and skip the eggs and sausage...a general consensus! Our room was clean and equipped with enough linens. There was a stand alone shower and the sink was outside of the commode/shower area. The pool area and hot tub looked nice but we didn't use them. There were picnic tables outside of the pool area, which accomodated guests for our nightly wind down. There was even a nice lookng gas grill for those who wished to use it. The staff was friendly and efficient, making us feel right at home. My only complaint was the carpet on the stairs. It is in dire need of cleaning/replacing. I spoke to one of the staff and he assured me that the hotel was upgrading, and the carpet would be replaced shortly. The price was right! Very good value! I would definitely stay again. Oops..forgot to mention..the landscaping and flowers were a pleasant additioin to the overall appearance of the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, which was reached either by an elevator or a large open staircase..whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to present our hotel with a review of your stay! We try to use all feedback given to us to make changes that will improve the quality of stay for each and every guest. Thank you again for contributing to helping our hotel improve everyday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
19
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews here, we booked. The staff at the desk was listening to headphones and not really dialed in. There was evidence of disrepair around the elevators and in the bathroom. The third floor was over 80 degrees and the air conditioner was off. I went to turn it on and found broken controls and a burned and broken 110v plug. The room was clean and spacious. I contacted the desk on two separate occasions for lengthy/continuing disturbances outside of our room in the hallway. I don't feel our experience matched the overall review score. We will not return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I understand the frustration you may have had during your stay and sincerely apologize. It is never acceptable for our front desk staff to be wearing headphones while on duty and trust me when I say that will never happen again. We have also fixed the issue with the air on the 3rd floor. Unfortunately during your stay we had a couple of guests who decided not to respect others around them. I feel your frustration in having to call twice. We are continually updating our procedures and training to prevent such issues going forward. I do hope that you will give us a second chance to make that first impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH DAKOTA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel was excellent- rooms were very clean, pool & hot tub were nice. Close to restaurants. They have an awesome breakfast- They even served hamburgers and salad one night..Staff is very nice to deal with...would DEFINATELY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL! 5 STARS!! *****

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary dinner. We look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington. MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is a nice clean hotel. Check in was quick and friendly. The hotel was exactly what I expected from the description on the hotel website. The hotel is located close to many restaurants on 28th street and many stores also on 28th street. It is about 10-15 minutes to downtown Grand Rapids. The hotel was in a safe nice area. Breakfast was ok we ate early and everything was clean and stocked and the lady working was pleasant. The hotel is a great affordable option to consider staying in while visiting Grand Rapids. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed here several times and always enjoy the hotel. Excellent service, comfy beds, CLEAN room and smells. The breakfast area is good. However, the eggs this time were pretty gross. Not sure it they are powdered but definitely not delicious. On the other hand, the waffle machines were great! The older lady working the breakfast area, I believe her name began with a "C" was superb! Very welcoming, smiling, efficient and seemed to enjoy her job. Rate was $84 for the night and we will definitely stay there again. Just not gonna chance the eggs again. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Repeat guests such as yourself are the bread and butter of our business. We are honored that you choose to stay at our hotel when you are visiting Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McBain, Michigan, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Newly remodeled rooms, nice lobby area. Served a free dinner of sloppy joe's and salad and free continental breakfast. The pool was warm but needs some improvements. Broken tiles, missing filter covers, dirty.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your kind words and also appreciate your concerns about our pool area. The good news is we have been able to fix and repair the issues you had. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel was quite nice, the front desk staff was polite and housekeeping was a pleasure. It was obvious the hotel was being renovated. There was a patched hole in the wall of our bedroom. It wasn't a problem for us however, everything was clean and otherwise well kept. The only complaint I had was that the shower knob was on backwards, making for a very shocking and chilling first shower experience. It was a minor thing and something to laugh about. I did not make it down to breakfast, but it certainly smelled lovely :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We would like to thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. As you mentioned, we have recently renovated our hotel and still are working on the finishing touches. As for the shower knobs being backwards, we sincerely apologize that you awoke to such a chilling experience. If you did not let the desk know upon checkout, I would love to hear from you so that another guest doesn't encounter the same surprise. Again, thank you for your feedback. It is because of guests such as yourself that we are able to continue to improve our property and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 4284 29th Street, SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Expedia, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.