We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sleep Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4284 29th Street, SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty Good :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel was quite nice, the front desk staff was polite and housekeeping was a pleasure. It was obvious the hotel was being renovated. There was a patched hole in the wall of our bedroom. It wasn't a problem for us however, everything was clean and otherwise well kept. The only complaint I had was that the shower knob was on backwards, making for a very shocking and chilling first shower experience. It was a minor thing and something to laugh about. I did not make it down to breakfast, but it certainly smelled lovely :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We would like to thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. As you mentioned, we have recently renovated our hotel and still are working on the finishing touches. As for the shower knobs being backwards, we sincerely apologize that you awoke to such a chilling experience. If you did not let the desk know upon checkout, I would love to hear from you so that another guest doesn't encounter the same surprise. Again, thank you for your feedback. It is because of guests such as yourself that we are able to continue to improve our property and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
19
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jaws2002gr
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is very nice. Small cozy but nice and staff is friendly. They have a wonderful heated swimming pool and hot tub and free breakfast (make your own waffles, they have eggs sausages, Danishes, oatmeal cereal, coffee, juice, milk, yogurt, bagels, cream cheese,toast, fruit. They also have a shuttle that will take you to the airport or nearby mall. Make sure you request early. Also it is customary to give the driver a few dollars for a tip. The two main issues with this hotel is one the pillows are now eco pillow because of choice and are firm very very firm so bring your own or go to Meijer (down the road) or Sams club or big lots across the street and buy soft ones. Second issue is the dryer does not work correctly and has not for 3 years, it will not work on high setting but will work on medium setting but will take 2 times to dry your clothes. If you can deal with these issues than this is a very nice hotel. It is kid friendly however the pool and hot tub do have an adult only time from midnight to 1 a.m. This is the only hotel in gr area that is less than 80 that has an indoor heated pool hottub and free breakfast that is not a drug hotel. Additionally there are some rooms here king suites that have hottubs in the room as well. If you are a senior, or an aarp member and order online through choice you can get a small discount. Others also get discount buy ordering online through choice. Also they have a free dinner Monday through Thursday that used to be called managers special. As well as popcorn and cookies. Unfortunately lately the menu has been bbq pork because it is the easiest. As for cookies some of the best but good luck unless you one of the first because kids as well as adults can be pigs at times. Overall the hotel gets a 7. If the dryer would work would be an 8 or 8.5 now if choice wouldn't have messed with the pillows they they could earn a 10. On a good note all rooms have microwave and mini fridge and they don't charge you $10 or $20 extra per night for each like some of the other hotels. the lobby has coffee 24 hrs . Advantages: shuttle, on city bus line that goes to mall bus is 1.50 each way senoris or medicare holders .75, heated swimming pool, hot tub, free breakfast, burger king close by, mall close by, papa johns delivers, chicness food place delivers, free wi- fi, also have computer and printer in lobby, friendly staff. Another advantage is that all the rooms or all that we have been in so far have a large flat screen tv and you are able to connect Wiis and play stations to them if you like bringing a game system with you. Disadvantages: pillows are firm now thanks to choice hotels and stupid eco pillows, and only one washer and dryer (so use early and dryer does not work) but one per se could use a wall heater to dry your swimsuits and lighter clothes if they were careful, not that I'm recommending this though. I'd prefer they just buy a new dryer. This is a good safe choice but especially for heated swimming pool, hot tub, and free breakfast, and close to mall and the $4 movies. However if you like soft pillows bring your own or expect to buy some for $6 at Meijer. As for dryer maybe one day it will be replaced with a new one. One can only hope.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the first floor unless you want to be next to the pool, also sometime if ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was on a bus trip with 27 hockey fans. Rooms were clean, flat screen tv, fridge, microwave & coffeemaker. bathroom had a shower stall with glass doors. No tub for those that like tubs. I don't know if that's all the rooms. Nothing within walking distance to eat. Restaurants about 3/4 mile away. There is a Sams Club across the street. Breakfast was good, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, hot eggs, waffles, sausage, muffins etc were all available.

Hot tub & pool area was open at 6am. I hit the hot tub before the trip home. NICE!

Room Tip: My room was on the backside and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The breakfast was amazing, the rooms were clean & comfortable. I didn't expect this for the low price that we paid. The only negatives were the pool area which was being renovated and the workout room could use a fan for some circulation (but it was air-conditioned). The staff was friendly and helpful in recommending dining in the area. We were impressed and will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Traveled to Grand Rapids for my husband to take a test. Our room was very clean, however it smelled as if someone had dropped cologne all over the floor. Very strong. Our room was near the elevator so we did hear people coming and going. I did enjoy the breakfast in the morning. The front desk was very helpful on finding our testing site.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We thank you for your feedback. Our hotel is always striving to improve and we can only do that with feedback from our guests. Feel free to contact me if you have any other comments or concerns. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

So my team and I stayed here twice this past season for dive meets and here is what I have to say about this hotel. The first time we visited in December the staff was nothing but nice and incredibly helpful. However this time the staff seemed a little stand-offish and not very personable.

The best thing about this hotel is definitely the beds. I've never been so comfortable in a hotel bed in my life. The ultimate down side to this place though is the less the average breakfast they serve in the morning.

So if you're looking for a good sleep go here, but if you want a 4-5 star experience look else where

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We would like to thank you for your review. We are disappointed that the breakfast was less than average. We work hard on trying to bring an exceptional product each and everyday. We are always striving to improve on our breakfast and would love to hear any suggestions on how we may improve. Please feel free to contact me with any suggestions or other concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheboygan, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was very please with my stay. We have been visiting a friend in the hospital and needed something cheap. I needed an upgrade from the other hotel that we had been booking. I decided to take a chance and book here. Boy was I suprised and pleased!! For $20 more than the other hotel we recieved a great breakfast, a clean and modern room with fridge and microwave, a pool, and wonderful beds. I will not stay anywhere else while in Grand Rapids! The late check out time is great!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the chance to stay with us! I am ecstatic that our hotel and staff made your stay a wonderful one. We hope to see you soon. If there is ever anything that we can do better, please don't hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel
Sleep Hotel Grand Rapids
Sleep Inn And Suites
Grand Rapids Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Grand Rapids
Address: 4284 29th Street, SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hospitality Suites, Grand Rapids Airport is a quiet hotel just off the 28th St. exit from I-96. We have an indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna. We offer a complimentary breakfast daily and a complimentary manager's reception Monday-Thursday. The Best Western offers rooms with 1 king bed or 2 queens. We also have suites with in room jacuzzis or pull out sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.