We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Surprise Value"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4284 29th Street, SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“"Surprise Value"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This property turned out to be a hidden gem. We only stayed one night, catching an early flight the following am. We arrived too late, but they do have an evening managers reception. It looked like it was very good. Some other guests said it was very good. The room was very nice surprise. We ended up with a Suite. Complete with a jacuzzi tub. Very spacious well decorated. Staff was very friendly and accomadating. I arrange for a wake up call, and the airport shuttle. Both very prompt. Didn't get a chance to try the breakfast, left too early. Plenty of Resturants and shopping are nearby.The property Is in need of a few nip and tucks. With a few miner touches it would be even better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
25
20
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband stayed here a month during the time he was finishing up his contract at work. His room was on the small side, but he didn't spend much time there. He had a nice flat panel TV, microwave, small fridge, and a comfortable bed. He used the free wi-fi to get on the internet from his laptop. He was able to use Netflix and Skype from it, so the badwidth was obviously very good.

My husband was not too impressed with the breakfast. It was the exact same every single day, and it got to be very heavy, so he bought some of his own food for breakfast. The small meal in the evenings he was appreciate of. They were not large enough to be a dinner, but it was nice.

My husband also said he was not impressed with the cleaning staff. There was an incident where his room was cleaned after a week staying and he came back and a toilet brush was left on his desk chair. He called the front desk and they came and removed it. Gross. Besides that the staff were great.

We had a death in the family toward the end of the stay, and also I had emergency surgery where he had to extend his stay much longer. He left many valuable things in the room hoping that they would still be there when he got back - they were! They were very flexible and helpful in making the dates work for us. I was impressed that he was not in his room for over a week and nothing went missing (his x-box, laptop, x-box games).

So if we needed to do an extended stay again we for sure would use this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel was better than I expected, obviously recently renovated. The whole hotel was really clean. The beds were comfortable, I could have slept all day! Hot breakfast was average, your best bet is to just use the waffle maker!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walhalla
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for two nights 8/31/12 - 9/02-12 During our weekend shopping getaway and we really enjoyed our stay.

Clean comfortable rooms, the hotel staff was superb, The pool and hotub were very nice after walking around all day. Nice breakfast in the mornings. We will definately stay here again on our shopping trips!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Great price, free airport shuttle. Room was very very clean, haven't stayed at such a great hotel in a while ((; Will stay here again....Nice staff as well! Great value on priceline 63 bucks well spent for this awesome hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We needed economy accommodation in Grand Rapids and were very pleasantly surprised for the value we received for the price. Our rooms were big and clean, the pool area was well-kept, the breakfast was basic but nicely done. The inn is easy to find and there's lots of parking. For our internet rate of just over $60 US per night, it was very good alue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed the weekend for a Lake Michigan visit. Location is really good with a lot of shopping and restaurants nearby. Receptionist was friendly and check in was quick. The room was SMALL-had a king bed and it was only me so it was okay but even one other person would have been too many. The decor is really cute except why are the walls damaged? The air was not on so it was stifling in there which is inexcusable. Bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is so tiny that if I would have had to close the door I would have felt very claustrophic. Shower only and the stall is good sized but they really need to repaint/clean better. The pool area was too hot for me to go in and the exercise room is tiny. Three cardio machines right next to each other.
Breakfast was ridiculous. The room was way too small and there was a boys sports team down there apparently with no adults because they did not know how to not crowd everyone. I didn't bother going on the second day. Not the worst hotel but there are other choices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 4284 29th Street, SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;