We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay before a flight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn & Suites Airport to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4981 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Spring Lake, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice place to stay before a flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here before our flight out of grand Rapids. Overall nice place. It is convenient with the park and fly and saves you money depending on how long you will be gone. Shuttle service is a breeze and available with just a quick phone call. Breakfast in the morning was nice as well and has fresh fruit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    39
    19
    15
    17
See reviews for
26
31
16
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwood, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and two sons were driving home from Michigan and had vehicle brake issues near Grand Rapids. They needed a hotel so I found one for them. The hotel sent a shuttle to pick them up from the the dealership repair shop which was a real blessing. They enjoyed the shuttle driver. Their rooms were spotless and excellent.

This hotel also has a dinner meal Mon-Thurs which they said was excellent. They felt it was homemade and fantastic (jambalaya type meal). My husband had to work most of the night so spent much of his time in the lobby working. He said the front desk lady was very helpful and even had coffee made for him while he was working. Breakfast was just as good as dinner with freshly made omelets and a myriad of just about anything you could want. My husband spends quite a bit of time in hotels as do I and he said this was a super hotel!

Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great location near the airport and shopping. They offered free transportation to the airport and the local malls. Clean hotel with a great free breakfast. Friendly staff would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I typically drive down the night before my flight from GRR and stay a night in a hotel and this time I stayed at Clarion. I was surprised of the value for what I paid compared to the other rates of hotels in the area. Minutes away from the airport and very close to a number of shopping and restaurants in the area. The hotel in my view was updated and the fact that continental breakfast was included in the rate was a plus since now days a number of hotels charge extra for breakfast. I will return again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hotel has the feel of an older hotel that needs or will be needing renovations soon. My room was clearly set up for 2 beds, though there was only one bed in the room. This left a large open space in the room that was not filled with anything, though it did not bother me. The sink also was not installed correctly: the faucet was too close to the edge of the sink, making it somewhat difficult to wash my hands. The room itself was clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. A complementary breakfast and dinner were included with the stay. I already had dinner plans. Breakfast was ok; it was a typical hotel breakfast. I would stay here again if I were to visit the area, but it is definitely not a more luxury stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I had a nice night stay. The bed was fine, room was clean and ample space. Hotel is VERY loud. You can hear every single door close plus hear people in the hall very clearly. Front office staff was very nice and very accomodating. They were able to adjust my rate to match what I could book at a hotel down the street. We did not use the shower and woke up too late to enjoy breakfast. Overall an OK hotel, nothing spectacular but no complaints besides the noise either. It would be fine for an overnight stay. I have stayed at the Comfort Inn down the street and would stay there again for my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a good place to stay if you have an early flight out in the morning because they have a shuttle. Although the breakfast buffet is not available real early, they do have a continental breakfast that is more than sufficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites Airport

Address: 4981 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn & Suites Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2009, this Choice hotel is big on value. You’ll love new flat panel 32” TVs in every guestroom along with microwaves and refrigerators. Guestrooms also boast all new furniture, carpeting, bedding, wallpaper, sheets, towels, mattresses, and more. A daily breakfast buffet is complimentary as is an evening reception served Monday - Thursday. Complimentary area shuttle service will take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius. Free wireless Internet and outdoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites Airport
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.